We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Value, Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

All in all our stay at Sterling Woods and Spice was enjoyable. For around 50USD a night, we felt we got our money's worth.

Thekkady in general is a great place to decompress. The weather is great and there is just enough to do that you won't be bored but also won't feel overwhelmed.

The accommodations were comfortable. We stayed in a cottage near the pool. The room was charming - not too big but not too small. The bathroom was a bit on the small side with no separate space for the shower. But this was more than made up for by the comfortable bed and overall ambiance of the trip.

The staff was incredibly friendly. They saw to our every need and made sure we had a good time.

Just one point for single travelers or people traveling with friends. This place is a very family-centric resort. My friend and I didn't mind this at all because we like kids. But there are a lot of family activities that aren't geared toward young adults. If you can get over this... you are set.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    150
    76
    28
    21
See reviews for
214
107
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

If you are a Sterling timeshare member, this is the best place to stay at while in Thekkady . However, as Thekkady is a small place, one should not plan for a stay for more than 2 days within which all the attractions that this place offers can be covered easily . The Resort is located at the end of a small lane, just at the entrance to the Periyar Forest Reserve . On our visit, we were accommodated in a wooden cottage ( small size ) , close to the swimming pool . The check in procedures were efficient and the staff was quite courteous . Except for the boat ride tickets , the Resort sells tickets for elephant rides, visit to the Elephant Junction as well as the Kalari show which takes place in the evening . The food is varied and delicious and the quality of breakfast reasonably good . Ronny, Vinod and Kapil at the Restaurant /Front Office took good care of us. This Resort is not as beautiful and grand as the Sterling Kodai by the Lake in Kodaikanal, 4 and half hours away , still you get good value for your money .

Room Tip: Accommodation should poreferably be obtained in one of the cottages close to the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrArunAgrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Decided to go to thekkady as I was in Theni (60 kms from here) and I booked online for 2 families.
Price was good when compared to the resorts in Thekkady, resort has most of the amenities one will look for, a good kitchen, swimming pool, holiday activities etc.

Checkin was smooth, I wanted to upgrade one of our rooms to a suite which they did. Restaurant did not have much choices which was a a concern, they did not even have south Indian food. Typically I would like to taste some of the Kerala dishes which I did not have the opportunity.

Holiday activities department did a good job. They have a TT and a pool table and most of the indoor games kids will love to. In fact our major relief was here as the kids were happy and that's one of the reason we did not move out for food in spite of the high cost of the restaurant. I also would like to mention that the breakfast buffet was good as they had a good spread.

Positive points
1. Price (Around Rs. 3000 a day with breakfast)
2. Service (Most of the guys were really good, particularly the team in the restaurant, one of the reason why we went there in spite of the cost and lack of variety)
3. Location (Quite green, inside the town)
4. Holiday activities
5. Good swimming pool

Negative.
1. No Bar (I think this is a must)
2. No variety in the restaurant
3. Credit cards did not work. This is something really bad. I had carried enough cash and hence the check out was fine.

Overall it was a good stay. I am sure with the kind of team they have they can make it best if they work out on the negative items.

Room Tip: Choose the cottages which are good. Avoid second floor if you have elderly people Avoid the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChennaiChandramohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It was my First visit to Thekkady....which was excellent(Luxurious suits) ...We really had a great time at sterling Woods and Spice,completely different from other resorts(jungle theme) and enjoyed the amazing spicy food ....Hospitality is awesome and the rooms are spacious...bt am nt very much happy with Spa....,The climate was excellent and environment was so calm and quite. The beauty of nature seen here is really great!!!!
Final word can maximum stay here for not more than 2 days as there are not many things to experience at the resort .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vina020612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

STRICTLY Do not plan anything here. JUST chill-out. Rooms are small in size and no way you can have an extra bed. We stayed in the cottages with dim lights. Service is well below the expectation (unless you ask for it, nothing will come to you!!). We stayed 3 days and the quality of food on the 1st day was poor and they improved in the 2nd and the final day after repeated request. Good maintained swimming pool on the flat 4~5 1/2 feet height. Overall experience "Do not ask for anything, you take everything with you and enjoy". We made our day on the swimming pool playing Volleyball. It was a different experience playing in pool and in a rainy climate!!.

Room Tip: Look out for a mosquito bites in the cottages. Ask for the mosquitoes repellent. If you are going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaipur
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The resort is small but has a nice swimming pool. I am a sterling member . During check-in they provided us with a suite :) . The rooms are all wooden with dim lights. Take the package to Gavi forest reserve from the reaort only. Its a MUST ! The package includes open jeep drive through dense forest , boating , trekking , breakfast and lunch. It costs around 1000 per person and extra 1500 for jeep.
Elephant ride and kathakali dance are nice .
The food was overly priced with not much variety so we tried at other restaurants in the city.
Overall it was a nice experience staying there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yash k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We are a sterling member and have stayed in many Sterling resorts across the country. This is a newly purchased property by Sterling Holidays and doen't match with other resorts. The rooms are quite small and difficult to accomodate one extra bed. The food is not good serving less than half items compared to Sterling Munnar resort at the same prices. There is no proper recreational area for kids and no other events. We booked for two days and just passed the time over there. It's just a normal hotel, not the resort. Overall it was a below expectations experience first time with Sterling resorts.

Room Tip: Cottages near pool are good in size and offer better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jain_sandeep74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#16 of 43 in Thekkady
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,102 reviews
2.3 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
449 reviews
1.5 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: Near Amalambika School, Mangaladevi Road | Idukki District, Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woods n Spice is the latest addition to the Sterling Holidays resort network. An Associate Resort in the Sterling Holidays chain, Woods n Spice is located near the perimeter of the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. It is designed to blend into the natural beauty of Thekkady's famed evergreen forests and rolling grasslands and allows guests to truly experience living in the wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing