We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt like we were back at home!”
Review of Mickey's Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mickey's Homestay
Ranked #20 of 137 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Upon arrival, Sujatha (the owner of this homely little compound), welcomed us with warm tea, 2 slices of pineapple (they were so sweet and good!) and so much zest in her greeting that we felt recharged after the 4hour bus ride from Madurai. She was very friendly, always asking about our day, stopping to chat and laugh with us.

Our room was located upstairs at the rear building. The room was clean, lovely and simple but with an artistic touch here and there. We love the carvings on the door! And also the rattan armchairs right outside our room where we could lounge and read in privacy. One thing fantastic about this place is that there was hot shower 24/7, thanks to the solar panels (or something of that sort - I didn't really bother to figure the science out) they have installed. The only thing that really bothered us were the mozzies (they need to replace their tattered and torn mosquito net). But if you close they windows before 6pm, it should be able to keep most of the mozzies away.

And although there was no meals were provided, there is Chrissie's (fantastic breakfast) and Spice Garden (great service and one of the best dinners we had in India!) just next door. Don't forget to make a trip to Abraham's spice garden and also the tea plantation & factory. Very informative and educational. :)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alienshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 102 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2009

Mrs Murali, the host, is a lovely warm and friendly lady. She initially put us in the wrong room, having confused us with another booking, but that was quickly rectified. We stayed in the best rooms and it was cozy and clean, with an excellent shower.
The only blips were as following:
1. There seemed to be some sort of slug nest in the sink (ground floor room), and we had to remove 3 slugs on 3 different occasions from the sink area. NOT pleasant.
2. There are no views from the room. I understand some other places just along the road (Greenview?!) have really good views and balconies for a lower tariff.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zippylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

What a wonderful place! Large, clean and comfortable rooms, most with their own bathroom and balcony. We found the owners to be extremely accommodating, friendly and polite. They could not do enough for us, including letting us phone home on their phone, as it was much cheaper than using our mobiles. Please don't let other reviews put you off, Mickey Home stay is exactly what it says... a stay in Mickey's home, where you will be made to feel like one of the family. Close proximity to local shops, restaurants and tiger reserve. All round - Good Value

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mar10BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We were given an exceptionally warm welcome from the hostess. We had a room on the upper floor, at the rear, with a balcony overlooking the small courtyard garden. We sat on the balcony and watched a variety of beautiful birds feasting on the papaya on the tree directly in front of the balcony. Just perfect and so relaxing after a 5 hour drive from Kochin. The room was clean and comfortable, with shower bathroom and plentiful hot water. Ate dinner up the road at Chrissies, and simple but good breakfast on our balcony. Thoroughly recommend this homestay. Was disappointed with Periyar Reserve. Loads of tourists and no animals to be seen. Friend had been on the treks and saw nothing. We went on the lake trip. The water level only just allowed th boat to chug around the depleted lake, and we saw only a few cormorants and a couple of wild boar. If you want a wildlife experience, forget it! It is rumoured that a tiger was last seen there 6 years ago. It obviously does not like mass tourism.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiseowl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Mickey's homestay is a fantastic place to stay. Located a short 5 minute walk from town & bus station, close to post office , internet cafe, and shops. A very clean and spacious ensuite room, large comfy bed & warm blankets, beautiful white fluffy towels!
The excellent hot water shower a blessed relief, as Kumily is much cooler than the coast. The charming hosts were very helpful with advice & transport and the tropical garden setting gorgeous ( a pair of hornbills eating papaya right outside our window).
We were thoughtfully offered a daily discount if we ate breakfast out, of which we took advantage.
Cheap & quick laundry service available.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LeMarcheKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

The same experience as others. Don't bother with this place. You make an email booking and she will just give the room to whoever rolls up first. Forget this place and go up the road about 50 meters to Chrisse's. A much better place to stay and Ade? I think that's his name is the perfect host. He is honest and will take care of all your bookings and arrangements. The rooms are good and the food in the restaurant is excellent. Forget Mickey.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank KeeponKrusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

After reading reviews of this homestay in the Rough Guide, I contacted the owners by email and booked a room for one night. The rate was good, we corresponded by email agreed the date and I reconfirmed the booking. All of this was done about 6 weeks before our travel date. About 10 days before we flew to Kerala, I contacted all places of accommodation - initially by email and then by phone to confirm our booking. The owners of Mickeys confirmed our room - both by email and by phone. The morning we were due to travel to Kumily (from Munnar about 4.5 hours away) I rang Mickey's homestay to find out about where to get off the local bus, again they confirmed everything was fine and they were expecting us. 5 hours later we arrived at their door to be told by the lady owner that there had been a mistake and they had double booked our room and they had no where to put us. She brought us to her neighbours house and they had a bed which we use for the night for 500rs - bed only. As we were stuck we took this. It was poor to say the least - but cheap and clean (ish). During the day in Kumily we met a girl travelling on her own who had had a similar experience with this homestay, and also another couple.

Be very wary of booking with Mickeys - despite at least 4 assurances from them we were left stranded, along with at least 3 more people, If we had kown we would have not travelled from Munnar.

If you do go to Kumily - get the 7am boat trip around Periyar Lake - breathtaking, but avoid Mickeys at all costs.

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank Kerreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panthalams Homestay
Panthalams Homestay
#6 of 137 in Thekkady
236 reviews
0 mi away
Suresh Green View Homestay
Suresh Green View Homestay
#10 of 137 in Thekkady
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Monsoon Retreats Eco-Stay
Monsoon Retreats Eco-Stay
#5 of 137 in Thekkady
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spice Village
Spice Village
#4 of 45 in Thekkady
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mickey's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mickey's Homestay

Address: Periyar Park Bypass Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: $19 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mickey's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mickey's Homestay Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing