We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spice Village - fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spice Village
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Spice Village - fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

This Eco-Lodge is a wonderful place to stay in Kerala. There are spice and tea plantations nearby as well as a wildlife sanctuary. We stayed 3 nights and could have stayed longer. the hotel has cooking lessons every evening, as well as a dance performance. They also had tours of the 'village' and other tours/treks of the area available. The food was outstanding. I like Indian food, but I loved Kerala food. It was an easy walk to the many clothing, spice, and other shops. The spa was quite nice. The gentle facial was lovely but a bit different from other facials I've had. The massage was more of a hard rub, but with 2 women giving the massage at the same time, it was quite an experience. My friends enjoyed some of the more unusual offerings too. Internet was free and available on a porch. The pool was refreshing and the sign says we are swimming in bottled water.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    231
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
190
378
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

Stayed here only one night, alas, on a group tour of South India. A huge room, pale furniture, interesting paintings, sweet spice scents in the bathroom, mesh on the windows so that I could leave them open all night, listening to the sounds of nature, cool and calm. Maybe I was lucky, but not one insect bite (there was an anti-mosquito plug in the room). Charming staff. Enjoyed the pre-dinner dancing performance, which was well-lit though,as usual, the seating arrangements were ill-thought-out. The dinner and breakfast were both excellent. A major regret is that we were too busy for me to visit the bar, which seemed, through the closed door the following morning, to be full of interesting objects and memorabilia.

We were taken as part of our Cox and Kings tour to a spice garden close by (name unknown) which was totally unatmospheric and rather tatty (though the guide was very knowledgeable), and then to a glossy and grossly overpriced spice shop a few minutes from the hotel. Avoid. More interesting and cheaper shops along that same road.

I would love to come back to the hotel and stay for several daysand I shall certainly recommend it to all my friends. The countryside is wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ross39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and it really is quite special. We stayed in 3 CGH Earth hotels during our trip and also their houseboat in Alleppey - really nice group of Green/Eco hotels offering something a little bit different and special. Our bungalow was a little bit tired re. bathroom decor but perfectly clean. We stuck to the buffet which was fantastic with all food sourced from 50 mile radius - still thinking about the banana flower kerala rice. It was great to get away to the mountains away from the humidity for a couple of days and lovely to see a different aspect of Kerala - spice and tea plantations. We were hoping to catch a glimpse of a tiger and did a full day safari into Periyar Park but didn't see the elusive Tiger (not sure if anyone actually has to be honest), we did however see Bison and monkeys - completely different experience to SA safari - very difficult to see animals with the terrain - completely jungle like. Good chain of hotels to book with and really pleasant stay, although the pool which is filled with bottled water was FREEZING!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeleZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

The setting is magnificent and the individual thatched chalets were spotless and had all mod cons. The food was of a high standard but a real highlight was the brillant staff. They were so friendly, smiling and helpful that they made our stay one of the most memorable we have had anywhere in the world. We loved the total "Green" and sustainable approach to everything on the site. Thanks for a never to be forgotten experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry&Ros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
203 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

I had read raving reviews about this place and was looking forward to my stay here. On arrival we were garlanded and given a refreshing drink in a large but dark and uninviting reception area. Furthermore, the lady who checked us in was not at all friendly and very dismissive of any questions I asked her. I enquired about activities in the area and she was not at all helpful. In fact I later discovered that there is a Tourist Office next to the hotel - it would have been good practice to mention it. During our stay we dealt with several other staff in reception and they were more amenable.
The individual cottages are sprawled amidst spice plantations. Our cottage was in the periphery - quite a walk considering I have mobility problems. This was pointed out but we were taken a winding route and had to use several steps - there is a more simpler route avoiding steps! Please be aware if you have mobility problems request a cottage nearer to the facilities.The grounds are well-kept and interesting to explore. Every tree and every plant is labelled and there is an activity sheet for children (which my husband did and loved!). There is a pleasant aroma in the gardens.
All the cottages are thatched and the one we had (136) was very spacious with a modern bathroom. The shower was powerful with a good supply of hot water. The cottage is furnished in a rustic style with some lovely rural paintings on the walls. The bed was extra large but unfortunately very hard to sleep on and the bed linen of a good quality but gave off an unpleasant smell (they were clean; perhaps it was the washing powder?). Sleep quality therefore was not good. Furthermore it is very chilly in the evenings and although the hotel provides hot water bottles, these were placed in the room at 6.00pm! Once one returned from dinner, the bed was cold again! The length of the windows did not allow for privacy in the afternoon (the alternative was to draw the curtains). Unlike other hotels we stayed at, the groundsmen were particularly 'intrusive'.
There are many on site activities and we particularly enjoyed the talk on spices, the classical dance in the evening and the visit to the Tiger club. Most unusual for hotels in India, this place offers a laptop and free internet use for 30 minutes. Much appreciated There is a shop on site - our experience of the shop assistant was not pleasant - very abrasive in his manner. He lost my custom for I had several articles in hand that I was willing to purchase!
The food in this place is very good both in the main restaurant and in the garden restaurant. Breakfast was a treat as were dinners both a la carte and buffet. Do sample their smoothies made with cardomom (to die for). We found the service from staff in the restaurants to be exceptional. Thank you all, especially Nilisha who gave much of her time to explain and recommend dishes to us.
Ecologically, a sound place. It has its own effluent treatment park, organic garden (accounts for the wholesome food we had!) and rather than provide individual toiletries, they have dispensers which are topped up on a daily basis.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Hotel rooms/lodges are spread in a big garden. It is good quality but to expensive. Problem is you don't have much choice if you want quality in Thekkady.
Food is good. Staff in reastaurant a bit unfriendly. (cooks are good and friendly)
You have a nice swimmingpool and a bar with big Pool table.
Most amazing thing was in January just after sunrise thousand of FOX bats (1 meter big) are flying low over the trees. Sit at swiming pool have a beer and watch the sky.
Guide we had to go Periyar parc was very good. Guide we had to Tea plantation/spice garden was very poor.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londre
Level Contributor
204 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

We were there for 2 nights and loved everything about it. I had my first Ayurvedic massage which was incredibly relaxing even though I felt I might slip through their fingers with the about of oil applied.

The accommodation was very comfortable(beds a bid high of the ground), clean and spacious.
The service was excellent. We learned how to make Dosas as well as Sambar which was great fun.
The food and bar was very good with a lot of choice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londrepyramid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
2.2 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
2.1 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
3.6 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
2.1 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#19 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Village

Property: Spice Village
Address: Kumily Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spice Village 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spice Village is an eco resort in the hills(thekkady) near the Periyar wildlife sanctuary. A cluster of tribal style huts set in a beautiful spice garden is a great escape for most tourists from the heat of the plains, and also a great place for some adventure activities. We have a comfortable pool, an ayurvedic spa, we organise treks into the forest, bamboo rafting and many more. A walk through the property itself is a great way to explore many aspects of nature and the green initiatives undertaken at this eco resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spice Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Village Hotel Thekkady
Spice Village Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing