We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personalized luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House
Ranked #2 of 113 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Personalized luxury!”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Our visit to Annavilasam was a dream come true in the form of a perfect blend of nature and luxury. This is actually a Plantation house owned by the famous photographer Salim Pushpanath which has just 4 rooms for guests - 2 pool villas and 2 luxury suites. This is all set in a 7 acre plantation of cardamom, pepper and even coffee.

We had booked ourselves into a pool villa and it was all that the pictures on the website promised and more. The room was very luxurious and the bathroom with its bay window overlooking the trees was dreamlike. The pool, however, was smaller than we expected and not as clean but we went ahead and had a dip anyways.

The four poster bed, the tiny kitchenette and the desk and dressing table are all very charming. Even more charming was our hostess, Ms. Pirrko Paxton who right from welcoming us, to ensuring each of our meals was satisfying to booking us into the Elephant Junction was very helpful and caring.

The owner, Salim, was also a very gracious host who welcomed us and then made it a point to regale us with his stories during a lovely dinner out on the veranda along with the other guests [a very gentle couple from Scotland]. The food was all home-cooked by the wonderful chef, Krishna and the personal touch of actually being welcomed and seen off as someone's guests really struck a chord with us.

All in all, a very scenic, quiet and luxurious place to go if you are looking for serious pampering.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona_jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    35
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
93
246
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

spent 3nyts at the resort with my wife and child and it was just flawless from the clean and spacious rooms to the outstanding food.. and special mention of the host pricco.. she just had every detail worked out and was flawless and made the stay memorable.. great people.. great place.. waiting to return

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pallava53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Pirkko, the 'hostess', and her small team off staff made us feel very welcome and gave us a wonderful two days at Aanavisalam. Our bedroom suite was luxurious, and its living area converted perfectly into a separate bedroom for our 11 year old daughter. The communal and dining areas were great too. Food was amazing and the 7 acre estate is fascinating, well worth taking up the offer of a guided tour. We were fortunate enough to meet the owner, Salim, who was making a brief visit during our stay. What a charming and modest man - clearly a shrewd business man too with a real sense of what makes first class customer service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Our stay was certainly one of the highlights of our Kerala tour. We were fortunate to be upgraded to one of the beautiful separate rooms with its own private pool. The food was consistently delicious and attractively presented. Above all, our charming hostess, Pirrko, was absolutely delightful and rapidly became a friend. The atmosphere she created could be felt throughout the establishment, in the quality and attentiveness of her staff, but especially in her ability to draw the various guests together. We cannot recommend Aanavilasalam highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvis186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Aanavilasam near Thekkady is quite literally the most luxurious guesthouse I have ever stayed in. The welcome we got from Pirkko Paxton and her husband John made us feel like we were visiting old friends rather than just guests in a hotel. The rooms were literally breathtaking, the food was incredible and the service, impeccable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

This was the most luxurious accommodation and best food of our entire holiday in Kerala. Pirkko gave us a warm welcome, made us feel at home and put herself out making arrangements for us. Pirkko and her chef provided a wide variety of sumptuous dishes. We stayed for four nights and were sad to leave. We would thoroughly recommend a vist.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in one of the pool villas as part of our honeymoon.You could relax by the pool and watch the kingfisher and squirrels playing in the trees.
It was easily the most beautiful and relaxing place we found in India! It is an oasis of luxury and calm and the service and food were superb. Pirkko and the staff are so welcoming and helpful and really made it a special stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jos5y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
4.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
4.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
3.3 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
3.6 mi away
Amaana Plantation Resort
Amaana Plantation Resort
#1 of 43 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House

Property: Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House
Address: Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House Thekkady, Thekkady 685535, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House is a new (2009) plantation house on 7 acres of private estate. (Just 8 km from Thekkady (Periyar wildlife sanctuary) It is surrounded by a pristine Cardamom and Pepper plantation.Owned by Salim Pushpanath a photographer and publisher in Tourism.As a vacation retreat, this property gives the sensation of an exotic far away destination without the hassle of traffic. Luxuriously appointed yet casual and welcoming, this is a boutique accommodation suited for individuals, couples, or small families in search of a personalized country retreat.We offer a range of accommodation options to meet the needs of all our guests. Choose from Luxury suite rooms and Luxury Pool villas. The contemporary classic design includes Two suites and Two Pool Villas, both appointed with a luxurious bed and linens. Both suites are individually styled and have an elegant country-house feel where comfort is paramount. Natural fabrics, like Indian linens, cottons, wools and silks add to the feeling of understated luxury. A stylish fireplace and book shelves in the main living room and the dining area connect the two suites.The spacious suites offer 600 square feet of indoor space. French doors open onto an oversized private living room with views of the surrounding hillsides and cardamom plants. The suites feature a king sized bedroom and separate living room with a generous seating area, work desk, dining table, and pantry with refrigerator. Both suites feature a veranda and spacious bathrooms with separate showers, double vanities, large garden bath with romantic touches such as bath oils and candles.The room rate includes candlelit dinner and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aanavilasam Luxury Plantation House Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing