We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience staying inside the Jungle”
Review of KTDC Periyar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
KTDC Periyar House
Ranked #15 of 132 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Periyar House is located inside the jungle, its a KTDC hotel. They have 3 types of rooms - Avenue, Deluxe and Superior. We chose to stay in the Avenue Rooms, and the rooms were good although not luxurious but were big and clean, the bathrooms were very clean and big too.
Since its a stay inside the jungle you need to be inside your hotel before 6 PM in the evening, the rooms rates are very reasonable and the rates includes your breakfast and one major meal(either dinner or lunch). Breakfast was good, but I didn't like their dinner much, didn't find much to eat, though I used be hungry but still I couldn't manage to eat much in the dinner. They serve dinner buffet, and most of their dishes had that typical Kerala taste which I personally didn't like much.
But, staying inside the jungle was good, the boat tickets were arranged by the people in the reception only, otherwise people have to queue early in the morning to get those boat tickets. if you have a whole day plan, you can go for Jeep Safari for whole day which will include the boating too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abantika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 254 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Being a wildlife enthusiast, I went to the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary with a lot of excitement and expectations. But I guess we chose the wrong time of the year (August) to visit that place. It was raining continuously. Throughout. And non-stop !! Obviously we hardly saw just one or two animals ! Very disappointing really ! Even the boating trip on the Periyar Lake was a big flop, since no animal stepped out of the forest, to the shores of that huge lake !!

Periyar House is a modest KTDC (Kerala Tourism Development Corporation) owned and managed property. The rooms are neat and clean. The food, though basic, is good. While we could not go out much on account of the rains, we stayed back in the room and enjoyed the rains ! The food kept us great company ! We relished the authentic Kerala cuisine at the Periyar House. I did all bookings through email. Shine, the Manager of the Resort handled my booking and he did a good job !

The worst was of course the callous attitude of the Wildlife Warden's office staff. They were not forthcoming with any suggestions or advice on what can be done despite the rains. All they kept repeating was that no activity would be conducted because of the rains. (Perhaps they didn't feel like doing any work) !! Reason given was that the forest would be teeming with leeches, millipedes and centipedes !! Agreed, it could be true, but something should have been there to be done, explored, seen and experienced in the forest !! After all it's not every week an ordinary tourist like me would be visiting Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary !! They failed to realise that it was a long cherished dream of mine to visit Thekkady. Instead of doing their best to make it as pleasantly memorable as possible for us, they simply relaxed, blaming it all on the rains !!

Typical ‘I-don't-care-government’ attitude.

Room Tip: Go when the rain gods take a break, please !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumitran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed there in October, 2012. A family of four, we stayed in a Suite and it was clean and very spacious. Since the property is within the reserve, the surrounding area is just beautiful. Birds and butterflies galore. A flight of steps behind the hotel, takes you to the water's edge. We got lucky going down those steps on our last afternoon,- we encountered a herd of Sambar. It was amazing.

About the hotel itself, we had no problems. Reservations were done through E Mail. Check-in was smooth. The food and service were also good. People were friendly. Being a KTDC hotel, tickets for the boat ride are arranged at the reception and so the long queues at the booking counter can be avoided. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderworld13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

In the entrance of the periyar forest, old property but well maintained. No attractions and would not recommend anyone if you are used to resort concept. Nothing in terms of outdoor or indoor activities, you need to be back the hotel by 6pm otherwise be prepared for the harassment of the forest officials at the gate. Lots of restrictions of do's and don't for regular activities which is permissible in other wildlife sanctuary across country,


Food is below average, staff are very nice and they are service oriented.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepakrenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Unique to stay in a wildlife sanctuary, wonderful. Helpful staff. Very convenient place to take the ship ride. Booking dove from the hotel only. Walk in a real forest is thrilling. Feeling of being captive in the natural habitat of jungle,is Kool.as if animals saying that in zoo we in custody, n here u in our home. Scintillating.
Rooms are gud. Go with normal expectations,n u ll b delighted

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arungangh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked Periyar House as it is a budget lodge run by KTDC inside Periyar Forest Reserve, other properties like Aryana Nivas & Lake Palace were way above our budget. We were apprehensive about our decision but as soon as we reached here we were greeted by well trained, professional staff members, a free upgrade to deluxe rooms, and as usual is the case with us a late lunch after restaurants closing hours.
Property is clean and well maintained for a government run place, With the exception of pepper paneer food is average but prices are low too. Deluxe rooms are clean and huge, bathrooms are clean although some maintenance would make things better, linen was not spic & span but usable. One can just sit or roam around the property and enjoy the forest atmosphere, this in itself justifies your stay here. We took the morning 07:30AM boat and spotted few deers, bisons, hyena, birds with no tigers or elephants, but we throughly enjoyed our boat ride in the periyar lake as it was a very peacefull experience of enjoying a real forest.

Pros: Location, Price, Staff, Direct Boat Ticket Booking avoiding huge queue, and Complimetary Breakfast & Dinner.
Cons: Room & Bathroom Maintenance and Tasty Food

Overall for us it was real value for money and we would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Front View Ground Floor Rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalpeshp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This KTDC hotel is inside the tiger reserve, so you can only go in or come out during the permitted hours. Which means you have to have all meals there, which are reasonably good. The rooms are stuffy with a mouldy smell. There are no plug points to charge your phone, laptop, cameras in the rooms. The staff pretends to be nice but will not be helpful.

The location in amidst a lush green forest, but the architecture of the hotel is such that none of the rooms face the beautiful view outside but instead face the hotel's dump. It is a perfect example of contracts awarded to undeserving people and colossal loss of public money.

If you are staying there, keep the windows of the room closed or do not keep valuables on the window sill. There is a huge monkey menace and they are smart enough to open the stopper of the windows and run away with ipods and ipads. They prefer Apples to bananas i guess.

For recreation there is badminton court in the dump. The hotel also provides bicycles but when we went all of them were out of order and the staff did not bother to get them repaired for 2 days. Get the picture?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ishanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.4 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#14 of 45 in Thekkady
455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#17 of 45 in Thekkady
413 reviews
1.7 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#11 of 45 in Thekkady
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#23 of 45 in Thekkady
83 reviews
2 mi away
KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady
KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady
#1 of 99 in Thekkady
297 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spice Village
Spice Village
#5 of 45 in Thekkady
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTDC Periyar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Periyar House

Address: Dist. Idukki, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: $42 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — KTDC Periyar House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your KTDC Periyar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Periyar House Hotel Thekkady
KTDC Periyar House Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing