We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very recommendable homestay!”
Review of Konark Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Konark Homestay
Ranked #8 of 134 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at konark! The owners are very friendly and helpful, they took very much care of us to make our stay unforgettable! We enjoyed the fantastic view from the terrasse and the food was just delicious homemade and autenthic south indian cuisin! We really recommend konark homestay!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bullbear83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 158 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2011

Nice homestay with friendly people. Clean and spacious rooms, with good breakfast. The view from the balcony is very nice, it seems like you are in the jungle.
The wildlife sanctury is close from the homestay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JojannekeHoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We (a group of 12 people) were in this hotel in October 2011. Really liked the atmosphere, nature. The place where the hotel is located is amazing. We were pleasantly surprised to see early morning wild deers, antelopes, pigs. Also we saw nimble mongoose and unusual beautiful birds.
We make a big bow masters at home. They are an amazing open and responsive people who are ready at any moment to answer the question, suggest, help or just listen.
From most hotels where we stayed while traveling in southern India - Konark homestay left most pleasant memories.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katya_and_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajkumarthekkady, Owner at Konark Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2011

thank you katya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Good place to stay in Kumily, very close to the wildlife sanctury, nice view, good food especially the breakfast. Clean room and a very nice and helpfull family.
Facilities for any acitivities in peryar, elephant ride, safari, massage. The family will help you to make everthing you want to see in the area and tell you the best rate.
To speak about the homstay, its just 200 m close the the parc and you can easily walk to the center of Kumily. The homstay can provide the food but its also very easy to find restaurant near to the place. The homestay is very clean and quiet, hotwater, tv and everything you need. Ramakrishna is also a rishaw driver and will be abble to drive you around the area and show you all the nice places to see. He can also arrange safari, bus tickets, money change and lot of things ...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bontemark75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Myself and my family had a visit to thekkady and was privileged enough to the guests of the perfect hosts,Rajkumar and hos family. We were all welcomed by a warming smile from the heart from the entire family members of Mr Raj. The rooms were very neat with perfect lightings and fine and comfortable furnishing. The view from the rooms and the balconies were amazing and breath taking as we were leaving very close with the nature. we were also fortunate enough to spot some wide animals from the balconies of the room during night. The food served was very nice, tasty and homely and we all loved it. Infact my kid was also very happy to be there as he found many three friends from Rajkumar's family and he too had a very nice time there. We also brought some handicrafts from Konark Handicraft of Mr Rajkiumar and they were very good at reasonable price. We would recommend everyone to experience the comfortable stay and enjoy the true hospitality at the Konark, Thekkady.
We would definitely come again and recommend to all...Good work ..and keep it up.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kgmpradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

The Konark Homestay rooms were really clean and comfortable. We had a room at the top on the back so it was quiet and overlooked the sanctuary. A great place to sit with a beer or G&T at sunset. The family were more than helpful and perfect hosts. I recommend Habbeeb or rickshaw driver (the hosts will call him) who got us first in the Q for boat tickets in the morning. Jenson Button eat your heart out!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fillupmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

If spending some days in Kumily one would be stupid not to choose Konark Homestay. The bright and well-spaced rooms are as clean as they possibly could be and the location is great. If you wanna go to the Sanctuary the entrance is about 2 min walking from there, and the Ecocenter (where you can book all kinds of tours within the Sanctuary) and different shops are close by. Watching the sunset from the balcony of the homestay with view on the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary was alone worth the trip... I just walked by and nearly missed the homestay, but I am very glad that Rajkumar and his family were standing outside and invited me in. Although I only stayed for one night, they gave me a very warm welcome. And last but not least @ Rani: next time I won´t miss the breakfast ;-)!
Best regards, Sarah

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank smilebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jungle Palace Homestay
Jungle Palace Homestay
#23 of 45 in Thekkady
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 45 in Thekkady
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Panthalams Homestay
Panthalams Homestay
#6 of 134 in Thekkady
233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dean Dale Cottages
Dean Dale Cottages
#4 of 134 in Thekkady
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stay Melody
Stay Melody
#7 of 134 in Thekkady
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konark Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konark Homestay

Address: Lake Road | Periyar Tiger Reserve, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: $25 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home is located in the heart of Periyar Tiger Reserve, Thekkady which is 1 km from Kumily town (the bus station) to the sanctuary road. We have four well furnished and neat rooms. We pleasure to serve the very special Kerala homely food both veg. and non veg. We have only four rooms so we could provide our guest a comfortable and affordable accommodation, with an adorable friendly family atmosphere. We have a wild view pavilion for sighting of sambar deer, wild boar, barking deer, black macaque, red mangoose, Indian bat, birds, etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Konark Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Konark Homestay Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing