We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Nearby Hotels
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaumont Plantation Retreat(Thekkady)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ambadi(Thekkady)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Jungle Palace Homestay(Thekkady)(Great Value!)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$60
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Jungle Park Resort(Thekkady)(Great Value!)
$44
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
White House(Thekkady)
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highrange Residency(Kumily)(Great Value!)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveler rating
260
151
28
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
151
28
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspice gardenthe cottagescommon tv roomwooden bridgelush vegetationnice verandapeaceful settingindividual bungalowshoneymoon cottagelounge areadifferent levelsswimming poolmain buildingcurriesthe hotel offersayurvedic massagenature walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 456 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Spice Garden is an arrangement of cozy bungalows in a botanical garden. A Periyar paradise. Our apartment was spacious, the bed was comfortably firm, and the bathroom perfectly equipped. The restaurant was very good – not great, mind you, because I have a feeling the chef toned down the spices and piquantness to suit the tastes of the French and other Europeans. I prefer Indian cuisine the way the Indians eat it. Breakfast was perfect and the massala chai delicious. The staff was charming and responsive, except for my repeated request to provide us with a little toothpaste that housekeeping never delivered. The evening show of classical Indian dance performed by 14-year-old girls was absolutely delightful. All in all, a very satisfying experience for the two days we stayed. A big thumbs up.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank withthebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel with thatch roofed cottages was just wonderful! We were warmly welcomed and stayed here towards the very end of a one month trip throughout India. We hung out in the room and at the lovely pool and had dinner on the porch of our cottage. We wanted a light dinner and as that night there was a buffet being served, they suggested we could order a la carte and provided us with a menu for room service which was different from the one already in the room. It was delicious, served nice and warm and really hit the spot! Later we went to the lobby for a local dance performance and conversed with other guests. The next morning, we practiced a bit of yoga in the room and really could have stayed for another night, except that we were heading over the hills and down to the backwaters of Kerala. Hope to be back someday .

By the way, there is plenty to do around here - even with our time constraints, we took the boat ride on Lake Periyer where we saw elephants, toured a local spice farm and shopped for some local clothing and spices. The hotel offers an array of Aryevedic treatments, yoga and wildlife excursions and the town of Thekkady had a nice vibe!

The one thing I would say though is that I you walk up a hill to the cottages. It was no problem for us and added to the ambience, but could be a problem for some.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank lynne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Shalimar. We found the food, staff and rooms to be delightful. The room was large and well equipped. There was a nice veranda with a couple of comfortable chairs; ideal for sitting out after dinner with a beer and a book! There was WiFi at the reception. The food was varied and tasty, and not as expensive as some other places we stayed on our trip.
We asked for local walks and went on two, each of which took just over an hour. Only improvement would be to ensure the arrows are on the trees or lampposts as said on the leaflet. We got a bit lost on one, but were happily put right by some very pleasant youngsters.
There was classical dancing on two evenings. This was most enjoyable, as performed by local girls who were clearly enjoying themselves. They were delightful.
I would happily recommend Shalimar Spice Gardens for couples, although the paths to the rooms are quite steep, so would be unsuitable for someone with mobility difficulties.
Only thing I disliked was the wailing from a temple in the early morning, but can't really blame the hotel for that!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller58Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed 2 nights with family (3 kids) and enjoyed the nice place, an oasis and escape. Nice settings of the rooms within the jungle. We enjoyed the food (breakfast and dinner - after we mad some bad dinner experience in Thekkady at another place).
Very nice and caring staff. The intro explanations could be shortened...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Just returned and rooms spartanly furnished, no a/c no TV and very uncomfortable bed and pillows making for difficult sleeping.
Rather bossy receptionist and very poor Luke warm buffet with mouldy bread on one morning!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Resort Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you choosing Shalimar Spice Garden for your stay.

Our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. We would like to inform you that as per the climate condition here, there is no a/c required and most of the guests are requesting for the Room Heater, which we are providing in all rooms. About the TV, it is our unique concept that – there is no Television in any of our accommodation, but we have a common TV room. Also I gone through our daily guest feedback register, but I haven’t noticed any of your unhappiness till your check-out and found all your comments are excellent. Other than that, we made your Minibar bill complimentary, which you are refused to pay during check-out.

However, we are requesting you to give us an opportunity to see you and serve you better on your next visit.

Once again, apologies for the inconvenience.

With kind regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews