We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service very peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradisa Plantation Retreat
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is billed as a retreat and it certainly gives you great peace and quiet. The service by all was fantastic and simon was a very gracious host. I think there are a couple of suggestions I would make, one being a few more seats around the pool. There were only four but plenty of room for a few more. Also I am not sure why the windows don't have screens so they could be opened at night for fresh air, but there may be good reasons for that.

But without any doubt if you want to get away from it all this is the place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank domus52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

The comments in your post are made all the more valuable by your suggestions on how we can better our property. We are looking into netting the windows and doors in an unobtrusive but effective way. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 87 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Best on our trip will return. Personal attention for everything. Perfect excursion and plenty of quiet areas in cabin or common area to read and relax. Pool is nice with amazing view. Must do the walks and tea tour organized by Simon and his team. In fact, Simon is what really made the experience as he cares so much about every guest and their experience not only at Paradisa, but in Kerala. I would highly recommend to anyone. Note, their food is over priced, but it is amazing and clean and you're in the middle of nowhere so its a fair mark up on everything else that we felt was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cchen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for posting your comments and for your encouraging feedback. It was a pleasure to have you with us. It is only right that we do our best to ensure you enjoy your holiday and glad that you had a good stay.
Over the years we have become known for our food and are pleased that you were not disappointed. We put our all into the food we serve, which is why it is impossible to cut back on the price lest we have to compromise on quality.
We do hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was hospitality at it's best. Paradisa is located high in the hills near Thekkady and of course it's remote, that's part of the charm - the sheer solitude and beauty of the place was complimented by the wonderful generosity of the owner, Simon, and his staff. For a family of 4 Cardammon Cottage was perfect, the food was as good as anything we had in Kerala even if there was no 'menu' and the commitment to both the Keralan culture and the environment was genuine.

We had an amazing day visiting a tea factory and plantation (with Simon as our guide) followed by a spice garden tour and culminating with washing and being 'washed' by elephants - something the kids (okay, and the adults) will remember forever. A real highlight of our holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimmythepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and your kind words. Your comments are heartwarming and we are happy to have been able to contribute to making your family holiday a memorable one. It was a pleasure to have you with us and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We booked following a recommendation and enjoyed the trip to this out of the way place in the mountains. We were met on arrival by our host Simon, a generous and erudite host who enjoys the art of conversation. He is extremely knowledgeable and takes great personal interest and pride in his retreat. The cabins are delightful, though not air-conditioned and we were provided with a fan on request. There are mosquito nets for night as the windows are unscreened. The view is spectacular and the setting very peaceful. No mod cons e.g. TV, kettle, tea, coffee in rooms but this is very much a retreat not a resort. Wi Fi available in the Dining Room. The staff were polite and attentive and the food generally good. A special place, perfect for relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your trouble in posting your comments here. Also glad to know that you felt the “Retreat” concept and liked it as well. Your review will certainly be of value to prospective guests at Paradisa. Thank you and hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

As name tells, this is a real paradise in jungle. Bit difficult to reach here as the road too long from munnar..an authentic kerala structure in forest. best time to spend at night time. A real peaceful place..Staff and owner was real friendly..one of the best place ww stayed in our kerala trip..we will come back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J4Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, though so short. We look forward to your next visit and will do our best to ensure you have a great stay. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

A remarkable hotel in the middle of the forest/jungle, carved into the side. The view is remarkable. The cabins have no A/C but there are fans and that is enough for a peaceful sleep. The food is good and staff, under Simon the owner, are welcoming and friendly. The hot water left much to be desired! It is clean and the mosquito nets protect you at night. Wifi access was variable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gitta45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We apologise for the trouble you had with the hot water but this has been remedied now. Your feedback is invaluable to us and keeps us motivated to improve our service. Thank you once more and we do hope to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel was booked by my nephew and we had no idea on the kind of place it was going to be. The drive from Munnar to Paradisa Retreat was long and arduous and even when we got close to the nearest village, there were no sign posts to the resort. Luckily our car driver spoke to local lingo and he managed to eventually get us to the resort.

The level of personal service we received was unsurpassed by anything we have received before. The resort has only 10-11 individual villas - each one is individually styled in a very very authentic Keralan style. Simon (the owner) came and met us and made us feel totally at home. Simon is very knowledgeable on the local area, the food, the people, the flora/fauna etc. He personally took us to see a tea factory and took us to an Ayurvedic Hospital for some really good massages. Its very refreshing to find a resort owner taking such a personal interest in ensuring that his guests have a memorable experience.

The hotel has a fairly large plantation with a wide variety of spices. Highly recommend spending an hour or two and taking a tour with the staff (who not only speak excellent English but are also very knowledgeable on the flora/fauna that surrounds this very tranquil resort).

The breakfast and dinner at the hotel was great. They do take account of personal preferences and tastes and the food was certainly very good.

If you are looking for an active holiday - then this is probably the wrong place for you. If however you are looking to totally relax and spend time with your partner, then I could not recommend it more.

BTW, although the resort is out in the sticks, it has an excellent wi-fi/internet connection in the dining area.

Room Tip: Try not to stay in the cottage that's right by the edge of the jungle. This cottage attracts a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SanjayandProchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisa, Owner at Paradisa Plantation Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

We are happy that you chose to go with your nephew’s recommendation for your holiday, and relieved that you were not disappointed. Thank you for staying with us. Thank you also for the detailed and very kind review that you have taken the trouble to post here. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
12.9 mi away
Kofiland
Kofiland
#10 of 45 in Thekkady
144 reviews
13 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
14.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 45 in Thekkady
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
427 reviews
14 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 45 in Thekkady
494 reviews
14 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 45 in Thekkady
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisa Plantation Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisa Plantation Retreat

Address: Murinjapuzha P.O. | Idukki District, Thekkady 685532, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Family Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $177 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradisa Plantation Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisa Plantation Retreat is set on an organic coffee and spice plantation in the hills of Kerala. The Retreat comprises traditional wooden cottages, embellished with invaluable antiques. The activities available are yoga, cooking lessons, visit to the tea factory(12 kms), visit or massage at the Ayurveda centre(8 kms), and Periyar Tiger Reserve (40 kms). There are many spectacular walking routes. One leaves the Retreat invigorated by the fresh air, pampered by the caring staff and visually delighted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Paradisa Plantation Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisa Plantation Retreat Hotel Thekkady
Paradisa Plantation Retreat Idukki
Paradisa Plantation Retreat Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing