We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spice Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spice Village
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very comfortable and eco-friendly hotel. Clean and comfortable rooms with a calm peaceful atmosphere. We only stayed one night and it was difficult to get booked into the spa for a massage as it was fully booked. The food was average but adequate. Missed having a hairdryer in the room and would expect one at this price. Having said that the room was very comfortable, the bathroom very up to date. I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the edge of the village as slightly more privacy and preferably a detached one rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    235
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
196
388
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Another CGH hotel on our tour, this time the Superb Spice Village. Renju front of house manager along side Head chef Jerry and not forgetting GM Jonny who greeted our party with a warm smile and a selection of beautiful tea. We then sprawled across the immaculate lawns to be presented with a welcome back delicious cake. We ate at the 50mile radius restaurant and chef Jerry presented is his specially selected and prepared personal favourite dishes. Five course of mouth watering , delicately spiced dishes, were served to our party whilst enjoying a warm bonfire and when it did get a little chilly we were given some shawls to keep warm.
Our hands on cookery classes commenced the following day with Head Chef Jerry and his assistant Anoop. This was a professionally conducted cookery class like no other. Our party made pepper chicken roast, Cardamon veg curry and Keralan parathas. This was requested by a member of our party and Chef Jerry showed his true passion for Keralan Cuisine and loved every moment as did we. After our class we ate our dishes and were served by the excellent waiters from CGH Spice Village. This is truly the Garden of Eden, set amongst exotic spices and trees and visited by monkeys and Fowl. Johnny the GM runs a tight ship and knows just how to treat his guests. This is a definite must when visiting Thekkady, don't miss this jewel in the crown !

Room Tip: Enjoy every moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

it is hard to be anything but enthusiastic about
Spice Village’s effort to have a green resort and when
you stay here you feel like a participant in a valiant effort
to have a sustainable hotel. That said understand that
you will have basic chic rooms with tasteful wooden
beds and chairs and bathrooms/showers which function
well but lack the amenities for comfort. The grounds are
delightful with trees all marked for identification. A tiny
swimming pool with loungers which need refinishing.
Each room is a straw roofed hut, a nice touch lending to
the total experience of staying in place where everything
is used and re-used many times. (bathroom glasses rest
on old newspaper folded into a place mat.)
As for the food. The breakfast buffet is what one might
expect in a railroad terminal, the dinner in their premier
restaurant served in a peripatetic manner with waiters
running about frantically but doing nothing, and the food
eatable but barely. Avoid the 50 mile restaurant and look
for someplace outside the hotel to eat. All in all if you
want to participate in a noble experiment then certainly
stay here and feel virtuous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rweissmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This place ain't cheap by Indian standards, but I can't help really liking this company. They do a lot to be as eco-friendly and carbon-neutral as possible and they have a knack for making you feel special and at home.
The wee chalets in this resort are charming and extremely comfortable, well equipped and with several nice touches such as luxurious toiletries etc.
The restaurant is excellent if, again, expensive.
Another lovely touch is the free morning yoga class. There is a dedicated space for it and it doesn't feel at all like a token gesture.
Only reason I give it 4 rather than 5 is the price, again, I feel that even if it's great it is a bit exorbitant, but maybe i'm a stingy B&^%tard... :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

this village is just a paradise! the hotel is located near the periyar national park in thekkady. it has several bungalows which are build the traditional style. The spice village is a huge property and totally organic. its plants or spices are very various. the ground is covered by elephant gras and gives you the feeling of beeing directly in the jungle.

aryuveda massages are available and they are excellent!

the restaurant serves you with indian food and high quality!

the staff is polite and take care of every desire.

it has a basketball and a badmington court, a billiard table, a very nice bar with great whisky, and last but not least you can see monkeys, birds, squirrel, butterflies and many other wild animals directly in front of your bungalow! what an amazing hotel!

the rooms are quite luxurious (no tv inside). clean, comfortable and quite!

several different activities are for free (such as cooking lesson, introduction to the spices, dancing) - others are chargeable (such as jeep safari, boat ride, day and night trekking, camping).

i highly recommend that place to all kind of travelers!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Spice Village has found a recipe that works within the group of hotel that operates it and it is very pleasant. The rooms, decor, facilities and scheduled activities run like clockwork and are lovely but the real charm of this place is the staff members. We had only come to this area to hike and see animals (luck permitting) in their natural habitat. On arrival we were distracted by Spice Village and did not go to book a hike from the ecotourism centre next door until later in the afternoon. By this time it was too late and there was no availability, as there are only 6 places on the boarder hike (information we had not been told before) So word of advice book as soon as you arrive if not before (in high season) we had to extend our stay a day to be able to do the hike and were lucky to have that flexibility, but there were other guests there not so lucky and left a little miffed by the lack of information on hikes (the hike however was amazing and well worth the 8 hours walking) many animals were seen and we had to run from an elephant! - although he was more interested in eating than trampling us). But, if it had not been for Girish the resident naturist we would not have been provided with as much information about what walks to do so do go speak with this knowledgable and helpful man and go see his slide show. Francis is also a mean chess and pool player, so dont be fooled by his age or smiley demeanour. He can be found in the bar and will always win : )

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nattydredd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Here is a garden resort hotel with individual bungalows set in a vast shaded garden up in the hills on the border between Tamil Nadu and Kerala. Blissfully calm and cool. Lovely simple rooms with all the basic necessities, a pleasant terrace. In the evening after sundown the night insects start singing and accompany you to sleep. Pleasant restaurant with good simple food where you can, if you wish, eat dishes which use the local spices and herbs. Western dishes are also available for those showing withdrawal symptoms from lack of pasta. Very nice staff. Altogether an excellent stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.4 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.7 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Village

Property: Spice Village
Address: Kumily Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Family Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spice Village 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spice Village is an eco resort in the hills(thekkady) near the Periyar wildlife sanctuary. A cluster of tribal style huts set in a beautiful spice garden is a great escape for most tourists from the heat of the plains, and also a great place for some adventure activities. We have a comfortable pool, an ayurvedic spa, we organise treks into the forest, bamboo rafting and many more. A walk through the property itself is a great way to explore many aspects of nature and the green initiatives undertaken at this eco resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spice Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Village Hotel Thekkady
Spice Village Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing