We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD PLACE TO STAY”
Review of Mickey's Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mickey's Homestay
Ranked #19 of 133 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Ideal location, clean room and friendly host.

Had kept in touch with this homestay well before arrival. and ensured confirmations made at time requested.

Owners made excusion reservations in advance for us which was extremely helpful for trip planning. when you are on an extremely tight schedule.

Meals not available but this was no problem as places to eat nearby.

No reason to give this homestay anything other than good scores.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 99 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2011

Last january we stayed for 3 days at Mickeys. The cottage was perfect, we felt directly at home. Murali and Sujatha understand what western people hope to find . A beautiful, clean cottage with owners who help you relax and explore. The tourguide they recommend is great and absolutely reliabel. Worth every roepia!

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank julesgroenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

We stayed 1 night and loved this place. It's away from the main drag so reasonably quiet and we had a good night's sleep.

A double room with outside bathroom (just across the roof terrace) cost only R600. The room was spacious, clean with mosquito net and private balcony with chairs. The owners were incredibly friendly and helped us find a room nearby for the 2nd night (they had already told us they only had availability for 1 night).

From Mickey's it's a 10min walk to the main gate of Periyar Wildlife Park and 5 mins to the Ecotourism Office where you can plan all your wildlife activities. Internet, cafes and shops are all within walking distance. Well worth the money.

thanks james & muneeza

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamerguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Arriving after a long drive from Cochin the peace and quiet of Mickeys was very welcome. Given the same room as I had previously had the year before I immediately felt at home. The beds (with good mosquito nets) are the most comfortable I have slept in India and the room rate great value. There was plenty of hot water thanks to solar panels on the roof. We could have done without the intrusion of a chap selling tours and trips as soon as we had arrived though.
The park at Periyar was heaving with tourists (mainly Indian) so I don't think it likely that much wildlife would be spotted. However we had a lovely walk from the main gate down to the lake.
We also did a trip to the local tea plantation and Mr Abraham's Spice Garden which I can thouroughly recommend.
Sujatha was helpful with arranging forward travel and accommodation and when we reached our next destination and realised that a pair of spectacles had been left in the taxi that had taken us from Periyar to Varkala she kindly tracked them down and couriered them to us.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ipy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We visit Kumily in the low season so turned up at mickey's cottage and were given a room with no problem. Our room was in the back garden of the house and was beautiful for the price. The were a few mozzies and insects in the room when we arrived, however the owner used a plug in mosquito repellant and a burning coil thing which helped and there is also a nice big, soft mosquito net over the bed. We had a wooden door carved with an image of Ganesh and a swinging seat outside with monkeys in the garden - a novelty for us but apparently can be a nuisance. The owner was very welcoming and brought us some homemade sweets. She introduced us to her neighbour who is a travel agent. I'm not sure how his prices compared to others but as we had limited time in Kumily we booked an elephant ride through him which was good. We later booked a spice tour with 'Go Wild' a travel agent in the town which was really good and we arranged a taxi back to Kottayam for 1500Rs with a really careful and friendly driver. (Anthony)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed here whilst visiting Periyer Wildlife Sanctuary and it was one of the cleanest and nicest places we’ve come across in India. After a hot and dusty bus journey from Munnar we were welcomed with a cup of tea and some information about the various guided tours of the nature reserve by the friendly owners. The beds were comfortable, the sheets white and clean, a generous sized bathroom with plenty of hot water and to top it all it had a private balcony with rattan furniture to lounge around in after trekking and exploring the area. The home stay is in a perfect location as it is in a quiet area but still close to restaurants and the main gate of the Wildlife Sanctuary. We can also recommend the Ambadi restaurant in the hotel with the same name nearby. We would definitely book again at Mickey’s next time we’re in Kumily.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank evaandmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Upon arrival, Sujatha (the owner of this homely little compound), welcomed us with warm tea, 2 slices of pineapple (they were so sweet and good!) and so much zest in her greeting that we felt recharged after the 4hour bus ride from Madurai. She was very friendly, always asking about our day, stopping to chat and laugh with us.

Our room was located upstairs at the rear building. The room was clean, lovely and simple but with an artistic touch here and there. We love the carvings on the door! And also the rattan armchairs right outside our room where we could lounge and read in privacy. One thing fantastic about this place is that there was hot shower 24/7, thanks to the solar panels (or something of that sort - I didn't really bother to figure the science out) they have installed. The only thing that really bothered us were the mozzies (they need to replace their tattered and torn mosquito net). But if you close they windows before 6pm, it should be able to keep most of the mozzies away.

And although there was no meals were provided, there is Chrissie's (fantastic breakfast) and Spice Garden (great service and one of the best dinners we had in India!) just next door. Don't forget to make a trip to Abraham's spice garden and also the tea plantation & factory. Very informative and educational. :)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alienshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#18 of 45 in Thekkady
413 reviews
0 mi away
Suresh Green View Homestay
Suresh Green View Homestay
#9 of 133 in Thekkady
336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panthalams Homestay
Panthalams Homestay
#7 of 133 in Thekkady
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dean Dale Cottages
Dean Dale Cottages
#4 of 133 in Thekkady
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coffee Inn
Coffee Inn
#23 of 133 in Thekkady
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thekkady Homestay
Thekkady Homestay
#17 of 133 in Thekkady
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mickey's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mickey's Homestay

Address: Periyar Park Bypass Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: $20 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mickey's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mickey's Homestay Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing