We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are the restaurant staff dishonest or incompetent?”
Review of Spice Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spice Village
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed next door to the Spice Village and went to the restaurant on the recommendation of guests staying there. Buffet was pretty standard mix of local and international food, served in a lovely setting. Imagine our horror when we left the waiter returned and said we had only left 2,000 rupees. We're not sure where the other 1,500 rupees went and it leaves a bitter taste. Strongly suggest non-residents avoid Spice Village, you're not welcome.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

First time in the history of Spice Village something happening like this. We try to provide our very best of quality service to our clients. This particular incident is really disappointing and the staff who had attended you was one of our best member in the team. From my side let me explain very clearly to you that it is not possible for a staff to take money during the dinner time which you have mention as all the senior members were there on the spot and the restaurant was running full. And few of our guest who were sitting near to you was supporting the boy who served you. One couple even offered Rs.1500 to this boy as they said, it was not his fault.Since 1991, for the past 22 years this resort is running with excellent guest feedbacks and reputation. Also we have many walk-in guest comes regularly in our restaurant and getting very good appreciation. I apologize to you for any kind of incidents that have happened in Spice Village. I sincerely hope and expect that the fact will remain.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village
a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 916 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was travelling throughout Tamil Nadu and Kerala in August 2013. I was lucky to have two nights at this beautiful property. After a long, but beautiful drive from Madurai my group arrived in the late afternoon. We were greeted with a lovely welcome drink (a make your own tea blend) and shown to our rooms. The property is large and spreadout and the rooms are individual cottages. As I am sure others have noted, there is no Air Conditioning, but even in August, it honestly was not needed. The breezes go through your room (which feel very private) and you can sleep very comfortably. The rooms are large, with a sitting area and large bathroom. I loved the outside sitting area as well. Having a porch was very appreciated after a fantastic, but muddy, hike through the Periyar forest (FYI - I felt the bamboo raft experience was not at all worth it, but the hiking was amazing).

Food was very good and the service fantastic. There are lots of activites on the grounds such as sari tying, cultural demonstrations, evening traditional dance performances, paper making and more. There is also an Ayurvedic spa, but it is nothing like a western spa experience - I would only recommend for those used to Ayurveda! I was not, so it was quite the cultural learning experience!

My favorite activity at this property by far was the bar. Honestly, one of the most beautiful bars in the world, with fantastic staff. A shout out to Francis - he is the guru of all things snooker and he taught me how to play (even thought I was terrible - I am not bad at pool, but could not master snooker) for hours on end. Going on a long hike and then spending the evenings in this bar playing snooker and drinking Kingfisher with good friends is a memory I will always treasure.

I hope I can return someday!

Room Tip: If you have any mobile issues, request a room closer to the main area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shera34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

After a long drive from kumarakom we reached thekkady in the afternoon and were welcomed with a heavenly welcome drink ( the best welcome drink I had ever tasted) and then were shown to our rooms. The entire resort gives you the feeling of staying within a forest reserve including the cottages and gives you a feeling of oneness with nature. There are a lots of birds that keep chirping , swooping , running around which makes it even more beautiful. We were given a few sessions on the spices that are homegrown and a few cookery lessons using those spices. They had organized cultural events for entertaining the guests. They also had a room dedicated for all the flora and fauna resident in the thekkady forest reserve. The food was great and we had a surprise cake sent to our table on the first day as it was our honeymoon trip. The people there were really courteous and made us feel at home throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent two nights (13th & 14th Oct, 2013) here during our recent trip to Kerala. The ambiance of Spice Village makes it different from most others. The entire resort is build like a tribal village with plenty of birds and trees. We spotted squirrels, horn bills, and many other birds right in front of our hut. The service quality is excellent and so is the food. The only negative thing that I can talk about is that there were many small worms on the floor at night. This, however, not really a concern for us.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IBhattacharjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was the second venue of our tour of Kerala and it had something to live up to after the first but it did not disappoint. We had upgraded to a garden villa and it was fantastic. It was secluded and so peaceful and relaxing. The rooms in the villa were large and colonial style and the garden area was lush and well looked after. The food in the hotel was delicious and reasonably priced and there was entertainment in the evening. The colonial bar was a real blast from the past decorated with lots of old photos from the time of the Raj. The grounds of the hotel are awash with all the plants and trees which gave the area its economy in times past and the tour is very interesting and explained all the way by your guide. There is also a great cookery demonstration done by one of the chefs making a traditional curry. Would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve-Mackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay ! Wonderful accommodation set in very tranquil wooded grounds that make you feel like you are living in the local game reserve.

The staff are excellent and really made our stay perfect - the food is wonderful with a very good mix of food on the buffet.

Rooms are set in the grounds amongst spice (and other trees) and as many others have said is run on an eco friendly basis. The quality of the rooms is excellent and the large walk in showers and bathrooms are comparable to many 5 star western hotels.

If you want to visit the nearby Periyar Game reserve, then this is an excellent place to stay and the Hotel will help organise your trip into the reserve if you wish.

Room Tip: All rooms are set in huts in the grounds, some are a little further away from the restaurant than o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin and Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The entire concept of this hotel is to be in sync with the nature. Such as the accommodation itself is in simple yet elegant huts, thatched with elephant grass! The hotel offers you the experiencing the wilderness in all aspects. One can avail boat safaris to spot wildlife near the lake and can visit tribal hamlets at this resort in the Cardamom Hills. The staff is helpful and friendly and you will love the peace in the night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emanurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
427 reviews
1.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
0.4 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 45 in Thekkady
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
925 reviews
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 45 in Thekkady
525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 45 in Thekkady
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Village

Address: Kumily Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Family Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $136 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spice Village 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spice Village is an eco resort in the hills(thekkady) near the Periyar wildlife sanctuary. A cluster of tribal style huts set in a beautiful spice garden is a great escape for most tourists from the heat of the plains, and also a great place for some adventure activities. We have a comfortable pool, an ayurvedic spa, we organise treks into the forest, bamboo rafting and many more. A walk through the property itself is a great way to explore many aspects of nature and the green initiatives undertaken at this eco resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spice Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Village Hotel Thekkady
Spice Village Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing