We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Diwali at Dean Dale”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dean Dale Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dean Dale Cottages
Ranked #9 of 112 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thanjavur (Tanjore), Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diwali at Dean Dale”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The two days stay at Deandale made us experience enough comfort and convenience. The stay, location, service, cleanliness, climate and every other attribute seemed optimum at that time of our stay. Frequent power cuts during the two days was compensated by the power back up. The only hard thing i experienced personally is the feebleness of the wifi connection. Eventually, it was a pleasant trip without any considerable issues.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArunkalyanaSundaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    52
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
57
50
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

we were on family vacation (20 members) and stayed here over diwali for 2 days. It was a excellent place. all rooms were clean and better than the pictures shown in trip advisor.

Service provided by the people over there was really great. There were some power cuts but there was complete power backup and Hot water supply. we had even called them at night 11 pm and they were able to help us. there was also Wi-Fi connection in all the rooms.

The cost was very reasonable and the service provided was very good.

we did not face any issues and I would recommend it for family/couples.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundaram_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

we had a overnight stay at Deandale and wished we could have planned for longer stay there after experiencing the hospitality of Cheryl. Everything was nice the food was excellent home made stuff. The rooms were neat and tidy and on the whole a good and pleasant experience.

Room Tip: The room facing the roads are slightly bigger and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabinjbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagapattinam, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

it's wonderful to stay in this cottage with this very cheap price when compared to others in thekkady, the rooms are very clean. it is situated in kumily to munnar road at a 2 km distance.......can't get a better place in kumily.......the only thing is when we visited cheryl madam was out of station and we were not able to taste the homely food......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thiyagupoorani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here over Easter for a few days and really enjoyed my stay, it was the nicest place I stayed in in India. Cheryl, Basheer, Tina & Dean go out of their way to accomodate you. The place has fantastic views and has a real tropical feel to it. Cheryl & Basheer kindly helped me out when there was a mix-up with the national park booking.The room was spotless and had hot water at all times.I would 100% recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurajaneCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

aunty cheryl came to pick me and my friends from the bus station and took us to her beautiful home stay ... it was like a heaven to us ... the rooms are so clean and tidy ... its a big room and they provided us extra beds ... we were so happy with their hospitality .. basheer uncle took us to all the places and told us which programme to do and not to do ... they were so helpful to us... the food at this place is very good ... mrs pottis cooks well .. especially the tea they make is wow.... we did many programmes like elephant ride kadhakali etc ... wow that was an awesome homestay .. home sweet home ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dipanwita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palakkad, Kerala, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

, Dean appeared and greeted us with a big smile and very good English. This theme continued when we arrived at the lovely, clean, quiet and reasonably priced home stay - Cheryl is one of the friendliest home stay moms I've ever met! They have us personal recommendations for things to do here (including telling us what to avoid) and were happy to drive us anywhere in town for free with their own car. You'll be very cared for!

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nimisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.6 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#19 of 41 in Thekkady
139 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#25 of 41 in Thekkady
74 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kerala House
Kerala House
#8 of 112 in Thekkady
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Panthalams Homestay
Panthalams Homestay
#7 of 112 in Thekkady
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stay Melody
Stay Melody
#5 of 112 in Thekkady
101 reviews
1.5 mi away
Konark Homestay
Konark Homestay
#4 of 112 in Thekkady
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Dale Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Dale Cottages

Property: Dean Dale Cottages
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the last year, we have had the pleasure of serving over hundreds of guests at some of our best holiday accommodations in Thekkady. Each of our accommodations has doubled up as a holiday location, offering you the choice of participating in a wide array of local activities that help you relax, rejuvenate and recharge. By being sensitive and selective, we have ensured each of our holiday accommodations offer you more privacy, connects your mind with the soul, is reasonably priced and overall, gives you an experience which is qualitative and purposeful.While we continue working with property owners to build a unlimited number of quality holiday locations and importantly provide enhanced levels of guest services, we welcome you to choose from some of the beautiful holiday locations, handpicked for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dean Dale Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Dale Cottages Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing