We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“si vous souhaitez une pause douceur dans la nature...c'est ici!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kerala House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kerala House
Ranked #8 of 110 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“si vous souhaitez une pause douceur dans la nature...c'est ici!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

6eme sejour en Inde..et ma pause de quelques jours s'est transformee en un BEAU sejour dans cette chaleureuse guesthe house
.La generosite, la disponibilite, le plaisir de satisfaire les hotes sont le quotidien de Shibu et de son epouse Rejani. Ici jamais de probleme....que des solutions
je vous recommande les chambres d'angle au 1er et top room... tres spacieuses ,confortables de litterie et de salle de bain
Si vousprenez le temps sur la grande terrasse avec un tai....antilopes,oiseaux inconnus et papillons seront vos voisins....et parfois quelques singes..(.plus peureux que voleurs)
Je suis a la veille de rentrer en France....et je mets dans mes bagages toute cette gentillesse et les sourirs...
JE VOUS SOUHAITE UN EXCELLENT SEJOUR INDIEN Chrissi

Room Tip: les chambres s'ouvrent sur pte jungle.... C'est super!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris_j380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    70
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
64
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Laulasmaa, Estonia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed at Kerala House for four nights and I was absolutely pleased with the hotel. Location was very good, only about five minutes walk from the gate of Periyar National Park. And you could enjoy scenic views to the park from your porch while sipping some cold drinks and watching exotic birds flying by. Rooms were really big, clean, freshly renovated and reasonably priced. As the rooms are facing the park, you won't get any street noises at night.
And the manager/owner Mr Shibu was immensely helpful and kind. As I was travelling as a solo woman, I had a bit of a hard time organizing park tickets etc, but Mr Shibu did everything to make my stay as pleasant as possible.
I would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vivian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed two nights at Kerala House in July, and loved everything about it. Spotless, HUGE room, very reasonable, with a lovely view of the wildlife sanctuary. Comfy beds, with nice heavy blankets, which is good because it can get cool at night when it rains. Sitting on the porch sipping milk tea in the rain was heaven. The family that run the place are very friendly and the service was first-rate. It's a very charming, peaceful oasis amidst the crowds and hubbub that characterize much of India.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jules_sontag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirunelveli, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Simply the best, economical ,nice location near to the lake, good morning buffet breakfast.There is always a chance of seeing the odd elephant or deer.only negative was the rooms they need to be a bit better

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

we originally where only going to stay at this homestay, for one night, but liked it so much we stayed for three, our beautiful room overlooked pirriya wildlife sanctuary, and woke up watching wild boars graze in the field ... also wild monkeys strolling on our wall ... it was magical..
room was spotless, and big .. and very reasonable, the food the family made us was gorgeous, better than most restaurants we had ate at, ... any advice for trips was given, and organised for you, with no problems at all .. also on site is a internet cafe which is really handy.. during our stay we went elephant trekking, walking to view point, bamboo rafting & day trekking at wildlife park, and where very lucky to see wild elephants..the wildlife park which is literally just 5 mins walk from this homestay, and a great Ayurvedic Massages, so great location also, will hopefully visit this place again in the coming future

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#20 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#19 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#12 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerala House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerala House

Property: Kerala House
Address: Thekkady Lake Road | Idukki Disctrict, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kerala House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WI-FI available rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kerala House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kerala House Thekkady

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing