We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spice Village
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
White House(Thekkady)
View Hotel
Hotel Ambadi(Thekkady)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Michael's Inn(Thekkady)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (973)
Filter reviews
973 results
Traveler rating
647
266
42
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
266
42
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaper makingcgh earthelephant grassmile restaurantcoconut lagoonthatched bungalowscgh groupguinea fowlsnooker tabletiger clubcgh propertymile radiusbrunton boatyardslide showhand madeeco hotelmain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 973 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a huge resort. The cottages are spacious and comfortable.

We had a great stay here. The staff is friendly and courteous. The food at the restaurant is very good. They are located very close to an elephant park, the martial arts centre and periyar tiger reserve. The resort has an interactive kitchen for guests every evening and a lovely dance recital, where they showcase traditional Indian dances like kathak, mohiniattam, bharatnatyam etc. Lovely.

The bar deserves a special mention. It's a photo museum with a great feel, a 150 year old billiards table, brainvita, books to read. Very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASaraf81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and feedbacks. Hope you will be back to cgh earth for a longer holiday.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village
a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel has an enchanting rustic touch that makes the time stand still. For some location can be a disadvantage as this is a little far off, however, if you are looking to “get away”, this is the best place.

I was happy that they maintained a high level of cleanliness all around
The rooms were good, although they don’t have a TV in the room which was bit of a letdown for me personally.

The food is nice and fresh and you can definitely enjoy a great breakfast here, although the place does not have variety and wont recommend having lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Great to hear from you. Thank you very much for your feedback and suggestions. Regarding the menu we will try our best to improve to its best. As we have a policy of serving the fresh food, we have a limitation in keeping many choices. Regarding the television, I am sure that you will feel a discomfort initially if you are used to it. But we are receiving a large number of feedbacks from different Indian families appreciating it and they all felt the same feeling in the initial time of stay as you had. There is a common statement in most of the feedback s we receive, " when we are in a holiday, without television there is more bonding and interaction with the Nature and People". Next time I would request you to try all our cgh properties and feel the difference. Thanking you once again for sharing your time with us.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village
a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is a treat for all who love village atmosphere. It is a property which uses nature, like the electricity is generated by solar energy & the water is treated in house and reused. its an eco friendly place and ensure total compliance.

Even the food is organic & grown in house. The place is V good worth a visit for foreign visitors. If you are looking for TV in the room, you will be disappointed, but still the stay was good & comfortable.

Room Tip: If you love nature & want to stay in a peaceful atmosphere this is the place.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MUKESHKHETWANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your wonderful feedback. We try to recreate a Tribal Village atmosphere here and that's what you have experienced here. The reason why we don't have television and room service is mainly because, we would need to come out of the rooms and experience what we offer to you and be with the Nature. As we say 'Nature is our television'. I humbly will make a correction in what you have written in your feedback, " It is not only a place for foreigners but also for the nature loving Indians". Thanks a lot once again for your feedbacks and will see you again for a much longer stay.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village
a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location is a little off but is still nice since they are in the middle of a spice garden . Which in a way is good as they serve garden fresh coffee and tea in the morning .The dinner menu is not that great but the breakfast menu is quite good.They dont have a buffet per say but they cook anything on the menu for you .They rooms are styled in a eco friendly way , with herbal toiletries .The service is top notch with the staff greeting you every time they pass by .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shre_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Great to hear from you. Nice to understand that you have enjoyed the stay with us. Will definitely look into the point you mentioned about the dinner menu. Will try our best to improve dinner menu options. Once again thank you so much for taking the effort to give us the feed back and suggestions.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village
a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Well maintained property.neat & clean cottages but bathrooms are average but very clean & hygienic.they use herbal pesticides, which is appreciable. Best quality food, they serves. Very good location . Memorable stay. Near to periyar lake. In resort,itself, we finds verities of spices plants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surabhi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to see your valuable comments on your stay with us. We have already taken the steps on the one point you mentioned about the bathrooms. The bathroom renovations are going on at the moment and by next year all the rooms will have fresh new bathrooms. We always value guest feedbacks and that's how cgh is growing. Hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village
a cgh earth experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews