We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unusual hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An unusual hotel”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

You walk in across a narrow bridge, below which are tropical plants, to a large reception/lounge area where you are greeted by very friendly, helpful staff. The communal areas are attractively furnished, including a lounge in the main building and a cottage room with books and TV open to all. (What a pity that someone had torn the local pages out of the Travel Guide!) There is also a small swimming pool with loungers around. Most of the accommodation is in individual thatched cottages that are scattered around the beautiful gardens, linked by steps and rough paths of varying gradients. These cottages are comfortably furnished, with en suite, a small fridge and tea or coffee making facilities. Each has its own private terrace overlooking the gardens, with candles for the evening. We had lunch and an evening meal which were both fine and they packed us a decent breakfast for our early departure to visit the Periyar Sanctuary. We only gave it 4 stars because it felt gloomy and lacked atmosphere - although that might have been because there was only one other couple there. Also, you could not order wine to have with your meal. A lot of thought has gone into this "hotel" and it almost works, but not quite for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    133
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
76
229
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Peaceful setting with lovely gardens to walk in. The rooms were a decent size with comfortable beds and lovely decor although we'd have liked a door on the shower as the water went everywhere when we used it! The staff were friendly and competent, particularly the reception personnel. We enjoyed the food at the restaurant but found the service to be occasionally slower than we'd have liked. Christmas dinner is wandering around the gardens too, so if you're staying here then you can look forward to cardamom flavoured turkey for lunch! Our only real negative is that there are a lot of quite uneven steps in this hotel which may be a problem for the less able. Overall though we enjoyed our stay at the Shalimar and would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Idyllic venue, peaceful and beautifully done garden as well as indoor deco. Staff was very friendly and always helpful. Food was excellent, and great choice (they even had porridge :) ). Did not get to visit the spa... maybe next time... I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay early in October... I wish I could have stayed a bit longer... :).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice serene place. Staff is so cordial that you feel it's your own retinue. Full of greenery. Food is good and enough selection available. Relaxing at pool in nice weather was an experience by it self. Even spa experience was good enough to remember. Over all an excellent experience.

Room Tip: We stayed close to spa and swimming pool, it was very convenient. Enjoyed thoroughly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kartikey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Karthikey

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Shalimar Spice Garden at the beginning of October and greatly enjoyed the experience. The surroundings were lovely, the food excellent and the staff efficient & friendly. Our only complaint was that we had 46 rough, stone steps to climb to our bungalow and similar steps to the hotel entrance from the track. This was a severe challenge to my colleague as she had mobility problems.

Room Tip: Advise the hotel before your stay if you have mobility problems as some bungalows are on the same le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Alison

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Also we have noted your points about the stone steps reach to your bungalow. If any guests are requesting and if they are unable to climb too much, we are proving the accommodations which are near to the Restaurant.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Shalimar, lovely surroundings with lots birds to spot. Very good choice of food and wine in the restaurant, the curries are excellent the chef even had time to talk to us about different dishes. We didn't get a chance to use the spa as it was fully booked so it must be good. The staff are very helpful. . Tip -if you decide to go on the boat trip in Periyar get there a few hours before to book your tickets as it gets very busy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrummond504175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent three nights here at the beginning of September, and it was a truly memorable experience. They have a great travel desk and organised all our local visits with their own driver. The cost for this experience hardly more expensive than a local Rickshaw! Bravo to our driver who doubled as our guide. He took us to Spice gardens, Elephant farms and of course to the Periyar Sanctuary. He even drove the 6 hour drive to our on-going destination in Varkala. Lovely, lovely man, highly professional and a credit to the hotel.
We were on half board, and all the meals we had were delicious..no set menu, we simply chose from their extensive à la carte, we had the same waiter each evening, he was helpful, professional whilst remaining unobtrusive. Again a real credit to the hotel.
The Restaurant is beautiful, with indoor and covered outdoor seating. We choose to eat outdoors with the monsoon rains gushing around us....so romantic !
The cottages are huge, beautifully decorated with all modern amenities, they are spread out across the property, so you feel you are in your own private world.
The grounds of the hotel are simply fantastic, for a Parisian city dweller like myself, to be immersed in jungle and spice plantation within the hotel grounds was a really wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The cottages are spread out up a very steep hill with lots of steps. I personally loved climbing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitchfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.4 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
599 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
2.3 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
804 reviews
1.8 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
1.7 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway

Property: Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Address: Murikkady | Periyar, Thekkady 685535, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bridge to Shalimar, over a mountain stream meandering through the resort, transcends you to another world, seemingly untouched by man. Shalimar Spice Garden is a celebration of scents and colours. Pepper vines snake through your room balconies, butterflies dance to the sound of silence and orchids smile into your windows every morning. This Sublime Journey through waterfalls, tea estates, spice & vegetable plantations, and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary only enhances the invitation to live the Shalimar experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Spice Garden Hotel Kumily
Shalimar Spice Garden Thekkady
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing