We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and quality”
Review of Konark Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Konark Homestay
Ranked #6 of 121 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We (me & my wife) stayed at konark homestay during our kerla trip, we did thekaddy, munnar, Trivandrum, kovalam, goa and so many other places, but Konark stay was the best time we spent among all the other accommodations.
the best thing about Konark is the kind of homely service they provide, just once call and the guy comes with an Auto & is ready to drop/pick u up to the nearby tourist locations, he provides info abt all the tourist attractions.
The cleanliness in the rooms is amazing,
If in future I happen to go to thekaddy, I wud surely stay @ Konark HomeStay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandarRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Konark Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 150 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

I know its late but i will go with adage of better late than never....
it's been almost 4 months, for variety of reasons couldn't update the review. The stay though not an extended one but it was indeed an unforgettable experience at Konark Home Stay. We had been their at the peak of the season (Christmas - New year ). 27th Dec'11 when we checked in around 4pm, we were welcomed by the humble family of Rajkumar. To refresh us they served us Tea which was just magical. All amenities were available for use. The view from the balcony is also refreshing.
Our daughter who was 2 years old usually doesn't get mixed with strangers was all playful with Rajkumar's family. Besides experiencing the beauty of Thekkady, we did spend good amount of time at Rajkumar's handicraft shop, did get some insights on Rudraksh (varieties of it were available for sale). We did buy few stuffs other than rudraksh.
All the family members were very warm, the services were exceptionally good.
Given a chance to go to Thekkady again, would certainly head to Konark Home Stay....

PS: They helped us get tickets to Kalaripayatu (Traditional Kerala Martial Arts) which is a must see... they offered to facilitate in getting tickets for jeep safari, we couldn't make it cause of the KID.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AjithSurendran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

.a most enjoyable few days at konark homestay.the room was very clean and comfortable,the water was hot, the food excellent and plenty and the view into the reserve a delight.one morning i watched a barking deer then a samba deer,snake bird and monkey,all for free.! ram and ladha were very good hosts and johdi`s smile would light up any day.this was one of the most enjoyable quiet and relaxing places i stayed in over the 4 weeks travelling around kerela and i would recommend this homestay to any traveller .it was very good value for monet and within a short walking distance of the reserve and the town.if i ever find myself back at periyar this is where i would choose to stay rather than some of the other well known and more reviewed establishments.james cameron

Room Tip: All rooms have access to a terrace overlooking the reserve with superb views
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed for 5 days and this time was very enjoyable.
From the balcony (where we had sumptuous breakfasts) we were able to watch all sorts of animals coming out of the bush and the homestay is very close to the entrance of the park.
The family is very helpful and enthusiastic and they know all about the interesting things one can do in the area and can organise it for you if you wish.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, maybe the location upstairs near the balcony is the best.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfox123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Rabuni and her husband Ramakrishnan proudly present their new home and family gift and artifact business at the front of the homestay which is kept in immaculate condition. It is uniquely placed on the boundary of the sanctuary with a great viewing terrace at the rear, which is available to all guests. We saw more wild life at sunset from the balcony than from any of our tours. Rabuni and her husband made themselves generously available to assist us with all aspects of our trip. They both speak English. Rabuni loves to cook so her Indian breakfasts were a bonus. A spotless bathroom, Hot showers, clean linen and a short stroll from the main eateries and township made this a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakerycafemernda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at konark! The owners are very friendly and helpful, they took very much care of us to make our stay unforgettable! We enjoyed the fantastic view from the terrasse and the food was just delicious homemade and autenthic south indian cuisin! We really recommend konark homestay!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bullbear83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Nice homestay with friendly people. Clean and spacious rooms, with good breakfast. The view from the balcony is very nice, it seems like you are in the jungle.
The wildlife sanctury is close from the homestay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JojannekeHoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.5 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#22 of 43 in Thekkady
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kerala House
Kerala House
#9 of 121 in Thekkady
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stay Melody
Stay Melody
#4 of 121 in Thekkady
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konark Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konark Homestay

Address: Lake Road | Periyar Tiger Reserve, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: $24 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home is located in the heart of Periyar Tiger Reserve, Thekkady which is 1 km from Kumily town (the bus station) to the sanctuary road. We have four well furnished and neat rooms. We pleasure to serve the very special Kerala homely food both veg. and non veg. We have only four rooms so we could provide our guest a comfortable and affordable accommodation, with an adorable friendly family atmosphere. We have a wild view pavilion for sighting of sambar deer, wild boar, barking deer, black macaque, red mangoose, Indian bat, birds, etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Konark Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konark Homestay Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing