We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

A piece of heaven in a crowded and touristic city. Staff is excellent, food is amazing and the setting lost in the middle of the jungle is enchanting. We also tried the Ayurveda centre which was very professional.
Definately recommend it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    127
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
75
220
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

You just cant ask for a better accommodation if you are in Thekkady.
The Shalimar Spice Garden has some standard luxury rooms and elegant cottages with a royal spa..

They are absolutely uptown for people with elegant taste, are making benchmark and standards in the hospitality field, perfect reason to chill while on vacation.

Our stay was awesome, we stayed for 3 nights. I am truly satisfied.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asish1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

On first impression this hotel has the charm you would expect for a hill site retreat, but there are a number of issues which may spoil your stay. These are:
1. While the staff are friendly when we visited they had lost a couple of key employees, this meant prompt service was lacking,
2. Rooms are basic (and don;t have a TV in the room) and can be cold if you are visiting in December, but there is a fan heater in the room but this is not powerful enough to heat the bathroom,
3. If you are a light sleeper then you will be woken up by drumming which starts at 11:00pm and finishes at 1:00am, then singing which starts at 5:00am.
4. Free wifi only works at reception, we tried to get wifi working in the room but gave up and the staff did have the technical knowledge to fix the problem
4. Visiting in super peak season this hotel is very expensive for the facilities it offers, try booking your trip out side of the super peak season.
Besides the friendly staff, evening meal was very tasty, breakfast was OK but could do with more variety.
The hotel could address all the above problems except for drumming and singing as this emanates from the temple which is less than 1km away for the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 16 and 17 are the best rooms in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nahor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley On Thames
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for three nights and loved everything!
We received a lovely welcome after a long drive from Kochin and loved our peaceful room. We enjoyed every meal and were attentively looked after by very helpful staff. The pool was lovely and we thought the Ayurvedic treatments were excellent and also very reasonably priced.
We used the hotel driver Joji to take us to the Connemara Tea Plantation and also to some lovely Spice Gardens where we were shown around by a lovely lady called Sheena. Joji also took us to the Peryar Game Reserve and collected us too, he gave us lots of information on the park and Kumily.
We particularly enjoyed the open fire in the lounge on chilly evenings.
Special thanks to Anish in the restaurant, Shirley who arranged our trips and taxi to Alleppey and was always friendly and smiling, also Thomas on the front desk and Mr Jureesh the Manager.
We much enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had just one night here and wished we were staying longer. We had the best room, with its own private garden, surrounded by spice plants and birds. Dancing in the evening was lovely and the food was well prepared and presented. Too far from town to walk out in the evening, but a lovely location deep in the spice gardens.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jegsweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that your stay at Shalimar Spice Garden met your expectations.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and attention to detail and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a two night stay here in the middle of December 2012. Location and grounds are stunning and the staff are very polite and the service is friendly and attentive. Rooms - we initially paid for an "Elegant" room which is set up above the reception and public area of the hotel. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated but the bathroom really let the room down. It was dated and on one level so completely flooded every time that you had a shower. There was no light over the mirror to so my wife struggled with lady things like hair & make up etc.
Public and restaurant areas and the pool were lovely and made you feel that you were in a lovely tranquil spot. Restaurant - We ate there on the 1st night of our stay. It was very quiet indeed with only another family present. The service was painfully slow and the food very average indeed. I had a chicken curry and had three pieces of chicken that was on the bone and was literally bone with no meat. Not impressed with the food I made a complaint to the waiter.
We were offered an upgrade the day after and moved to the honeymoon cottage. Now this was fantastic.. A lovely room with great decor and an amazing bathroom too. This I would give 5 stars too. Really enjoyed it in here. With regards to other reviews about the chanting.... Yes there is some very early in the morning but you are in India aren't you - get over it.
One word of note - NO alcohol is served at all here but you can bring your own. Great hotel & location but needs more care and attention to detail with rooms and really needs to bring the food and restaurant service up to a better level.

Room Tip: We got upgraded free to the Honeymoon cottage - Very nice !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSmashedGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. It was wonderful having you with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our location, staff and Honemoon Cottage. In the same time, we have noted that you are quiet disappointed with the bath room & some lighting issues in Elegant Room (where you initially stayed). Please note that we couldn’t complete the bathroom up-gradation (mainly glass partition) in some of the Elegant Rooms, because of the high occupancy and the same we are planning to complete before June,2013 (when we have less occupancy). Also we have noted your concern about the chicken curry, but the traditional chicken curries are with bone (Normally we always ask the guest about the preference, bone OR boneless – if that not happened, our sincere apology).


Once again, thank you for your helpful suggestion.

We look forward to welcoming you next time and we assure you the best of service.


Warm Regards

Gireesh | Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Recently stayed in. Very small place and when busy kitchen could not cope. Had a Superior room here. Very small room and bedding and room smelt terribly of mould. Bathroom very old and all on one level with no bath and as the shower had no curtain, the room flooded every time we used it. Setting for Hotel was stunning but we suffered from drumming and chanting from the local temple at 4.30 am every day for a couple of hours. Left very disappointed with our stay. We visited 6 hotels on this trip and this was the worst. Staff were really wonderful and tried very hard to please.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1963london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gireesh297636, Manager at Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. It was wonderful having you with us. First of all, we apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. We have noted points and we are planning to upgrade the bath room in Elegant Rooms (the standard room, which you stayed)before June 2013 . We already completed the up-gradation in other higher categories, but we couldn’t complete some of the Elegant Rooms, due to the high occupancy. Regarding the sound from the local temple, it is actually the temple festival, which happens only once in a year.

Regards

Gireesh
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.8 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
1.9 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#1 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.8 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
1.9 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway

Property: Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Address: Murikkady | Periyar, Thekkady 685535, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#7 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bridge to Shalimar, over a mountain stream meandering through the resort, transcends you to another world, seemingly untouched by man. Shalimar Spice Garden is a celebration of scents and colours. Pepper vines snake through your room balconies, butterflies dance to the sound of silence and orchids smile into your windows every morning. This Sublime Journey through waterfalls, tea estates, spice & vegetable plantations, and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary only enhances the invitation to live the Shalimar experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Spice Garden Hotel Kumily
Shalimar Spice Garden Thekkady
Shalimar Spice Garden - An Amritara Private Hideaway Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing