We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Bamboo Cafe

Bamboo Cafe
Ranked #8 of 39 Restaurants in Thekkady
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
650 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Not great food, cater for tourists so tone down the spice I think! Biggest factor was cost, for this type of place it should be much cheaper. We were disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    105
    36
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good meal”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Don't judge on apperarence , the food is good, went twice both occasions food and service good.
Novel tasting tea but if that's how it has to be drunk who cares had two pots to check flavour.
Naan bread was also good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fletch010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Looks uninviting, but thanks to our drivers recommendation good meal and very cheap and a lovely cup of tea!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! well recommended

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mirk8Northumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food but costly”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Food is good but costly.
Service is not so good. we took a tea we saw a mosquito in that and complained to the manager. He change the tea but took the charges for two cup tea. I think this is not right thing.

Helpful?
Thank ubaid_ur_rahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Tea for two?”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Yes-- tea for two arrived in a teapot but it was of alcoholic nature and drinking beer from teacups was certainly different.But if you want beer this is the only way.Enjoyed the food and we visited the cafe twice and the quality was consistently good.Quick service in modest surroundings but at give away prices.
Recommended but we did stick to prawn and vegetarian dishes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank regora186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Cafe also viewed

Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 
Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 
Thekkady, Idukki District
 

Been to Bamboo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing