We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is one of the best resorts I have stayed at. When we arrived at the resort it looked like we were going to be disappointed but we were lost for words. Our van was too big to pass on the road, so we had to walk. But, they do provide a vehicle to take you out to the road and back.
We had a great time here. Very friendly staff and food was also very good. The time we visited it was raining and the climate was perfect. We were the only ones in the resort and we loved the service they provided. Their was 11 of us. Even our kids enjoyed it.
We could see all the spices inside the resort, they smelt very good when it was raining. We went in the rainy season. They gave us a tour of the property and explained what each spice was.
They took good care of us. They had free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Try and get it near the reception. You will have to walk up and down a lot. But most rooms are tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshithPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    133
    26
    10
    6
See reviews for
76
229
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Beautiful Nature around you completely. .the sound of d insects n birds..n gardening....d flowers...d environment say it all..itz a relaxing worthful stay...gud ambience..amazing tasty food wid good service from d staff...Anish who served us at dinning was very well mannered n gave a very gud service..it was an amazing stay out here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited Thekkady as part of a week long Kerala trip over Easter and started looking for places other than Spice Village when I was given the staggering tariff. This looked like a pretty property and we decided to give it a shot after reading some reviews. I have to say it surpassed my expectations. Located inside a little spice plantation, the place is a haven of tranquillity. Service is polite, thoughtful and attentive. Food is delicious although the menu is rather limited. The serenity in the place is maintained by the fact that the cottages are all sufficiently apart to be private. The rooms are really big and the bathrooms with French windows overlooking the garden are lovely. I loved the sit out in front of the room and would sip my tea and read a book there every morning. There was a gorgeous dance performance in the evening - the abhinaya (expressions) on the face of the dancers indicated their accomplishment as performers. My only regret is that they didn't give me the music that they play in the reception every day - it was meditative, serene and beautiful and it would have been an icing on the cake if they would have given it to me on a cd or something since I was so enamoured by it. That's usually the type of attentiveness that sets a place apart.
If you are looking for rejuvenation then this is ideal. If you want to party, steer clear of this property.
Oh and the massages are average. Mine was not that great but my friend reported satisfaction with the skills of the male masseuse.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shwetasree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Also please provide me your e-mail ID, so that we can send you the link of music, which we are playing at the Reception.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is one of the best resorts I have stayed. We had a great time there. Very good staffs,and food was also good but very expensive. By the time we visited it was raining and the climate was very cool.we brought lot of Auntic collections and some plants from the resort. We could see all the spices inside the resort,it smells verygood while raining.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajrhythmyalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Whilst travelling in Kerala in and around the backwaters at the wrong time of year in 30 degrees and 85% humidity, it came as a welcome relief for us to visit the Shalimar Spice Garden for 2 nights, where the weather was like a good English summer.
We stayed in the honeymoon cottage, which was an excellent bungalow just down from the main buildings, whereas most of the others are above it. The room was clean, with excellent facilities and a lovely bathroom.
Early evening around sunset was very noisy with a cacophony of insects and other creatures but this died down before bedtime and we slept very well while we were there.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful; we even had our own personal tour of the gardens and spices.
Food was excellent with a variety of cuisines on offer i.e. you don’t have to have curry for breakfast dinner and tea if you don’t want to! It would have been nice to have some wine with our evening meals though, which wasn’t possible during our visit at the end of season due to an issue with the licence or supplies.
Due to the large number of pre-planned activities on our tour we didn’t have the opportunity to try out the pool or spa facilities, which looked fine.
We stayed in several very good hotels and resorts during our trip to Kerala but the Shalimar Spice Garden was one of the best and we will have lasting pleasant memories of our short stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, General Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Shalimar Spice Garden - Really a natural resort on the jungle. Our stay at Shalimar is fentastic and it is situated on natual spice garden. The staff and services are very good. The rooms are excellant.

We will come back and stay more nights in Shalimar

Room Tip: Elegant Cottages are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKV151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Recently we spent three days at the Shalimar Spice Garden Hotel in Thekkady, India. This off-the-beaten- path area near the Periyar Tiger Reserve is well worth the visit if one wants a relaxing but interesting time in the northeast part of Kerala State. The property is nicely landscaped and the entrance is like walking into ShangriLa. Down steps from the parking area and across a wooden bridge to the main lobby area.
The housekeeping is excellent and the rooms large, very well lit and each boasted an outdoor sitting area. Surrounded by the forest the animals sounds were change from honking horns of the big cities. Bathrooms are a good size, excellent hot water and water pressure. The one restaurant has a wide selection of both Indian local and international dishes. The breakfast, included with the room rate was a la carte and portions certainly adequate.
There were only five rooms or so occupied in late April 2013 which meant after a morning at the Tiger Reserve, the pool was ours to enjoy. Will say they could have increased sales if someone from the restaurant had come by to see if any beverage or food was required when at the pool. Room service was efficient and generally the waiter from the resistant. Price reasonable and service good all round.
I would certainly return to the Shalimar Spice Garden if my travels plans again called for that area of India.
Kent Maury

Room Tip: There are bungalows type accommodation near the pool. Also to access rooms one has to walk up steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTraveller069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.4 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
618 reviews
2.3 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
2.3 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
805 reviews
1.8 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
1.7 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway

Property: Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Address: Murikkady | Periyar, Thekkady 685535, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bridge to Shalimar, over a mountain stream meandering through the resort, transcends you to another world, seemingly untouched by man. Shalimar Spice Garden is a celebration of scents and colours. Pepper vines snake through your room balconies, butterflies dance to the sound of silence and orchids smile into your windows every morning. This Sublime Journey through waterfalls, tea estates, spice & vegetable plantations, and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary only enhances the invitation to live the Shalimar experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Spice Garden Hotel Kumily
Shalimar Spice Garden Thekkady
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing