We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 'Hideaway'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect 'Hideaway'”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was a really enchanting place to stay amidst a busy schedule visiting as many places as we could, during our visit to India. The staff were so helpful and friendly, the food was excellent and the whole environment was amazing. The massage was such a welcome treat and helped me relax prior to the next leg of our journey south. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mtuffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    133
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
76
229
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I had a very nice experience in Shalimar Spice Garden. It was indeed a hideaway place from busy life. The staff were all friendly and professional. The property gives a flavor of jungle and I have experienced one of my best and peaceful morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krits84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We han a very nice experience in Shalimar Spice Garden. Wonderful place in the middle of spices plantations with a flavor of jungle. Nice and professional people, wonderful massage and great food.Thanks to everybody

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alfiocristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was so lovely. We had refused to stay at the so called ambient hotel we were booked into and this hotel offered us a choice of 3 rooms at very short notice. The staff were all so friendly and just couldn't do any more to make our unexpected stay a joy. A lovely welcome and drink drink when we arrived was gratefully received. The food was outstanding, the pool well kept, in fact everything was tidy and clean. A brilliant place to stay and relatively near to attractions. A must!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the far end which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill8858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on sea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Shalimar Spice Garden was the 3rd hotel we stayed in during our honeymoon tour of Kerala, wow! Location, serenity, staff, spices, spa just wow! Shirley who was front of house was an absolutely charming lady who really looked after us, make the most of the spa too if you visit the hot oil head massage was pure heaven! Thanks for making our stay perfect.

Room Tip: Honeymoon villa is divine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

One of the finest resort/hotel I have ever stayed. Lovely atmosphere with the friendly supporting staffs. Food was delicious and the ambiance of the room was toO good to appreciate.

Shirley gave us a smiling welcome and was so kind and friendly and made our stay very comfort and ease. She was ready for any service support and arranged our visit to wildlife sanctuary in no mean of time at our preference.

Wish I could visit one more time and enjoy myself in this nature gifted location.

Maheswaran
Delhi
E: smw.nair@gmail.com

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maheswaran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is a beautiful and peaceful place to stay in the hills of the Western Ghats, with accommodation in thatched cottages and rooms, scattered around in beautiful tropical gardens. Shirley made us very welcome during our two day stay in the hotel, which we used as a base to explore the local wildlife reserve and the spice and tea plantations. The dining room in the main reception building provided us with excellent food. Altogether a lovely break in a really scenic location. The swimming pool is pretty good too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derekhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.4 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
609 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
2.3 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
805 reviews
1.8 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
1.7 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway

Property: Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Address: Murikkady | Periyar, Thekkady 685535, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bridge to Shalimar, over a mountain stream meandering through the resort, transcends you to another world, seemingly untouched by man. Shalimar Spice Garden is a celebration of scents and colours. Pepper vines snake through your room balconies, butterflies dance to the sound of silence and orchids smile into your windows every morning. This Sublime Journey through waterfalls, tea estates, spice & vegetable plantations, and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary only enhances the invitation to live the Shalimar experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Spice Garden Hotel Kumily
Shalimar Spice Garden Thekkady
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing