We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House
Ranked #2 of 115 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I spent a few nights in the pool suite with the tree in the bathroom...it was worth every penny. the service a d food
was the best we had during our 8 nights in Kerala. The chef is a talented young man... he went out of his way and made us a special continental diner one night to give us a break from Indian cuisine...on our request.

The plantation manager gave us a private tour of the plantation which we really enjoyed. We loved the bathroom...the bed was great --- not hard as mention in a previous review. It was nice to find luxury after your very basic Kerala home stay experince (we tried a few of the top rated authentic home stays and found that TA contributors were not objective as they are giving out 5 star reviews ratings because the owners were nice people but forgot to mention the 2 - 3 star accommodations).

Room Tip: Pool villa with tree in the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBeach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    36
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
94
246
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Situated in the hills about 10 km outside of Periyar/ Thekkady in a plantation this is a very quiet and superb accommodation which is what you would expect from a Trip Advisor 2011/12 winner. Free WIFI is available in the main house lounge area. We had an outside cottage with its own pool which was a little on the cool side. The room has a large comfortable bed, and comfortable seating the kitchen area has tea making facilities and a good assortment of nibbles. The bathroom is large with an outside shower and plenty of hot water. The room is fitted with Indian round 3 pin plugs but which also take a European 2 pin adapter or cable. No alcohol is served with the meals but it is acceptable to bring your own. The food is excellent and caters easily for vegetarians, the Chef has written his own book which is published by the owner who is a well known Indian photographer and publisher, All of the books are available at a very reasonable price. The Manager Pirkko is Finnish and a very charming and fun hostess. Our thanks to Benny and Musafir tours for recommending this accommodation it is a very relaxing haven from the nearby town. Being in the hills it is generally cooler so aircon is not necessary.
Not to be missed in the village is the evening Marshall arts show and the Kerala Mudra Kathakali facial play which is magical particularly if you can book early and get the sears near the front. For the Marshall arts all seats have a good view. Each show costs about 200Rupees /person.

Periyar Tiger Reserve
Entry for Europeans is 300 Rupees plus 100 in tax. The reserve is located at the end of the village and is very busy. We did the 3-hour trek and could only get on the 10.a.m walk, as we were told that the birds come down from the canopy at this time as it gets hotter. We did have sightings but these were through the canopy i.e. at range and not fully clear (even with binoculars). You are advised to wear the provided gaters even when it is dry (protection against leeches, we didn’t see any but better to be safe). We did the 3.30p.m cruise; which is busy as it is prime time, cruise approx 500 rupees/person. Here we saw wild elephants, bison, deer, boar and a variety of birds including 2 types of eagles and osprey so well worth doing. Monkeys at the entrance can be a nuisance, do not feed.

Room Tip: All are good, just enjoy the tranquillity
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I can understand some of the negative reviews of this place but we had a pool room which was lovely, though the outside chairs were very uncomfortable. Food is okay but not special and the lack of alcohol or even soft drinks is a bore. Okay those are the negatives the rest is all positive. Pirko and her team are always there to help, chat, arrange things. The setting is lovely we had a great view from our room, and were away from the bees! Wifi is difficult most guests wanted to go on and with only a couple of places where it worked it was sometimes difficult to get space. Also I had two Skype calls and in both instances we were disturbed by others coming to talk to us which meant hanging up and redialing. I would strongly recommend hem to improve this. But a lovely quiet spot with plenty to do in the neighbourhood for up to three nights. Would love to return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HoggyDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wow what a lovely place to stay. Pirkko,Benitha and Karthic were brilliant and always there to offer advice. and make a cup of tea! Our Pool Room was absolute luxury, the bathroom was quite unique and the bed was so comfortable that I could have stayed there a lot longer just watching the sun rising and admiring the scenery. The food was plentiful and not too spicy (just right for me). It did get a bit chilly in the evenings but we were up in the hills and it was their winter time. I would certainly love to go back to this ideallic and peaceful holiday destination.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We just loved this place. It was a haven after the heat, chaos and rubbish of other parts of India (not that we hadn't enjoyed those other bits!). Pirrko, our Finnish hostess was always willing to chat, explain, listen, answer questions and make arrangements. The other staff members were equally friendly and willing to help. The food... Was sublime. We found it as good as anything we'd had anywhere. Our bed was a bit hard, as we found in many places we stayed, but our travel companions had a comfy one. We really enjoyed the location and the outlook - out of town and surrounded by cardamom trees. We actually liked the beehives - nature at work, with a bit of help! Thank you Pirrko and your team for a. Wonderful three nights.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tlcurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmount, Canada
Level Contributor
348 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a small boutique-like hotel outside of town (10 minutes) on a working plantation on a mountain side. It is quiet, special, very green, and well done.

We had a separate villa, complete with our own dipping pool. We felt like we were alone, all on our own. The room was large, clean, and complete.

The service is also friendly and attentive. The breakfasts and dinners were gourmet (but there is no choice at dinner because it is one fixed meal offering (of several Indian dishes - all tasty)). By the dinning room, there is a living room-type area with free WiFi.

It was hard to leave this beautiful paradise, free from the noises of town.

Room Tip: I think I would try to stay away from the two rooms in the main building which are right off the din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were scheduled to stay for three nights but left after one, which perhaps speaks volumes.

This is not a plantation house but a purpose built house in a plantation. The standards are excellent and most westerners will get very excited about the cleanliness and modern bathrooms but be warned - whilst the beds look inviting they were as hard as the floor.

We have very little to say in favour, which we realise goes against the vast majority of other contributors but, as with some Tripadviser comments, it can be the ones that you discount that sometimes come back to haunt you. In this case a comment that Aanavilasam is like a 'luxurious monastery'. In our opinion this turned out to be a very accurate description.

Aanavilasam lacks any warmth or charm. It has negligible outside space, despite being set in a plantation. There are numerous beehives set in the small garden which might be a problem, if like me, you are allergic to bees. Despite being on the side of a hill it has no mountain views at all, as the trees surround and overshadow the property. The dining area is open to the outside and consequently you will dine with a number of flying bugs that are attracted by the lights.

We were given the suite to the righthand side of the dinning room. It has its own lounge area and private balcony, however, the walls are so thin that you can hear the staff working in the kitchen and every word spoken in the dinning area which made us self-conscious of speaking above a whisper. Equally the 'private' balcony is overlooked by anyone sitting in the dinning room.

For a one night stay we don't think you will be disappointed but it is not a great base for an extended visit. It is isolated and lacks any facilities (unless you book a pool room) and necessitates a 20/30 minute drive on the twisting roads back in to Thekkady to visit the wildlife park, shops or alternative restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
3.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
618 reviews
4.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
403 reviews
4.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
4.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
4.8 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House

Property: Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House
Address: Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House Thekkady, Thekkady 685535, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House is a new (2009) plantation house on 7 acres of private estate. (Just 8 km from Thekkady (Periyar wildlife sanctuary) It is surrounded by a pristine Cardamom and Pepper plantation.Owned by Salim Pushpanath a photographer and publisher in Tourism.As a vacation retreat, this property gives the sensation of an exotic far away destination without the hassle of traffic. Luxuriously appointed yet casual and welcoming, this is a boutique accommodation suited for individuals, couples, or small families in search of a personalized country retreat.We offer a range of accommodation options to meet the needs of all our guests. Choose from Luxury suite rooms and Luxury Pool villas. The contemporary classic design includes Two suites and Two Pool Villas, both appointed with a luxurious bed and linens. Both suites are individually styled and have an elegant country-house feel where comfort is paramount. Natural fabrics, like Indian linens, cottons, wools and silks add to the feeling of understated luxury. A stylish fireplace and book shelves in the main living room and the dining area connect the two suites.The spacious suites offer 600 square feet of indoor space. French doors open onto an oversized private living room with views of the surrounding hillsides and cardamom plants. The suites feature a king sized bedroom and separate living room with a generous seating area, work desk, dining table, and pantry with refrigerator. Both suites feature a veranda and spacious bathrooms with separate showers, double vanities, large garden bath with romantic touches such as bath oils and candles.The room rate includes candlelit dinner and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing