We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funny and informative!”
Review of Bar-B-Que

Bar-B-Que
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brighton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Funny and informative!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great night with Sheril and his family learning to cook authentic chicken curry, pineapple curry, and parota which was so funny! Sheril has a great sense of humour and is an excellent cook and teacher. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cute73537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    27
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
350 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Good fun - the results weren't bad either”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Came here as a group for an evening of preparing, and then eating, a range of Keralan dishes. To begin with it was a bit cheesy but, with inhibitions loosened after a beer or two, everyone entered into the spirit of the evening. Slicing onions, beans and okra was a bit like standing in my own kitchen, but the making of paratha was good fun. The results weren't bad, but too bland for my palate.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank NED541287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
315 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good experience but average results”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I greatly enjoyed the process but it all seemed so incredibly complex for the end result - especially making parathas! The food tasted blander than I would have expected considering the variety of spices and the amount of labour involved. Finally, the (very nicely spiced) chicken was so overcooked it couldn't be enjoyed properly. Similarly with the fish - a delicately-flavoured butterfish was charred out of existence! But overcooking meat and fish seems to be a common habit in these parts so maybe that is how they like it (although the good fish restaurants cook it perfectly, so maybe it is just a sign of bad cooking). For the food, I'd have rated this place poor but it gets an average rating because the experience was fun.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JJHDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I visited this place in February, since i loved the idea and the cooking classes. Shirly was a great host and tried his best in making every one comfortable.
I would recommend this for each and every foody visiting Thekkaday.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruchiraruchira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“of the beaten track”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Most of the reviews here have been written here by tourists.
Very few have been written by indians.
i had some difficulty locating this place.fortunately my driver managed on the second day.
i contacted sheril (9895613036/9037762698) and arranged for a dinner for my family of four ( he normally combines it with cooking classes and has a capacity of 12). We got lucky.
The grilled chicken is a must have...so are the parothas.
The chicken curry was a little runny and not upto score.
We dont eat vegetarian stuff, so cannot comment on the vegetarian fare.
Please dont go expecting a restaurant, Its a house with outdoor seating...Sherils extended family works with him and are quite warm and friendly
If you are a tru blue foodie, you should dip in once..
A little tip, call sheril well in advance..the chicken need to marinate for a loooooong time

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bijoy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar-B-Que also viewed

Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 
Thekkady, Idukki District
 

Been to Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing