We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class location, service and ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

It was really a different experience to live in "Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holiday Resort". Location is also so extreme and wildy....! Totally wooden construction gave us a feel like a Royal treatment in Jungle.... Very polite and enthusiastic staff service. 100% cashback. Just go n enjoy......

Room Tip: Any room will be superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kunalanilpatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 404 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

All room given to me and my family were close to resorts dumping place. Nothing was done immediately, Even after complaining to management. I felt I was staying in slum. Also Swimming pool did not had kids pool, So family with kids needs to think twice.

Total waste of my trip ....

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from dumping area before doing the booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ronakzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Thekkady - Woods n Spice.

We're concerned about the issues that you have raised in your feedback regarding unsatisfactory allocation of rooms and the pool area. We have conducted an investigation on the same and are sorry to know that you had to bear the brunt of our cleanliness drive in the adjacent rooms. We'd like to inform you that we do allow for change of rooms on request, subject to availability.

Holidays with Sterling are replete with happy experiences. We request you to overlook this incident as an aberration of our usual standards and give us another opportunity to serve you to the best of our standards.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Well maintained property, ideally located outside the crowded area. Staff are definitely courteous and well mannered. The suggestions by holiday activity are useful and one can save money to book the forest tour through them.

Room Tip: The extreme corner room is large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Talhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This resort woods n spice located in prime area. All services rendered by them are hospitality.This resort has a good tasty restaurant and verity of menu.Ambiance of the resort is good and low noise and pollution.

Room Tip: First floor in top of the reception is good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sundharam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Well maintained and very beautiful location. The entire staff was very friendly & helpful in arranging the sightseeing and made sure we were comfortable during the stay. The room provided was big enough and had all the required amenities. The only draw back was the food which is overpriced.

Room Tip: Corner room on the first or 2 nd floor in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mahendraraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Beautiful, well-maintained property. We arrived very early in the morning and there was no room available but the staff ensured we were comfortable in the waiting area till one was vacated. The wood-panelled room we stayed in was very quaint and cosy. The food was good but a bit overpriced. If you're intending to have all meals at the resort it makes sense to go for the combos they have on offer. Well located, as it is not very far from the shopping and trekking areas, and there's a rickshaw stand at the bottom of the lane on which the property is situated. The pool was very clean and well maintained. We didn't get in because the water was very cold, but it was a nice place to relax around.

Room Tip: We wanted a cottage as they overlook the forest reserve but they were all full. The guest rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AchalaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Woods N Spice resort is on a hill top, quite and peaceful. Well maintained and clean, offering quality food.

The rooms were kept very clean and the bathroom linen were changed every day.

The swimming pool looked inviting though we didn't use it. The spa was a wonderful experience, staffed with experienced and courteous people.

The long distance and steep road necessitates the use of a vehicle, easily arranged by the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eskayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#19 of 44 in Thekkady
888 reviews
1.5 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
0.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 44 in Thekkady
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#23 of 44 in Thekkady
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 44 in Thekkady
1,157 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#14 of 44 in Thekkady
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: Near Amalambika School, Mangaladevi Road | Idukki District, Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $42 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woods n Spice is the latest addition to the Sterling Holidays resort network. An Associate Resort in the Sterling Holidays chain, Woods n Spice is located near the perimeter of the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. It is designed to blend into the natural beauty of Thekkady's famed evergreen forests and rolling grasslands and allows guests to truly experience living in the wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing