We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here as it is inside the Jungle”
Review of KTDC Periyar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
KTDC Periyar House
Ranked #12 of 122 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Service is Good. Food is average. Other amenities are good (nothing great), but when you stay at this place you would not bother about these much. Periyar House is built inside the jungle where you are greeted by monkeys, birds and the jungle itself.
Relax at the small garden in the evening till night if you are free, we saw two deer just like that almost inside the hotel garden. In the morning I shared my tea with two monkeys :-).
Dont come here if you are a sophisticated freak, jungle doesnt need you to be that.
I would recommend you to stay at this place in Periyar owning to its location simply.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arka_Dutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for KTDC Periyar House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 244 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2011

Only good thing about this hotel is the location which is inside forest (just near to entry ) and near lake of the forest .but this can be easily managed if you are staying outside of the forest and have your own taxi.Dont even think of trying this hotel where making sandwich can take anywhere from 40 min to 60 min ,so called delux rooms are nothing but rooms with clean bed sheet.taste of the food was worst than roadside dhaba food which i tried in Kerala .Hotel staff is so un courteous that when i shouted for not serving for 40 mins they shouted back that atleast they are providing it. Amazing KTDC.

Room Tip: avoid staying at Periyar house stay at some private property is advisable as there is no restauran...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anandups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

No trip to The God's own country is complete without a visit to the famous Periyar Tiger Reserve Forest in Thekkady. Our last minute change of schedule gave us the rich experience of a perfect Jungle Trip at Periyar.The rich flora and fauna of this region satiated our till date unknown adventurous nature. And its a real treat to spend a night or two at KTDC's budget tourist accommodation Periyar House, which is located right inside the Wildlife Sanctuary, along the banks of the tranquil Periyar Lake. We were allotted one suite accommodation and the tariff was inclusive of breakfast and dinner. Due to its special location, lush greenery and birds , deer and wild boar could be sighted from very close range. Range of jungle activities which were arranged from here are Nature Walk, Boating & Elephant Ride . Famous Ayurvedic treatments of Kerala were also available here. However we could not avail of those due to our paucity of time. We headed towards Alleppey on the third morning with a really refreshed mind. Periyar House as a budget hotel is good with friendly staff and average food quality. But the total impact it gives is awesome with inside Sanctuary location and lots of jungle activities.

Room Tip: The suite is the best available option to stay at this place.
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouROY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed with fly of 19 members. This hotel is very good for budget stay. We got for INR 1300/- per day due to off season and also you should never book through the hotel website.
The hotel doesnt have any activities as such. But people are nice and friendly even though its managed by govt. Food is average.
We had arranged a trekking in the forest (around 13km) for entire day which was the highlight of our stay there. Apart from leach bite, trekking was very good.
I think periyar house is far better than Aranya Nivas which is very expensive.

Room Tip: one facing the entrance.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vijaymenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Economic, nice and beautiful surroundings, u can sight an elephent or a boar around the periyar house.I liked the breakfast buffet ,having a wide range of choices.Rooms need to be a bit better in shape,otherwise its a good place to stay.Mind u u cant go outside the after 6 p.m till 6 a.m

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adil123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed in the Periyar House in Thekkady .This hotel is inside the wildlife sanctuary. So you have to be inside the area by 6 PM .There are no. of activities organised by KTDC and the forest department .The hotel reception provides all the information and can help to book the tickets also .They include breakfast and dinner in the room price .We choose a deluxe room and it was a good room. It was a good experience staying in the jungle.We had opted for a jungle walk from 10 to 1 PM and it was quite interseting . The hotel staff is helpful and guides well .The also have indoor sports to play after 6 PM so that one does not get bored. Since its in the jungle , you can not go out in to the city after 6 in the evening which is why we moved to another hotel the next day and roamed around the city .So its a good option to stay inside the jungle one night and move to another hotel the next day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

It was our 2nd destination in our Kerala trip.
We were informed to reach before 6pm because it was located inside the sanctuary. It is quite place but not so worth as compared to room rate they charged. Boating was only the nice part of the tour. Unless and until you have extra day in hand try to avoid the Thekkady.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravi_k9758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.4 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#14 of 43 in Thekkady
435 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
5.8 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 43 in Thekkady
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
910 reviews
2.1 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
1.7 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTDC Periyar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Periyar House

Address: Dist. Idukki, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: $34 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — KTDC Periyar House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your KTDC Periyar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Periyar House Hotel Thekkady
KTDC Periyar House Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing