We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Grand Thekkady

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Thekkady
Ranked #35 of 122 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. The room and bathroom is big and clean. There are few shop nearby with walking distance to buy souvenirs and also restaurants to eat. Food was nice. Very nice staffs that are helpful. Had a balcony that face the road side. Beware of the monkeys near the balcony.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Grand Thekkady
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed there at Decemeber 2011and the staff is so polite and helpful.... Food was ok ok types and not much options provided. Location for nice as it was near to market and other site seen location....... Very Nice place for a short visit.......

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qusai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a mid-range hotel in the middle of Thekkady.

We received a friendly welcome and were upgraded to a large suite with 2 toilets, balconies and a separate sitting area, though this was stark, rather than cosy and comfy. Like other places in India, the guest experience could be significantly improved at relatively little expense, if only the owners anticipated their needs. There was no guest information folder, however we were intrigued to find over 20 different light switches/sockets!

The dining room was relatively small for a hotel with 24 rooms. There was a good choice of buffet food for dinner: soup, rice, various vegetarian curries and one meat one and delicious ice cream with cumin. The hotel staff were very efficient and phoned on the dot to tell us when dinner was ready each evening. This was probably out of courtesy as they were also very obliging at telling us when our driver was ready, though the call for dinner was possibly also due to the fact that the hotel was not full and so they wanted us there while the food was hot. Breakfast was a spread of boiled eggs, fruit, toast, cakes (including rather dry French pastries), biscuits, lemon & water melon juice. There was a mix of Indian and foreign tourists.

We had a slight drama at one point as the water stopped flowing from the taps, accompanied by the sound of rushing water above us (though we were not on the top floor and it was well before the monsoon). Fearing an imminent deluge through the ceiling we alerted the staff and they soon fixed the problem.

Reasonably priced (as far as we could tell as we booked it as part of a local package) and pleasant, though not 'grand' and not the best hotel we stayed at during our trip to Kerala.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dicknharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed there at january.. the staff is so polite and helpful. i stay at honeymoon suit. they upgrade me from super delux room. it was fantastic time for me.. paisa vasull.... room was amazing.... wonderfuul

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gkharsola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I visited the Grand Thekkady Resort in Thekkady as a couple mid april. We were quite excited about the trip actually.The bookings were made from antilogvacations.com for their good tract record in Kerala and genuine rates.

The Antilog guys provided us with multiple options but we selected the Grand Thekkady as one of our close friend had recommended the resort. The photos available on the site were also lively and we decided to go ahead with the booking. The resort was located in the Lake Road just at the onset of the city.

We reached the resort at 6:00 am in the morning. The parking area appeared to be slightly small and our cab had problems in turning. Hence if you are coming with vehicle you could co ordinate with the authorities and enquire about the parking space before landing.

Despite the early check in, as soon as we entered the resort the hotel crew were quite active and we had no problems settling into our rooms. The manager (I forgot his name!) looked a supportive person and upgraded us to the super deluxe room.

The room’s interior was ok and spacious and it had a balcony which opened into the main road. Problem!! - It sometimes got really noisy because of the honking, especially during our afternoon siesta. The small 15 inch TV provided in the room was frequently hampered by voltage fluctuations and hence we did not use it during our stay.

The hotel provided complimentary breakfast. It was average as was the lunch and dinner buffet. The service of the waiters though was quite nippy and you should not face any issues regarding it. Thus the Grand Thekkady was an Ok stay and we would not recommend it very highly.Still it was Kindda Ok.

Though the overall tourplan was perfect this was GT was only thing that was not upto the very high standard during this 8d/7nt plan

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amritesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Overall I would rate this hotel somewhere between average and very good. The room I stayed in was average and I had a wall of another building directly outside my window. I understand they have better rooms available.

The small restaurant was a little too expensive for the quality of food. I ordered massala tea for breakfast, as I usually do in India, then I was presented with a bill for Rs150!! Not all the food on the buffet service was hot.

Room Tip: Go for a room better than standard. Keep the windows/doors closed when not in the room - beware of...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed in the hotel for 1 Night on way to Kumarakom. Booked deluxe room but was upgraded to suite on check-in. Welcome drinks served on arrival. Rooms were spacious. Did handicraft & local chocolate shopping as shops were nearby. Breakfast was fine, omlette was good. Would again visit, if I come to Kerala.

Room Tip: Go for Suite, if possible
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jattguns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thekkady
0.3 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
104 reviews
4.2 mi away
Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts
0.0 mi away
Michael's Inn
Michael's Inn
#31 of 43 in Thekkady
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#11 of 43 in Thekkady
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jungle Park Resort
Jungle Park Resort
#10 of 95 in Thekkady
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Whispering Meadows Munnar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Thekkady

Address: Lake Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: $27 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Thekkady 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Grand Thekkady Hotel Thekkady
Grand Thekkady Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing