We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a walking Tour”

Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$606.00*
and up
4-Night Best of Kerala Tour
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Take a walking Tour”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Although the park is very busy a walking tour really feels that you are away from the crowds. We spent a magic half hour sitting on a hill watching wild elephants feeding

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    240
    167
    70
    54
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Getting close to Nature”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We went on one of the first jungle walks of the morning-any later and I would imagine the crowds spoil any experience. Lots of interesting birds, a wild elephant in the distance, thousands of frogs and various exotic plants. A little disappointing in that we did not see more mammals but nevertheless a lovely walk.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Experience the Wildlife on their own land”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This was a first of a kind experience for me and my wife. Seeing the wild in the wild, uninhibited. You watch them from a safe distance and they are undisturbed by the human antics as well. So, possibly the best way to enjoy the nature and it's offerings

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pacchhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent bamboo rafting”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had been to Thekkady for a short family trip. We were recommended the bamboo rafting trip by quite a few people so we decided to go ahead with it.
Now for the pluses: It was just too good. The trip started around 8AM after gathering at the office of the forest people. There they explained the details of the trip to all of us with instructions. We started off with a short walk and crossed the river by a small raft. Then started the long walk through the forest and it was dense. We rarely spotted any animals, just a herd of wild elephants who appeared aggressive so we had to move out hastily. We also saw a couple of black monkeys. After the walk, we had bamboo rafting for quite some time wherein you get a chance to row too. You row out to a distant place, have your lunch, walk again in the jungle where if you are lucky, you may get some more animal sighting. And then your row back and walk again till your reach the starting point. It really is a beautiful experience where you get a chance to see unpolluted nature at its best.
Minuses: The details of the trip should be highlighted during the advertisement itself. It is not for people who are unable to make long treks. There is long walking involved so you need to be geared up accordingly with appropriate clothes and less weight to carry. There is danger of leech bites too, my daughter had 4 leech bites, so need to be told about what to wear. They give you boxes of packed breakfast and lunch and you have to carry them yourselves through out the whole trip. The food is very dry and mainly consists of bakery good and by the time you sit to lunch, you notice the things are very soggy and uneatable. Too dry. They should give the food where there is a camping site. It can be freshly prepared. No tea is served at all which would be most welcome and appreciated considering you are in the tea pocket of the country. For 2000 bucks they should be giving more.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ashray70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb...”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Overall Thekkady experience was awesome...it was started with Jeep safari where we traveled in thick forest with TN and Kerala borders on both sides. After that we did lot of shopping and visited spice gardens. Rangerwood is one of best resorts to stay here. Overall it was nice experience...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kumar292014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 

Been to Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing