We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful find , fantastic food .”
Review of Bamboo Cafe

Bamboo Cafe
Ranked #7 of 39 Restaurants in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
West Lothian
Level Contributor
145 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Wonderful find , fantastic food .”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were in Kumily at Jungle Palace last night , found Bamboo cafe just along the road , set back a bit from main road . Great find , food was superb , service good and nice tea !!! . If near , make the Bamboo your choice , doesn' t look much , but oh the food .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Collor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    103
    35
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell
Level Contributor
392 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“bijoux bamboo”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We saw a group of people leaving the night before, saying what a good meal they had, so we thought we would give it a try. It has an appealing rustic ambience, a bamboo hut with white tablecloths and pretty lights. We passed a tandoor on the way in where kebabs were being prepared, and my chicken tikka was delicious. The veg curries were also good, and the nan. All in all a good experience, slightly more expensive than some of the restaurants around, but worth it for the food, setting and cheery service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

By the looks of it, this restaurant lacks everything in terms of looks or ambiance. However, let that not stop you from eating here. As the reviews tell, besides food being good, this place serves awesome tandoori items. Naans (butter and garlic) were soft. Gravy dishes were spicy but we loved it (we eat lots of spice). Ordered macaroni for kids and that was a let down. Overall, nice experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank smita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best oven in town”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Well worth trying this place. The tandoori chicken was the best I have ever had. Friendly staff and a good atmospher especially when the power is gone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
Level Contributor
159 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nomore!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Thekkady is a very touristic place but it doesn't mean that the tourist has to be treated bad. This restaurant is nice, just behind the main road. The menu is rich and complete. The food, is more than twice the normal price, the quality is the same. The service is really bad, and the owner was also aggressive when I asked my rice after 40 minutes waiting... Bad side of India.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Cafe also viewed

Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 
Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 
Thekkady, Idukki District
 

Been to Bamboo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing