We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gavi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary

Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$606.00*
and up
4-Night Best of Kerala Tour
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gavi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Periyar lake is beautiful... though we did not do a boat ride. We felt that visit to gavi was much more fruitful, we did forest walk, did boat ride with a local boy and also went to a small waterfall. Our local guide was good and had lots to talk about culture and local trees. I think the forest walk made the best impression and the fact that we had a lovely guide, made our day.

I would recommend this, if you are in periyar.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lucy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    237
    162
    70
    52
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a real let down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

since you have to make quite an effort to get to Periyar it is trully a big let down once you get there and there are hardly any animals to be seen (2 kingfisher birds)...we took the morning boat at 07:30 AM which is a huge one and if you get the seats near the middle of the boat you can not see anything anyway...this was on February 28th and it was freezing cold in the morning, small children crying due to unexpected cold and parents unprepared to give them comfort of some warm clothes...tourists on the boat soon realised this was a big dissapointment and made quite a few sarcastic jokes about the animals that weren't to be seen...the only positive thing about this sanctuary is that it is the ONLY unpolluted piece of land we have seen in south India and that was comfort to our eyes and nose.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julija P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not worth”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Waste of money, did not see any tigers or leopards. On the way back we saw elephants, but we should have done tiger reserve.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank saroj_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Boat through santuary? Sightings are improbable.AVOID.Try the jeep tour instead.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We did the boat ride through the sanctuary and it was more of a cruise on any other water body.. Too many people making too much noise, also only spotted some deer at very far distances !

Spotting a tiger / elephant via this mode is heavily improbable. Specially if you're just going to have the ride once on your 1 day stop at Thekaddy.

Try the jeep tour instead. Makes much more sense.

We spotted a few sambhar in our taxi on our way out of the sanctuary boundary, which was better than the sanctuary boat ride itself!

Helpful?
2 Thank Anandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nature Walk and Green Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had two amazing walks in the forest with tribal guides! Saw wild elephants, bison, wild boar and lots of amazing birds. Early morning is better because it is cooler. You need a ticket for the walk AND for the reserve! Don't turn up without both! And you get them from two different places. The walk tickets need to be booked in advance and the reserve ticket on the day.

Helpful?
1 Thank SueSExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 

Been to Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing