We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most wonderful, welcoming, and serene place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House
Ranked #2 of 121 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We spent two nights at Aanavilasam and only because we had an itinerary to follow did we leave. Pirkko, is without a doubt one of the most hospitable hosts there is. We had such a lovely time, her manner is so gentle and there isn't a question of request that goes unanswered.
To use the term oasis, is the best description of this restful plantation house. In between the wonderful chaos of our many citied itinerary, the spice plantation, the wonderful food and the generously comfortable rooms, Aanavilasam provided us with the calm we needed to refresh and renew before continuing on our way.
An added bonus, we met the nicest people there and have kept in touch with them since, everyone full of great stories of our wonderful Indian adventures.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely, with their own pools and gorgeous views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cynniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 418 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Pirrko and Salim have created a charmingly beautiful place to stay. Few of the many highlights include
- The intimate setting of only 6 rooms (cottages/pool villas/suites) to stay in amidst 7 acres of plantation
- Spacious, elegant and tasteful rooms. You cannot miss the artistic touches in conceiving the room décor.
- Luxurious Rooms and amazing bathrooms
- Lovely freshly cooked food
- The hospitality and stories from Pirrko and the smiles from her staff. If you lucky enough to meet Salim, he's one of the most humble human beings you'd ever meet.

Yes it is 7 kms away from Thekkady town, but then why would you want to be in the midst of all that activity when you escape into such beautiful oblivion and still be only 7 kms away.

We stayed in the Presidential Suite Room. Extremely spacious, would be a big hit with children has it has a personal suspended bridge that takes you to your room and a large balcony overlooking the plantation.

A few reviews make a good point about the alcohol. So best to carry some on your way from Thekkady town. Like any smaller town in India do not except to find a lot of premium brands of alcohol.

Room Tip: Presidential Suite if traveling with children. Pool Villa is a romantic Getaway.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbas08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent two nights at this wonderful Luxury Plantation house. It was our second visit and we were once again warmly welcomed by Pirkko and her efficient, friendly staff. Wonderful food, lovely rooms and a dancing display by girls from the village. We just love this place and look forward to returning again one day.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 402Lindag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

From the time my Wife and I set foot in Aanavilasam after a long and tiring journey from Madurai until we left four days later we knew that we had found our perfect escape haven which provided us with such a welcome break from our intense five week itinerary in India.

Situated only a few kilometres outside Thekkady, about 15 minutes' drive from the Periyar Nature Reserve Aanavilasam is set within a cardamom and pepper plantation within tall shady woodlands, greenery and a large array of other spice plants. One can truly hear the sound of silence which is broken only by the tweeting and chirping of the exotic birdlife.
The air was pure and gentle, cloudless during the day with wall to wall sunshine and in the cool of the evening the night sky twinkled and shone crystal clear.

During the time we spent there we were fortunate to experience one of the two pool villas but also the extensive Presidential Suite both of which provide luxurious accommodation and are accessed by raised wooden walkways through the trees, away from the main house.

Salim Pushnapath, the owner and well known travel photographer has not only designed the buildings of Aanavilasam but also the interiors which all harmonise perfectly with the highly tropical and lush environment of the Plantation; the accommodation is raised towards the upper levels of the tree line and with the panoramic windows one is drawn in to feel part of the Plantation itself which is reinforced by the natural feel of the furniture, furnishings, lighting and floorings; the clever use of wood, stone and slate are complemented by tasteful and chic accessories.
The bathrooms are clever and unique with the use of planting and by bringing elements of the outside environment indoors one gets the sense of the outdoors whenever taking a shower.

The attention to detail in the accommodation and the main house is the work of a consummate professional and is complemented perfectly by Pirko, the Manager and Hostess, who leads a small team of staff who are the essence and heartbeat of this remarkable establishment.
Special mentions must go to the Chef who met our stringent dietary requirements and who made it his business each day to liaise with us each day and also to the serene and gracious Bonita who looked after us and anticipated our every requirement, including giving my Wife a practical demonstration in the art of wearing a sari.

Whilst this review may give the impression that Aaanavilasam is sheer perfection other travellers may consider that the availability of Wi-Fi other than in the main house and the absence of providing any alcohol are distinct disadvantages. Not so far as these particular travellers were concerned!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

After some lengthy travelling, including some hair-raising car journeys, it was a pleasure to reach the Aanavilasam Plantation House. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful Pirkko who accommodated the needs of four demanding guests! She has helped create a real oasis - luxurious, and yet simple, in its 'green' and natural feel. The rooms were extremely comfortable, and we hugely appreciated having a fridge and coffee making facilities. The room was large enough to sit and relax - a haven away from the slightly manic and touristy villages which offer treks, tours, massages etc. We found the food to be excellent - one word of caution is that you will need to take alcohol if you want a drink, as none is available in the property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wabsicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Upon arrival we had a warm greeting by the manager, Pirko, who provided an overview of the property and showed us to our room. We stayed two nights in a villa with a pool (although we did not use the pool). We were quite happy to see a large, clean, modern bathroom. The outside shower is beautiful and did not run out of hot water after more than 1 shower. The room was very comfortable with an area to sit. The linens were fresh and clean. After experiencing threadbare and stained towels during our travels, it was nice to wrap oneself in plush, large towel.
The service is good however the food is nothing spectacular, in fact, it's rather on the bland side but this maybe to cater to European tastes. We also had fish curry both nights with vegetables and would have preferred something different like mutton or chicken on the second night.
Unfortunately the Internet went down during the first morning we were there and was not up when we left the second day. This was slightly annoying however we were able to check our email in town using the local restaurants wifi (for free!)
The location of the property was 15 minutes out of town. This was nice since it was exceptionally quiet at night. I would recommend this property for those who are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of town/city life for a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kvdg-mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Absolutely loved our stay at Aanavilasam. Even before arriving, we were confident this place would be lovely. From the very initial contact with the hostess Pirko, we were assisted in all aspects of our stay. She gave us a generous time frame in booking and was obliging in organising all out sightseeing activities even before we arrived.
The location is secluded which we loved in a beautiful plantation setting. You need not go to any other commercial plantation once you've seen this one! It was difficult for our driver to locate it but with directions given over the phone, we eventually got there. Pirko personally greets every guest on arrival and after welcome drinks and a cool flannel, we were given our sight seeing itinery and a little introduction to the estate. We stayed in the presidential suite which accomodated all 4 of us 2adults and 2 teenage children with 2 toilets and one bathroom. The bathroom though had a rain shower option or a traditional shower with side jets as well. The wifi works in the main lounge area only but we were there to get away from it all so it suited us but not the children. All meals were wonderful especially since we were fed up of Indian dosas etc by this stage. We could request from a selection of options and chose one indian and one continental meal. Breakfast were a highlight with yummy home made bread and jams and omelletes to your hearts desire. Even when we got back late in the afternoon, they provided us with light snacks as we had missed lunch.
Mostly we loved the personalised service after travelling for more than a month. Wish we had at least one extra day there and woud highly recommend this place to all. A few areas for improvement would be to fix the tap in the bathroom basin as its too close to the edge and have more hooks to hang bathrobes etc on. Thank you to Pirko, the chef and lovely gentleman who manages the plantation and served us all our meals (sorry I forgot your name!!)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrambledbrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
4.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
427 reviews
4.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,112 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
3.2 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
449 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House

Address: Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House Thekkady, Thekkady 685535, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: $101 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House is a new (2009) plantation house on 7 acres of private estate. (Just 8 km from Thekkady (Periyar wildlife sanctuary) It is surrounded by a pristine Cardamom and Pepper plantation.Owned by Salim Pushpanath a photographer and publisher in Tourism.As a vacation retreat, this property gives the sensation of an exotic far away destination without the hassle of traffic. Luxuriously appointed yet casual and welcoming, this is a boutique accommodation suited for individuals, couples, or small families in search of a personalized country retreat.We offer a range of accommodation options to meet the needs of all our guests. Choose from Luxury suite rooms and Luxury Pool villas. The contemporary classic design includes Two suites and Two Pool Villas, both appointed with a luxurious bed and linens. Both suites are individually styled and have an elegant country-house feel where comfort is paramount. Natural fabrics, like Indian linens, cottons, wools and silks add to the feeling of understated luxury. A stylish fireplace and book shelves in the main living room and the dining area connect the two suites.The spacious suites offer 600 square feet of indoor space. French doors open onto an oversized private living room with views of the surrounding hillsides and cardamom plants. The suites feature a king sized bedroom and separate living room with a generous seating area, work desk, dining table, and pantry with refrigerator. Both suites feature a veranda and spacious bathrooms with separate showers, double vanities, large garden bath with romantic touches such as bath oils and candles.The room rate includes candlelit dinner and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing