We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tranquil & perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful tranquil & perfect!”
Reviewed March 25, 2006

This is an amazing hotel - very tranquil and beautiful thatched cottages set in the heart of the spice plantations. The gardens are fantastic - they grow all kinds of spices and fruit (many of which they use in their own kitchens, including their own coffee which was wonderful!). The swimming pool was also superb. It's also only a ten minute drive to Periyar wildlife sanctuary - where you can go on a 3 hour jungle trek and boat ride (which are great fun). The sister hotel Surya Samudra (by the sea near Kovalem) was also superb. We also stayed at Spice Village (which although a little closer to Periyar caters more for package holidays rather than the independent traveller). I think Shalimar Spice was much nicer and the food was also wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    133
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
76
229
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2006

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a trip around Kerala. It is a real oasis, relatively small, with beautiful gardens. The rooms are based on traditional Kerala style cottages and there is a small swimming pool. The staff were extremely nice and probably the hotels best asset with a real homely atmosphere.Meals were huge, actually too big, but good quality. Also the food caters more for the western palate, this may suit most people, but we were a little disappointed. Overall I definitly would recommend this hotel. A refreshing change to the large chains.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moose2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2006

We stayed here over the New Year 2005, a party of 9 comprising 2 families. The location, service and welcome were wonderful and we were immediately made to feel at home and relaxed after a 5 hour trip from Cochin. The food was outstanding, the staff were delightful, friendly and helpful and the New year party with elephant, classical dance, drummers and tribal dancing around a fire with staff and guests was the best start to a year we have ever experienced. Enormous credit goes to the management who advised us and booked us onto a jungle and wildlife trip, sorted out taxis into town and put on the great show. The cottages are great and comfortable in the most stunning location and we were most impressed by everything. We did note some guests taking a rather arrogant attitude to the staff which was entirely unwarranted. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2005

We visited Shalimar Spice Garden at the last minute in late September 2005 as another booking had fallen through due to bad weather. I had seen the website and all the listings of this hotel in the Taschen books and so was excited to go. However, after all the hype, we were pretty disappointed. We visited in low season and found that 5 new cottages were being built near the pool and the kitchen was under renovation so there was a pretty restricted menu and we were eating out of an ugly room near the pool. The spa was a real disapointment. My Ayurvedic massage was positively unpleasant. Room was nothing special. Pool was small and not very clean. Service was pretty good - they were trying hard. The one nice thing was all the bird life in the early morning. We actually moved out after one night and went to the Spice Village run by CGH Earth. That had less atmosphere but was much nicer. Perhaps Shalimar is very different when it is not low season but I really feel that if hotels are renovating they must tell you when you book. I do also wonder if the facilities can accomodate 5 more cottages.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kc-with-the-cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
194 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2005

Stayed here on a Kerala round tour as Spice Garden was full, and were not disappointed. My family and I taking 2 cottages were the only occupants in the hotel, so we are a little reluctant to extol the hotel's virtues as no doubt we will find it fuller next time! But we had fantastic personal service, including chef coming to our rooms to suggest a menu for dinner. A small but clean pool surrounded by statues and spice plants, and well appointed sun-beds with plenty of fresh towels and good pool side service. Rooms large, a little musty and faded, and very dark, but perfectly adequate. The cottages each have their own veranda with chairs and tables, so no need to spend time inside, and it is the setting and gardens that make this hotel special. Food generally high quality, Keralan dishes more so than the pasta on which they pride themself. Breakfast excellent in presentation and content, and served on stone tables on the terrace. Staff very hospitable, and if you ask the manager for a tour around the spice plants on the property, you can avoid the packaged tour to the local spice nursery. Didn't use the spa, but understand they are building more facilities, maybe a gym. Hope they don't spoil it! Should do the Perjar lake trip when you are here. Would really recommend for a short 2/3 night stay for couples, and am told is tolerable for teenagers as they have their own private cottage!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.4 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
596 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
2.3 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
804 reviews
1.8 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
1.7 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway

Property: Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Address: Murikkady | Periyar, Thekkady 685535, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bridge to Shalimar, over a mountain stream meandering through the resort, transcends you to another world, seemingly untouched by man. Shalimar Spice Garden is a celebration of scents and colours. Pepper vines snake through your room balconies, butterflies dance to the sound of silence and orchids smile into your windows every morning. This Sublime Journey through waterfalls, tea estates, spice & vegetable plantations, and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary only enhances the invitation to live the Shalimar experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Spice Garden Hotel Kumily
Shalimar Spice Garden Thekkady
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing