We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed in Wood n Spice- Sterling Resort for one night. The rooms are small but the all wooden look and feel makes it look good and different.
Resort is half a km away from Periyar Sanctuary entrance and also from Thekkady main town. They have in-house facility for indoor games.
Although we did not have food in resort but the restaurant was looking good, again having a very woody look.
The swimming pool was closed and was dirty may be due to rainy season.

Room Tip: Rooms are small. Better to get a room on first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raghav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    149
    73
    28
    21
See reviews for
210
106
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Patna, India
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

we got this booking through make my trip at good price.
very nice resort .
and best thing was very nice room in front of pool.
and very very excellent breakfast.
i must tell u should stay in it.
u can book all day activites from travel desk of sterling.
i am telling you... this is place to relax.

Room Tip: take cottage in front swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRpushkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

we stayed two days in thekkady at here as part of monsoon kerala package.
junior suit located best and carries very good comfort level.
front desk staff nd travel desk people do their best to give best hospitality experience.
absolutely value for money place. for two days stay.
food is also very decent.
Highly recommended !

Room Tip: junior suite with pool view has one side huge windows. makes feel fresh nd sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swatiprinceshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The property lies right next to the Periyar wildlife sanctuary and the surrounding area is very calm and peaceful. It has compact wooden cottages cluttered in a small area of land. The resort itself is well maintained and the food is decent. The management is also helpful and informative about the local attraction. Overall a decent staying option in Thekkady.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Csonthalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Value for Money, next to the Wild life sanctuary. The Resort is in quiet place & have a nice swimming pool & spa. Had a nice massage. Front office Staffs are ok ok... Food is good but expensive. The Travel Desk is too helpful, they arranged us trekking , which is still cherishing me than the stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baluganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The resort is very close to the main hub of thekkady and yet away in a way to offer peace and quiet.Found it to be a very charming cottage like experience which made it very different from plush and spacious resorts elsewhere.Though the room which we were put up in was quite small and limited space to move around,no microwave or dining table provided,the staff charmed us right away.I found some bugs on the bed and complained to the reception and within half an hour the housekeeping came and spayed the room and replaced the comforter on which the bugs were found and the entire 3 days we stayed I did not find any other bug.However we visited in the middle of may and the weather was soo humid and stuffy inside the rooms which was inefficiently met by just a fan.However we came to know that the management was planning on putting up a/cs soon which I feel is a necessity.

The restaurant is charming as well as having smiling and efficient staff.We found the food o.k but he chef and staff is excellent and hopefully they will introduce some authentic kerala dishes too in the menu in future.
The travel desk was helpful and procured great seats for us for the kathakali and kalaripayuthu shows.Also arranged for the elephant ride booking.
We used the pool to play in and relax and enjoyed the experience.However the water was cold at first so took some time to get used to the temperature difference.
I booked a massage and got pampered by Francy, the masseuse wonderfully.
Thanks to the entire staff for a wonderful time in a beautiful and relaxing setting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naturelover0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

It is one of best hotel I have visited. It has a very good natural atmosphere, indoor games, nice co-operative staff, excellent food. One must visit this hotel especially along with family. It is a dream come true to be relaxed at such a place, without any worries of work and tension.
In short the hotel is a " TENSION RELEASER ". Nothing more could one ask for.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devang D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
618 reviews
0.6 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
418 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#27 of 43 in Thekkady
76 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#18 of 43 in Thekkady
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Near Amalambika School, Mangaladevi Road | Idukki District, Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woods n Spice is the latest addition to the Sterling Holidays resort network. An Associate Resort in the Sterling Holidays chain, Woods n Spice is located near the perimeter of the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. It is designed to blend into the natural beauty of Thekkady's famed evergreen forests and rolling grasslands and allows guests to truly experience living in the wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing