We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first rate stay, well worth the journey”
Review of Spice Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spice Village
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A first rate stay, well worth the journey”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

After a four hour undulating journey we were pleased to arrive at Spice Village in Thekkady, up in the Western Ghats against the border with the neighbouring state of Tamil Nadu.

The thatched roofed cottages were an absolute delight, although we never really got to grips with the lighting system in our room! The spread out site was well signed and WiFi was available in reception.

The food at Spice Village’s Tamarind restaurant was served buffet style and there were a wide variety of dishes available, including some non spicy options eg beef cooked to order with vegetables.

The tea shop serves light lunch and snack options during the day. Sandwiches are large - one order between two is probably enough for most people.

There is a nice looking pool with a limited number of sunbeds surrounding but we didn’t use it as we were busy doing other things.

Entertainment was a dancing display before dinner each evening also a cooking demonstration which was very interesting. We look forward to trying out the recipes, which have been emailed to us, at home.

The onsite naturalists are also available to give information about local flora & fauna.

Staff are without exception friendly and helpful. We particularly like the commitment to ecotourism. We would happily have spent longer here.

We had an interesting time in the Periyar Wildlife reserve and even saw a tiger. Sadly it was only a stuffed toy at a roadside tea stall !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEETfinderGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    240
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
203
396
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Upon arrival we were given a fresh herbal tea of our choosing along with a necklace made of elephant grass and a medallion made of recycled paper. The hotel manager then gave us an introduction to the hotel and surrounding areas and explained everything very clearly and most importantly addressing each one in the group - not just focussing on one person! The hotel was just breathtaking and with the cool climate made our experience unforgettable - even though it rained, it made the atmosphere even more wonderful! The food and service in the restaurant was superb!
The rooms were fantastic - warm, cosy thatched roof cottages - was not expecting to see that here! And the toilets had soft close lids!!
The wood bar also had a very cosy atmosphere AND a 200 year old billiards table!

I highly recommend staying at the Spice Village - definitely worth the price - I for one will definitely be coming here over and over again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

It is a great hotel with a very special atmosphere. It is not a cheap one and therefore our suggestion is to stay there if you plan to spend much time in the hotel room or the hotel area. However if you plan to spend most of your time outside and just to come to sleep it is kind of a waste of money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was at SV with my family and friends. The place is on the main road and I did not expect too much from it since with thekkady i assumed it will be in the forest. However, once inside it was a completely different experience. It's a fantastic place that isolates you from the world, completely. Their attention to detail was inspiring and perfect. Their kitchen staff, culinary expertise and food was again a delight to the palate.

The place is highly recommended and for a long stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msmishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very friendly place and near to national park.
We actually were booked for only one night but extended our stay after coming here.
We came as family of 5 and had booked two cottages. My 9 year daughter loved the trees and plantations within the property. We liked cultural program, paper making, oragnic garden and so many activities within the property.
In the morning, I just walked to the national park entrance, while others were standing in queue with their vehicle.
It was an awsome experience to be in eco friendly hotel, get jain food, meeting environment expert and knowing various aspects of oranic farming.

Room Tip: Child friendly, close to national park entrance, good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SevenYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very comfortable and eco-friendly hotel. Clean and comfortable rooms with a calm peaceful atmosphere. We only stayed one night and it was difficult to get booked into the spa for a massage as it was fully booked. The food was average but adequate. Missed having a hairdryer in the room and would expect one at this price. Having said that the room was very comfortable, the bathroom very up to date. I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the edge of the village as slightly more privacy and preferably a detached one rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Another CGH hotel on our tour, this time the Superb Spice Village. Renju front of house manager along side Head chef Jerry and not forgetting GM Jonny who greeted our party with a warm smile and a selection of beautiful tea. We then sprawled across the immaculate lawns to be presented with a welcome back delicious cake. We ate at the 50mile radius restaurant and chef Jerry presented is his specially selected and prepared personal favourite dishes. Five course of mouth watering , delicately spiced dishes, were served to our party whilst enjoying a warm bonfire and when it did get a little chilly we were given some shawls to keep warm.
Our hands on cookery classes commenced the following day with Head Chef Jerry and his assistant Anoop. This was a professionally conducted cookery class like no other. Our party made pepper chicken roast, Cardamon veg curry and Keralan parathas. This was requested by a member of our party and Chef Jerry showed his true passion for Keralan Cuisine and loved every moment as did we. After our class we ate our dishes and were served by the excellent waiters from CGH Spice Village. This is truly the Garden of Eden, set amongst exotic spices and trees and visited by monkeys and Fowl. Johnny the GM runs a tight ship and knows just how to treat his guests. This is a definite must when visiting Thekkady, don't miss this jewel in the crown !

Room Tip: Enjoy every moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.4 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
596 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
804 reviews
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
1.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Village

Property: Spice Village
Address: Kumily Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spice Village 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spice Village is an eco resort in the hills(thekkady) near the Periyar wildlife sanctuary. A cluster of tribal style huts set in a beautiful spice garden is a great escape for most tourists from the heat of the plains, and also a great place for some adventure activities. We have a comfortable pool, an ayurvedic spa, we organise treks into the forest, bamboo rafting and many more. A walk through the property itself is a great way to explore many aspects of nature and the green initiatives undertaken at this eco resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Spice Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Village Hotel Thekkady
Spice Village Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing