We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Spice Village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spice Village
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved the Spice Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2008

We stayed two nights at the Spice Village and thought it was wonderful. It is not a luxury resort, but is very very clean and well maintained with charming thatched cottages in a lovely park -like setting.The only negative thing would be that the bathrooms need to be updated. The food was great, and the staff very helpful.
We enjoyed the boat trip on Lake Periyar, as well as the trekking in the forest. with a native guide. I don't think one would want to vacation here for an extended period of time, but our two days were great, and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — setting...gardens, trees, spices
  • Disliked — bathrooms need renovation
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank benjiCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    231
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
190
378
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

We had a wonderful and memorable two-night stay at the lovely Spice Village. While there is denying it is costly, we felt we received five-star treatment. The staff were delightful - nothing was too much trouble. For example extending breakfast times to accommodate our various excursions was no problem. When we had a technical problem with our safe it was sorted out in a jiffy. The cottage was clean (of course), bright, spacious, tastefully decorated, peaceful and conformfortable. We enjoyed (but didn't really need) the turn-down service and hot-water bottles appearing in our bed while we were out to dinner. Upon arrival we were made really welcome and the manager helped us sort out our schedule, and was clever enough to get us booked onto the oversubscribed bamboo-rafting trip for the next day (we had already booked directly with Kerala Tourism by phone and e-mail but they had no record of our booking). On that first afternoon we were taken on a guded walk of the beautiful site including their organic spice farm - fascinating. We went to the cooking demonstration in the evening, which was great fun and informative. We watched a very professional 30-minute video on the Periyar wildlife. Then we had an outstanding dinner at the grill (we by-passed the buffet that looked less interesting). The fish platter at 1000 Rs was enough for two and was probably the best meal we had in India (the naan bread was delicious). The setting was great, under the stars and with a bonfire blazing away to deter mosies. The next day, after an amazing all-day trip on the bamboo rafts, we attended the classical dance, which was first class, and had another great dinner at the grill. The following morning we took the bullock-cart trip, also very highly recommended particularly if you are interested in birdlife. Upon departure we received a rather touching send-off with staff waving as we drove away. We could happily have stayed a further day and taken advantage of the pool or gone on the borders hike.

  • Liked — Activities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun_diamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

Only one night in Spice Village, part of the same group as Coconut Lagoon. Nothing at all wrong with our stay, but did not have the magic of Marari Beach. Do try and stay for two nights and take the Nature Trek in the park, we had to make do with the boat trip (which is must), excellent but made you want for more. The Tiger Club has an excellent wildlife display and video. Food was fine, but less choice than Marari. Very full with French Tour groups.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank noshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2008

spice village was good but not great yet it charges great prices. staff is helpful and nice but the food is only so so, clearly packaged for groups. rooms are also only OK. In short nothing wrong with this place but nothing great either.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank charlotte555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

Anybody who has been to Spice Village can count themselves lucky. This is not a hotel, its a concept, a dream of what travel and relaxation can be. The welcome you receive begins with the senses - a necklace of fragrant flowers, which is just the first fabulous scent you will experience as you walk the lovingly tended grounds. The rooms are calm and stylish and even in hot India you will appreciate the hot water bottle they tuck under the sheets at the end of the day. The food is superlative, and the hotel not only offers activities, but presents them attractively - cooking demonstrations, naturalist lectures, dancing, music - you name it, it will be memorable. Even the store has some of the best clothes I saw in India. The kids activities are unusual and educational and kept my two occupied for hours. We met people who had come 8 times. We hope to match them. Fantastic place.

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — Icy pool and not enough deck chairs
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GiveMeMORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

I had one night at Spice Village on the way from the Kerala Backwaters to Madurai and would recommend it for its homely bungalow-style rooms and exceptionally friendly staff, including the wildlife guides, the tennis/table-tennis coach, Francis, and the waitresses in the restaurant.
The boat trip on the lake is a bit too touristy but I had an excellent 3 hr dawn walk in the Tiger Sanctuary which, despite being stung by a wasp, I would recommend.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2007

We had a lovely stay in Spice Village. Everybody is super friendly and they make a great effort to support the local community and nature. They even have a large organic garden where they grow veg, mushrooms, herbs and spices. The staff is happy to show you around and explain all the different plants.

  • Liked — Nature, friendly staff, hotel mission statement
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
2.2 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
2.1 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#1 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
3.1 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Village

Property: Spice Village
Address: Kumily Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spice Village 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spice Village is an eco resort in the hills(thekkady) near the Periyar wildlife sanctuary. A cluster of tribal style huts set in a beautiful spice garden is a great escape for most tourists from the heat of the plains, and also a great place for some adventure activities. We have a comfortable pool, an ayurvedic spa, we organise treks into the forest, bamboo rafting and many more. A walk through the property itself is a great way to explore many aspects of nature and the green initiatives undertaken at this eco resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Spice Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Village Hotel Thekkady
Spice Village Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing