We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just don't expect tigers...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Periyar Tiger Reserve

Periyar Tiger Reserve
Ranked #3 of 32 things to do in Thekkady
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Periyar Tiger Trail is a protection-oriented trekking programme. The trek route passes through hills and valleys.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just don't expect tigers...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Tiger sightings are rare, and when you take the boat tour as we did, virtually impossible. A tiger may have been lurking in the bushes, but our eyes didn't lock. Myself, I prefer the hands-off approach of this reserve, as tigers deserve their own space without harassment. We did see birds, gaur, deer, and a herd of wild elephants...pretty special! I deducted a point only because the sight-seeing boat is so crowded, that when the inevitable badly--behaved tourist stands up to take pictures, he or she limits visibility for others. India depends a lot on tourism, and there's a fear among many tourism workers of setting limits no matter how reasonable. This is a very special place, well worth the visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mersenne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    378
    302
    105
    81
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good half day fun !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We took the Gavi tour. We started early at about 5:45 a.m. from Thekkady. Carry your binoculars. Ride thru the forest was good. We saw few animals but I have heard that there are usually good animals sightings in the morning. Apparently best time for animal sightings is in late Oct, early Nov at the time of an event that gets celebrated in the Sabarimala temple as it pushes the animals away from the temple due to noise. We did boating and visited a waterfall. Also did a short trekking tour. There were two trekking options, 1 hour & 4 hours

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anuraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
178 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Pleasant boat ride.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We went on the last trip of the day, which at 15.30 is probably too early to see much wildlife. The boat was full, and having to wear full lifejackets didn't help. The scenery is lovely, but the small number of animals on view were a long way away.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JFBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“well managed but we didn't see tigers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

really nice boat trip and staying inside the sanctuary meant we saw the dawn and dusk movement of lots of wild animals - but no elephants or tigers - don't come expecting you will see them, but I'm sure you will enjoy the landscape

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RachEM0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Serene boat ride in Thekkady Lake with picturesque scenaries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I couldn't spot tigers, but many species of birds, otters, sambar deer, the odd bison, families of wild boar.

However, the boat ride is relaxing with picturesque postcard sceneries.

The only crazy thing is you have got to queue up early to buy entrance tickets, and after that run a good 200m to buy boat tickets.

Other than that, a good morning spent taking in the cool air and sights by boating in this reserve

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlvinTSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Periyar Tiger Reserve also viewed

Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 

Been to Periyar Tiger Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing