We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be hosted by this very welcoming family!”
Review of Dean Dale Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dean Dale Cottages
Ranked #4 of 137 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Dean Dale! It was a wonderful stay because the owners family was so nice and helpful and the rooms and balcony clean and beautifull! They helped us with everything we wanted to do and recommended things we could do. We recommend this place to everybody! Thank you for your hospitality Cheryl!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sjoske-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 283 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our visit with host Cheryl and her family was the greatest experience in a "homestay". The hospitality was non-stop with arranging for the car, an excursion, or a walk, tea, coffee or a meal. The location is a bit out of town but by far our choice as we soaked up the sun or sat in the breeze on our porch. The location was never an issue as Cheryl's husband, Rasheed or son, Dean, would drive us into town in the car whenever we wished to go. Daughter Tina also was helpful in so many ways. Just the most delightful family, warm, inviting, caring souls.

There are goats to walk to the pastures if you wish and the view from our porch was a lot filled with pepper, coffee, and cardamon plants/trees as well as coconut, banana and jack fruit. The tropical atmosphere was wonderful and the hospitality was divine. We were there over Christmas and they included us for their family and friend's holiday dinner.

The facility added wi-fi a few days before our departure. That meant a great deal to us as we were researching for our projects and not sitting in the Internet Cafe but on our porch, was just heavenly.

We spent a wonderful two weeks and would highly recommend this "homestay" to anyone - yes, for value and also for comfortable clean rooms and immeasurable hospitality. Thank you Cheryl and family for the most wonderful vacation time.

Love from Jen and Harry

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen-n-Harry2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

my friends and i had a wonderful stay over there...the family was very welcoming and helpful...zey arranged watever we needed for a perfect holiD like boatings, katthakali shows, etc...zey can also arrange spa treatments and more stuffs on request...indeed, z room was very clean as well as z bathroom ..besides, z environment is very peaceful, relaxing and friendly :) i suggest u should check it out as it is truely worthwhile ;) and anyways z family is always zer to welcome u and help u in every possible way zey can ;)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harshaa199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Me and my boyfriend liked it here so much we stayed for a week! :) The rooms are spacious and clean, the family is very nice and helpful and you have to see the beautiful flowers and cute goats :))
Love from B&J

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lelisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEAN DALE C, Owner at Dean Dale Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

supper,,,very useful

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were made to feel very very welcome and at home.The rooms are spacious, clean and well kept..amazing value for money. A great quiet location to relax and escape hectic travels they can even arrange a massage \for you if you really wanna wind down.It feels like the family are happy to help you out in what ever way they can.I would completely recommend it to anyone traveling through Kerala.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank machine17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEAN DALE C, Owner at Dean Dale Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

thanks a lot for your sweet review,,,regards to all we love you,,,keep in touch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This luxury homestay offered everything we could ask for: Clean and spacious rooms, friendly atmosphere and great advice for the surrounding Kumily area. It is not simply a fantastic homestay, its a must-stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendjimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was probably the nicest place I stayed in India. The rooms were clean, spacious and good value for money, but more importantly Cheryl and her family proved to be the kindest and most accommodating of hosts. When I mentioned that I wanted to go to the Sabarimala festival, Cheryl sorted everything out for me, including introducing me to another family who would show me the ropes. And Cheryl's husband drove me around in his car to get all the items of necessary puja. I had a brilliant, and genuine experience at Sabarimala because of it. I really cant express how they went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure my stay was enjoyable. Real Indian hospitality. I recommend this place heartily!

Oliver

Room Tip: I had one of the upstairs rooms with a shared balcony. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.4 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
433 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suresh Green View Homestay
Suresh Green View Homestay
#10 of 137 in Thekkady
341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stay Melody
Stay Melody
#7 of 137 in Thekkady
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Panthalams Homestay
Panthalams Homestay
#6 of 137 in Thekkady
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Periyar Villa Home Stay
1.6 mi away
Kerala House
Kerala House
#9 of 137 in Thekkady
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Dale Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Dale Cottages

Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the last year, we have had the pleasure of serving over hundreds of guests at some of our best holiday accommodations in Thekkady. Each of our accommodations has doubled up as a holiday location, offering you the choice of participating in a wide array of local activities that help you relax, rejuvenate and recharge. By being sensitive and selective, we have ensured each of our holiday accommodations offer you more privacy, connects your mind with the soul, is reasonably priced and overall, gives you an experience which is qualitative and purposeful.While we continue working with property owners to build a unlimited number of quality holiday locations and importantly provide enhanced levels of guest services, we welcome you to choose from some of the beautiful holiday locations, handpicked for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dean Dale Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Dale Cottages Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing