We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Periyar Mist Homestay
Ranked #60 of 119 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Kochi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was probablely the nicest budget accomdation that we have been to in Southern India. The family were warm and friendly and willing to make the extra effort to please.They made us feel at home. The place was really nice and quiet. You could sit on the roof and see the hills around or you can sit on the verrenda a see the gardens of the other villas and guest houses around. Walking distance from the center of the town, one has a feeling of staying in the country side.
The room are clean spacious and well kept.
There is a prossibilty of mosquitos at night. bring some protection.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benari64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Wau, we were SO happy to stay here. This was so relaxing.
Mr Shukoor who runs the place offers, as he called it "maximum service".
He gets you tickets, he gets you on elephant rides when they are fully booked. He drives you and pick you up again.
Fantastic stay, this place i wanna come back to.
We had four nights which was ok, but I wish we had 2 more to relax and enjoy the climat and walk a bit in the city.

We enjoyed this place very much!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spend three days in this home stay with Sulfikar and his wonderful and lovely family, then we agree to go back for two weeks more because the área and the special people around were really great. The rooms are clean and comfortables, and the Chai they offers to you is excellent. We had a nice time cooking with Sulfikars wife and his daughters, and travel around whit them. Sulfikar also organized for us a special yoga course, not the tourist one. We learn a lot about yoga practice with a professional teacher, we can highly recomend this posibility because was a special learning and not only that course other offers to all the tourist. The family also organized a special ayurvedic treatment for my husband, with an specialist who really works in an ayurvedic hospital, my husband was very satisfied and happy with this treatment and we were really happy to make this choice and enjoy this time whit all of them like in a family. We hope to back there some day. Thank Sulfi and Family.

Room Tip: The room in terrace is the better one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for four nights, in this clean and cosy homestay run by mr. Shukoor and his family.
The room was large and clean with a wonderful and peaceful view.
We were even lucky enough to have some monkeys visit our balcony :)
Mr. Shukoor offers an outstanding service level, he helped us with trips, tickets, pick-ups and drop-offs. This man is working around the clock to make sure you enjoy your stay!
The Shukoor family opened their hearts and home for us and even served us delicious Keralan disches.

This place has with out any doubts been the best experiance on our journey and we cannot recommend this place enough.

Stop looking for other homestays, this the best!

Regards from Sweden

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank King C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and wished we had stayed for more. Super clean and comfortable room at a great price. Sulfy and the family treated us wonderfully. Special thanks to the girls for the songs and stories and Mrs. ``Sulfy`` for the tea, food, and clean clothes. We`ll be back next February for more!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmplantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merano, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at Periyar Mist Home Stay for two nights and Sulfikar and his family was very helpful and kind. The room was clean and comfortable, very quiet and near the Wildlife Periyar National Park. A special thanks to his wife for preparing delicious local dishes. The price / quality ratio is very good considering that it is low season. We'd definitely recommend it to friends!
Thank's "Misty"Sulfi!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexmbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 mi away
Spice Village
Spice Village
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
864 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
829 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaana Plantation Resort
Amaana Plantation Resort
#1 of 43 in Thekkady
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#6 of 43 in Thekkady
1,101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periyar Mist Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periyar Mist Homestay

Property: Periyar Mist Homestay
Address: Thekkinkadu Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periyar Mist Home Stay is a welcome change, lying close Kumily, just 4Km away from the world renewned Periyar Wild Life Sanctuary and Tiger Project(Thekkady). Periyar Mist Home Stay is not on the main road, Situated about 150mts. from the path you are not disturbed by the noise of the tourists and their vehicles. With such modern amenities, there is room for everything perfect. For the aesthetically designed rooms, luxurious - is not the exact word that might come handy. For those who appreciate excellence, decorum, luxury and above all the alluring ideas in design - It is the ‘Paradise’ a marquee - with a world of difference, equipped with all the modern facilities one could imagine. You can have one of most relaxed and enchanting vacation here at any time To make an everlasting impression, on your most memorable vacation, this is the most prestigious living experience that you could ever come across. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Periyar Mist Homestay Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing