We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House
Ranked #1 of 110 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A jewel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Never written a review on tripadvisor before , but just had to for this place ! Everything about it is just magic , and we loved every minute of our 2 days stay, and wished we were staying for longer . The peace and serenity was amazing, as was the view from our pool villa [that we were upgraded to - thank you so much !] I took about a million photos !
The room and terrace were wonderful , we slept with the curtains open so we could wake to the view .....the food from the fantastic chef was delicious , and Pirkko , and her assistant Binitha ,were so friendly and helpful , and great company.
The lack of alcohol license was not a problem at all - we had been advised in advance and just took supplies with us - and sitting out on our terrace with a cold beer looking at the view was heaven ! The remoteness was what made it so peaceful , and it was very easy to get to the village [with a driver ] for a trip to the National park and cheap massages etc .
We would really urge anybody who likes peace and quiet , great rooms and views , delicious food , and fantastic friendly staff to stay in this heavenly place .
Thank you SO much !
ps Hope you had a great time in Rajasthan, Pirkko and John !

Room Tip: The pool villas were outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donkey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    35
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
90
245
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was impressed by the service long before I had arrived and was impressed even further during my stay. The hostess Pirkko arranged for a driver to collect me in Fort Kochi and assisted with all my travel needs during my stay. The staff at the resort were fantastic and very accommodating of my "photographers schedule" which meant getting up early, eating meals at irregular times and needing to explore the nearby reserves for Bonnet Macaques and Nilgiri Langurs. Pirkko even arranged for me to be escorted by one of her English speaking employees on my first trek, just in case the local guide could not converse in English. Nothing was too much hassle and after 3 weeks in India and Sri Lanka it was good to be able to get some food which was less spicey than that which was usually on offer in many of the hotels I stayed in. I spent 3 nights at the reserve and should have made it longer. It is a great escape and I would really have loved to just spend a day lounging about at the plantation house which was very elegant and peaceful. Pirkko was great company and as I was traveling alone I really appreciated the time she made to have dinner with me each evening. Her approach is caring but not intrusive and her conversations gave me a great insight to the local customs and behavior.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyCTCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at this lovely plantation hotel in February this year. The bedroom was luxurious and we made use of the private pool.the staff were wonderful,couldn't e more helpful and the food excellent.Couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was a bit of a leap of faith for us as we usually stay in 5 star larger properties, especially in India. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We had a private pool and lovely junior suite, unfortunately, the pool was just too cold to use and this is the hottest time of the year. They make all the food fresh and there is a good lunch menu which is incredibly reasonable, for dinner they ask you first to ensure there is nothing you don't like. Be aware, they DO NOT have an alcohol licence but they were happy to allow us to purchase some, with the help of our driver. It is a little remote but the lake trip was excellent and we saw elephants and all sorts, also, in the small village they have a number of great massage centres, incredible price. Think they could offer a few more extras to purchase like jams and chutneys made by the chef, arrange for massages and do something about the alcohol licence. Very peaceful and Pirko is excellent. Highly recommend it>.

Room Tip: One of the pool rooms as others are situated in a building behind a lot of dark trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biffoBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a very special place, & the staff work extremely hard to always provide excellent service. They did so unfailingly for us & the operation is a model of team working. There's a genuine caring friendly attitude to the guests, which is most refreshing. The standard of accommodation is very high, & we were supremely comfortable throughout our stay.

The food was an unexpected highlight as Chef Krishna runs an extraordinary kitchen. If The Michelin Guide operated in this part of Asia I have no doubt Aanavilasam's restaurant would possess a star, & be a serious contender for two. It really is that good, & for this quality of food represents outstanding value for money.

We stayed here for a week, & weren't bored for a moment. We had opportunities to do lots of interesting top quality activities. Aanavilasam have many local contacts, so these are simple & quick to arrange. The owners, management & staff operate many environmentally friendly policies, which we strongly support.

In fact we've booked to return for another week during Dec' 2013 with our children, because we had such a great time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cd555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at Aanavilisam for two nights with my family in December 2012. The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming and Pirkko the hostess is incredibly helpful. My wife and I stayed in a room with a pool but the water was very cold! Both our bedroom and the one used by our children were beautifully designed and very comfortable with fantastic bathrooms and very comfortable beds. The food was excellent. There was no choice at dinner but each course (we were there on Christmas Eve and there were five) was a very high standard. Both nights we stayed there was a short demonstration of dancing. We brought our own alcohol with us as the hotel is not licensed. The hotel is very quiet, out of town, but close to Kumily and Periyar game reserve.

Room Tip: Rooms with pools are very secluded but water was very cold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Well, there just aren't enough wonderful adjectives to give a review of this hotel to do it justice. First of all, the hostess, Pirkko, is a jewel. Very friendly and accommodating. The pool villa is stunning and a private pool is an experience not to be missed. This hotel was included in our luxury tour of southern India and was by far the most luxurious of our six hotels. The chef prepared meals that were so flavorful that we ate a lot more than we meant to! The ambience at the plantation house is very relaxing and a welcome respite. The fact that they do not serve alcohol was not an issue as we were able to use the wine we brought with us. Definitely worth every penny. Thank you, Pirkko, for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, be sure to book a pool villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevM715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
3.7 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#1 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
4.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
4.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
4.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
4.6 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House

Property: Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House
Address: Pathumury - Aanavilasam Road, Thekkady 685 535, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House is a new (2009) plantation house on 7 acres of private estate. (Just 8 km from Thekkady (Periyar wildlife sanctuary) It is surrounded by a pristine Cardamom and Pepper plantation.Owned by Salim Pushpanath a photographer and publisher in Tourism.As a vacation retreat, this property gives the sensation of an exotic far away destination without the hassle of traffic. Luxuriously appointed yet casual and welcoming, this is a boutique accommodation suited for individuals, couples, or small families in search of a personalized country retreat.We offer a range of accommodation options to meet the needs of all our guests. Choose from Luxury suite rooms and Luxury Pool villas. The contemporary classic design includes Two suites and Two Pool Villas, both appointed with a luxurious bed and linens. Both suites are individually styled and have an elegant country-house feel where comfort is paramount. Natural fabrics, like Indian linens, cottons, wools and silks add to the feeling of understated luxury. A stylish fireplace and book shelves in the main living room and the dining area connect the two suites.The spacious suites offer 600 square feet of indoor space. French doors open onto an oversized private living room with views of the surrounding hillsides and cardamom plants. The suites feature a king sized bedroom and separate living room with a generous seating area, work desk, dining table, and pantry with refrigerator. Both suites feature a veranda and spacious bathrooms with separate showers, double vanities, large garden bath with romantic touches such as bath oils and candles.The room rate includes candlelit dinner and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing