We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“organised and maintained but...”

Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$606.00*
and up
4-Night Best of Kerala Tour
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“organised and maintained but...”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The santuary is well maintained and the boat tours are well organised. It is recommended to take the afternoon tours....more wildlife visible. Also the afternoon boat rides are longer.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank HNAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    240
    167
    71
    55
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but not very orderly”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great place, amazing scenery. I really reccommend the boat trip. Well worth the money.

The place is fantastic, but for a tiger reserve, there is very little security. Not even a fence around the tourist areas! In all farness, there are less than 50 tigers on the reserve, so this is little cause for concern.
The whole place is optimized for the "green crowd". Ecotourists, wildlife conservationists, nature lovers, etc. As such, there are indiscriminate signs proclaiming "trees are the answer", "save the elephants", and such.
I went on the boat tour (which charges for bringing cameras). It is well worth it, and you get an amazing view of wildlife. Book a tour for sunrise or sunset, since this is when animals come out to drink (Bit of a James Bond quote there; Die another day).

Nice Place!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sporelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Abbas- enhancing your experience of Kumily”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

India can be overwhelming at times but being greeted off the bus by a Abbas, a member of the District Tourism Promoting Council made every aspect of our trip to Kumily and Periyar national park much easier and much more exciting. He has 2 properties in Kumily (Kumily is the nearest town to the entrance of the park) and both his local knowledge and his English are excellent and his tuctuc is a welcome sight at the end of a long trek on the quest for elephants. I can't recommend enough contacting Abbas to enhance your trip to the area. His two properties (homestays) are lovely, clean, private and very central. He leads ecotours of the area, plantation tours and has great connections to the vast array of other activities in the area. His email: abbasttga@gmail.com. He simply wants others to experience the joys of his hometown and of these there are many.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank wizzielinter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Damp Squib”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We took the Launch Service to visit the place and all we got to see was deer and pigs. The tickets are tough to get and one has to rach really early to be sure of getting them. For the whole trip it was raining and the Launch had almost no protection excluding tarps!
Waste of a good 2 Hrs Waiting and 2 Hrs on the boat!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Sougata_Nupur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great trekking”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

After a disappointing boat ride (rupees 45 + 300 for park entrance) whixh I wouldn't advise to anyone if they wish to see wildlife as the boat is very loud and smells like diesel, my partner and I decided to do a 3 day treck offered by the ecocenter in kumily.

Saw lots of animals and was a great experience, the guards really knew their stuff and they cooked us a wonderful meal.

As it was the wet season in the period in which we visited the forest was full of leaches, however these weren't around the camp.

Perhaps the trek is not for everyone as it is quite expensive (8000 rps for two people) and not as confortable as a hotel room, but the amount you get to see and learn well makes up for the trouble!!

Like others we saw bison, monguse, various primates, birds, wild boar, and most importantly elephants!!! no tigers I'm afraid :(

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank dcheese111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 

Been to Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing