We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Homestay”
Review of Kerala House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kerala House
Ranked #9 of 122 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hidden off the road and behind another building this unassuming homestay was a revelation on opening the door to our room! Spacious, scrupulously clean with a balcony facing out onto the Periyar wildlife reserve. Shibu and his lovely wife welcomed us warmly and organized a multitude of small but important things that made our two night stay so memorable. I am an inveterate scribbler and between Treks, elephant washing, shopping etc I spent hours on the balcony keeping my diary up to date. The odd inquisitive black monkey kept us alert - they are known to make off with the odd shiny object left unattended, but we were warned! Breakfast and small lunches we left to their discretion and were never disappointed. It was thanks to our driver and friend Shumi - whom I dubbed the King of Kerala, that we came to Kerala House, and for those of you with limited time but a desire to see and enjoy as much of the area as possible I would recommend you to contact Sumi by mobile; +91 9847093735 or email: kovalamsumi@yahoo.in If staying at places like this was memorable, then finding Sumi to drive us for 6 days was the ultimate HIGHLIGHT of the entire 2 week trip to Kerala. Many thanks to Shibu and family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LennonAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Kerala House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 195 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

My Husband and I stayed for 4 nights to give us time to relax before moving on to Madurai. Shibu and his wife are lovely people and helped us arrange our onward journey. Shibu also replied promptly to our email booking
We had the top floor corner room which is very spacious with a large balcony where breakfast was served. It has a good view from the balcony across the wild life park where we saw birds, mongoose wild boar and buffalo.
The bathroom was spacious and clean and Shibu told us when we wanted the room cleaned just to ask, he was very helpful during our stay
Thank you Shibu & Family

Room Tip: top corner room large and sunny
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screennamechalky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This home stay was such a pleasant surprise. We had just stayed at a really nice heritage home and this place didn't look so amazing when our car pulled up to the front. When we were showed the rooms however, I was totally hooked! The view from the rooms is incredible. I stayed in the chair on the patio for hours. At sundown you can see the animals come out. The owners were hospitable and very sweet. The rooms were impeccably clean. We only stayed one night, but it would have been better to stay at least two. If you stay 2 nights you can arrange a full day in Periyar and do a guided hike which will show you much more of the reserve than we got to see.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellyfluous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Friends,
Myself and my family, consisting of my wife, our son and his wife and daughter, during our recent trip to Thekkady, had a pleasant stay in KERALA HOUSE, an excellent home-stay. The rooms are large and extremely neat and clean with all the latest amenities. The owners, Mr.Shibu and family, are so co-operative that you will feel 'at home'. They help you by providing breakfast, if necessary, arranging vehicles for your trips, etc. In short, it was a 'home away from home'. We strongly recommend KERALA HOUSE for your next trip to Thekkady.
- S.D. Benjamin, Mira Road, Mumbai.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indica_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Shibu couldn't have made arranging our stay easier. He responded promptly to email and as we required 2 rooms suggested that we book the second floor which was fantastic. The rooms were large and clean, each with en-suite and our balcony extended across both rooms with a view directly over the wildlife park. Breakfast was served on the balcony, watching the wild boar monkeys and buffalo. We stayed for four days including New Year's Eve as part of a two week family holiday in Kerala and was one of our highlights. Our only opportunity for wifi and thank you to Shibu and his wife for washing,drying and ironing our clothes. Shibu had arranged tickets for us to go on a trek including bamboo rafting which I would highly recommend. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkCookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We travelled as a family (10 people altogether) and Shibu was very kind to accomodate us with an extra room at the last minute even though I had not made it clear when booking. Most of our family stayed on the second floor and some in the house next door which Shibu had kindly arranged. The rooms are spacious and clean and the balcony on the second floor faces a wooded area which was a nice respite from the busy main road on the front of the property.
We did not hear much traffic noise from the road either; had really good sleep. Shibu provided good advice for seeing the various area attractions, for kerala spice shopping and also arranged tickets for a Kerala art dance program in town.

Many thanks for your hospitality!

Overall- satisfied!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manish Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here recently and can thoroughly recommend it as very good value for money!
It is in a super location only a few minutes walk to the main area and overlooking the Nature Reserve.
It is very clean and my room was lovely and light and spacious and the Internet was excellent!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jaqsta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#22 of 43 in Thekkady
143 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 43 in Thekkady
80 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#14 of 43 in Thekkady
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.5 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerala House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerala House

Address: Thekkady Lake Road | Idukki Disctrict, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: $21 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kerala House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WI-FI available rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kerala House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerala House Thekkady

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing