We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suberbia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradisa Plantation Retreat
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed March 28, 2012

A rare case of a wonderful setting being matched by unique food,great service and the warm welcome of Simon,the owner..If you wish to get away from the coast and crowds,this is the place for you. The individual chalets are spacious and beautifully decorated,and the pool,while not large,is pleasantly designed with great views.

Room Tip: Go for Cardamon cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stewart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 85 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

Had been to really a paradise when I visited this place Paradise Plantation Retreat for 2 nights. Wat a place. It is a full head nod yes for going . I had been to the place with my friends. We were recommended this place by our foodie frnz. That prompted us to book this hotel & car.Direct booking from hotel was costly so we made bookings from antilogvacations.com , a kerala bulk hotel & package website & got a 15% off

The place turned out to be out of the world tasty. Felt like gobling up the food served. It was justthe right spicy just the right sweet just the right salt and perfect 10 for taste eventually. Even the presentation was very well done. The food was served in proper time. Orders were prepared fresh. U just feel ur legs tied to the dining table.

Its difficult to resist the aroma of the place . a perfect blend of spices tanatlising all of your senses. Heaven on earth. Chef is to be bowed here to there. Simple and yet special food.. like the homecooked special treats on weekends. Healthy and lumpsum. Treat to remember for sure.

The view from the guest room, the balcony the terrace is just too good. U get the feel of standing amidst all the lovely green plantation below in a step form pattern. It is majestic. Would blow ur mind away for a second. It’s a quiet and green place. Loved the sun when it shows.

The people are friendly , co-operative and helpful. A very nice and clean water area , not frequently used by guests but its presence is endearing. Also the rooms are nice. The guest rooms are adequate in number. Quite a few. Available most of the times. Cleaned and catered to daily. The gardens are also very nicely maintained. Good care taken.

Facilities like transportation and other means of communication were meted out quite conveniently by the helpful staff.a very nice stay. Wish to return soon. Satisy my taste buds and experience greenery.
Overall Verdict -Food - 10/10 , Rooms- 8/10 , Beauty-7/10 , Service-6/10

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
11  Thank Narayana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Quite simply Paradisa Plantation Retreat has the best home cooking you will find in India. The retreat has beautiful views over the cardamon hills and we also enjoyed the rooms set in traditional Keralan houses. It lacks some of the polish of more expensive hotels but makes up for this in character and the fabulous food.

Dinners during my stay at Paradisa were epic feasts leaving me barely able to waddle down the steps to my room. To start a vegetable cutlet with mashed vegetables shaped into a patty, delicately spiced and fried. Next was a peppery pumpkin soup with added zing from flecks of ginger and garlic. Then our plates were heaped with a pungent fish curry made from meaty, firm seer fish alongside aromatic and moist okra and a dish called thoren which was made from snake gourd mixed with coconut. This was accompanied by the lightest most ethereal paratha bread and a sweet banana chutney. Dessert was simple but delicious grilled pineapple dusted with palm sugar and cinnamon.

This is just a taste of the food you are in for at Paradisa! Photos and more details of my stay are available on my blog here: http://www.gourmet-chick.com/2011/12/paradisa-plantation-retreat-gourmet.html

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaraAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This was by far the best hotel I stayed at in Kerala. The location is amazing and the staff wonderfully attentive and helpful. Roy's cooking is very special. Altogether first class all round!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djharrison99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hill plantation resort is built in traditional kerala style wodden houses. the pools shape is like a foot print and you can have a good trekking in and around the resort.i personally feel that tourist coming from outside india will really enjoy the plantation resort more.

Room Tip: get a room which gives a good valley view. i dont have any pictures now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulchalakuzhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Hold onto your stomachs as you approach this hillside retreat, as the roads get twisty and narrow as you ascend. But the views! You can see across rolling hills and valleys as you climb, and at the end you're rewarded with a steep turn-off down a driveway that culminates in a gate where a Hindu statue welcomes you.

We traveled with our nine-year-old daughter, and stayed four nights in Cardamom Cottage, the largest of the 12 repurposed cottages on the site. We had a lawn terrace and two bedrooms, and a spacious veranda that allowed us to sit and take in the gorgeous views and the afternoon clouds pouring over the hills into the valley before a torrential (and usually quite temporary) rainstorm.

Simon, the proprietor, attended to us from the moment we arrived. He arranged a late lunch, scheduled our trip to a local tea factory (and guided us around it), a top-rated ayurvedic hospital for massages (a great experience, even for our daughter), and our daughter's favorite thing during our entire month in India, an hour-long ride on an elephant that ended with her being able to sit on the elephant's back in a small pool and get showered by it.

Chef Roy made us food that makes my mouth water just recalling it. From curries to thorans (coconut and vegetable dish), mangoes to breads, we ate like kings. Roy even invited us behind the scenes and let us watch him prepare dinner with all the fresh ingredients available locally. This being Kerala, coconut figures prominently in most dishes. As an extra treat for our daughter, Roy made a delicious spaghetti marinara and fried fish nuggets.

Cardamom Cottage has two, 2-person bedrooms, two bathrooms (one with a courtyard leading to the outside beside the shower, which was neat), and a veranda that just doesn't stop. We requested our morning masala chai on the veranda in the mornings, so we could watch the sun rise over the hills, and drank Indian wine there in the evenings before dinner.

The swimming pool is just the right size, and because it's cooler in the hills than in the Backwaters where we'd been before this, it was wonderful to take a dip and then sit around the pool in lovely wooden deck loungers and even eat lunch in the pavilion beside the water.

The scenery changes moment to moment. Not an hour passes that is like the one before. The clouds, trees, birds, insects, and winds harmonize here, and time comes to a screeching halt. This is a place to be unplugged, and wifi isn't an option. We played charades, read books, ate, drank, and slept. The rhythms of nature and the sun rising and setting become your own here, and luckily we got four nights to really settle in.

We hiked to Pachmundi Hill, a couple of hills over, with a staff member (Ani) as our guide. Villagers waved and offered us their dried mangoes, and the culmination of the climb was a breathtaking, 360-degree view of the surrounding area.

We had the place to ourselves for two of the four nights, and the staff bent over backwards to make us feel cared for. We were lulled into such relaxation that it was hard to leave. This place, nestled against the Cardamom Hills, has earned a place in our never-to-be-forgotten memories.

Room Tip: As for Cardamom Cottage, if more than 3 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilyBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

An exceptional boutique hotel with comfortable quirky, impeccably clean, comfortable and well-appointed accommodation in vernacular buildings on terraced site high in the hills 75 minutes by road from Periyar. Spectacular views and forest ambience. Restaurant provided superb local food on an open terrace with breathtaking views; prices are a trifle high, so be aware and ask. A menu showing prices would be helpful. Staff professional and attentive, all managed faultlessly by the loquacious hospitable owner. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggy_and_Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
13.0 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
14.5 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
14.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 44 in Thekkady
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#23 of 44 in Thekkady
83 reviews
12.9 mi away
Kofiland
Kofiland
#12 of 44 in Thekkady
115 reviews
14.0 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 44 in Thekkady
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisa Plantation Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisa Plantation Retreat

Address: Murinjapuzha P.O. | Idukki District, Thekkady 685532, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Family Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $206 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradisa Plantation Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradisa Plantation Retreat is set on an organic coffee and spice plantation in the hills of Kerala. The Retreat comprises traditional wooden cottages, embellished with invaluable antiques. The activities available are yoga, cooking lessons, visit to the tea factory(12 kms), visit or massage at the Ayurveda centre(8 kms), and Periyar Tiger Reserve (40 kms). There are many spectacular walking routes. One leaves the Retreat invigorated by the fresh air, pampered by the caring staff and visually delighted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Paradisa Plantation Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisa Plantation Retreat Hotel Thekkady
Paradisa Plantation Retreat Idukki
Paradisa Plantation Retreat Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing