We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with incredible views of the wildlife from the balcony”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rangerwood Nature Castle
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great place with incredible views of the wildlife from the balcony”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This hotel is right on the edge of the reserve and is the perfect place to watch the wildlife. The staff are really pleasant and helpful but more importantly the balconies at the back of the hotel are suspended high over the open fields, allowing birds eye views of birdlife, water buffalo and wild deer. The rooms are really nicely finished and the beds are very comfortable and the newly completed swimming pool is the perfect antidote after a long and sticky session in the wildlife reserve. A great place to include in any tour of southern India.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    96
    32
    15
    18
See reviews for
89
78
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Hi, I am Allwyn Rodrigues from Mumbai, stay for 2 nights at Rangerwoods, thekaddy, from 22nd dec - 24th Dec 2011, I must admit it turn out to be more than what i expected. The Hotel is new, right from its entry facade to its rooms, everything is ellegent, neat and looks fresh. The wild pavallion rooms are spacious, with a luxury king size bed plus a couch, easily can accomodate 5 people,
The most defining things abt this hotel is its serene nature view from its Balcony.... u could sit for hours together and watch out from its balcony and enjoy nature and find peace. A must place for travellers who holiday for a spending time with themselves. nice place to unwind...
i could suggest the hotel to have more entertainment fecility within its premises. but a thumbs Up for Ranger wood

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllwynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Hotel is located just few meters away from the Thekkady wildlife sanctuary, all rooms forest facing, good restuarant, very good massage centre, ambience is fine quite traditional, elephant ride, periyar lake boating..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darshan_Trivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

It was a nice stay ... the rooms were spacious... the view from the hotel was gud... we were given the wild life view room... but we cud not find any wild life though... however... nice place to stay...
the bad thing about this place is its restaurant... people were never intersted in serving fud... the and fud quality was below average...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shivanand_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

It was one of the worst hotels i stay during my Kerala trip. The staff seems to be in there own sweet world with no concern of the guests. The facilities are zero. The so called jungle facing rooms are worst with attach from mosquitoes.We were given a Jungle View room which was really pathetic. The door of the Bathroom was not getting bolted from outside. I had a very bad experience. Pls avoid if u can

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank varunjain13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khammam, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Traveled to Thekkedy with my family and was suprised to find such a nice hotel. The staff is extremly helpful and friendly! The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. A great price for wonderful service. I would give this hotel 5 stars, out of 5.

Room Tip: Executive club rooms are spacious and hundred percent return for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanduri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of a fourteen day package in the south of India. The swimming pool is still being built when we were there and it doen't look that big, however it should be O.K for a swim on a hot day. Very big rooms with a nice view out onto a lake.
Food was good and normal hotel prices, although there is much better places to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.5 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
415 reviews
0.6 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
417 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#27 of 43 in Thekkady
76 reviews
2.9 mi away
KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady
KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady
#1 of 93 in Thekkady
281 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coffee Routes Resort
Coffee Routes Resort
#2 of 93 in Thekkady
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rangerwood Nature Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rangerwood Nature Castle

Property: Rangerwood Nature Castle
Address: near Periyar Tiger Reserve, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Rangerwood Nature Castle Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing