We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exotic experience..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Eletaria Resort
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An exotic experience..”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Me and my husband traveled to thekkady in Dec, 2013. We were dead tired after a long day at Munnar and while driving down from Munnar to thekkady around 16kms before the thekkady city, we saw the board and entered. It s a complete spice plantation resort. It looked like a huge farm house with scattered plantation, animals, a tree house and absolutely fresh. And then we were welcomed by the GM and his wife. Though initially we thought its their property because they way they welcome you and make you feel comfortable, it was like home feeling. Rooms were awesome and without any second opinion we booked the rooms. If you expect room service, 5-star food then this is not the place for you. If you crave for sight seeing then this place might leave you little far off from the city. But this was what me and my husband was looking for. An absolutely no disturbance planet. Food service is little slow but with fantastic accommodation we tend to ignore that. Me and my husband came for one day but we extended our stay for another day. Very spacious and best in price in thekkady.

And why we choose this property was for the GM and his wife. Fantastic behavior, so heart warming and they way they keep this property is over whelming to see. A must visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puja Pearl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eletariaresort, General Manager at Hotel Eletaria Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Pooja

Thanks for your compliment.
will try to improve on the service, and looking forward for your future visit.

Cheers..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    34
    14
    7
    25
See reviews for
68
44
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here for two days. The location is very good and peaceful but it is very far from any locality. The food is very bad. I would strongly recommend to avoid food here. And if you want to go out for food you have to travel very far. The rooms are average. The hot water is available only between 6am to 8am even in winter.

The view from this resort is just awesome.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eletariaresort, General Manager at Hotel Eletaria Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Ajay
good to know that you liked the location,except for the food,we would have very much appreciated the complaint about the food at that very moment so we could have rectified it to your taste. About the hot water due to power restriction we have specified the timings but if our guest request we do provided as and when needed.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

At the risk of being biased, I would say this was the best resort of our entire tour. After moving from Munnar to Thekkady, we were a bit skeptical if the resort would be as good as Edge Munnar. But boy! were we in for a surprise! Eletaria was undoubtedly the best resort of our entire trip. If I was allowed to judge the friendliness, warmth, care and patience of any hosts on this trip - Vinod Uncle and Leena Aunty (as we fondly called them) would win hands down! We had stayed there for 2 nights and it was an experience of a life time!! Picture this - howling wind, torrential downpour, huge squirrels dancing on the tin roof and their claws making a frightening noise during the night, a screaming waterfall nearby, the sound of it so high that we had to literally shout at times - is it not something to enjoy and experience? then I am not sure what is! We slept peacefully as it was really safe inside the tree house!
What better way to be woken up by a strange sound only to be told that it was the Hornbill! We also had a barbecue there and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are awesome, though we liked the rustic and simple charm of the tree-houses. But I just wish they do use the existing trees as they are and not chop them off as a part of their expansion plans.

Room service needs to be polished a bit more. I feel with a more experienced staff, this can be taken care of.

God willing, we would return for an exclusive stay at Eletaria.

Room Tip: Opt for the tree house if available. You won't regret. Check for the food options available and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinayRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eletariaresort, General Manager at Hotel Eletaria Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Vinay
It was good to read that you all enjoyed the stay at our resort, and it was much more
than you thought. Anyways see that you all come for a longer period and with a more
bigger group. OK noted all your points of cutting down trees, we will see that the resort
expansions don't disturb the nature, and see that the greenery is always kept as it is.
Cheers have a good time and keep in touch...
Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Visited Eletaria in December on a packaged tour. I must say the best part in the entire journey. The location is excellent, and perfect for relaxation.Rooms are beautifully done with ample facilities. Managed by a very friendly team. I am sure to return for an extended stay. Thanks Mr. K C Vinod.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surjeet68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eletariaresort, General Manager at Hotel Eletaria Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Surjeet
New year wishes to you and your family.
Pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay
and always welcome.
Cheers...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

On our a day visit to thekkady, We initially visited periyar lake, and were bored and decided that we will go hotel and relax..Once we reachd, we were just refreshed. The resort offers phenomenal view.
We were upgraded to super deluxe rooms as they were available.
Thanks to Ms. Leena, the owner of the resort.

Pros:
Awesome view and an excellent location.
Avg food.
Good recreation room.

Cons:
20kms before kumily(stil worthy to visit).
There was a bit prob with elec plugs.
Warm water available only from 6-8am.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hitesh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eletariaresort, General Manager at Hotel Eletaria Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Hitesh
New year wishes to you and your family.
Good to read that you all enjoyed except for few things.
Due to the voltage issue only the technical things happening
but the things will be sorted out soon, and the hot water will be
extended in the morning hours and also will be available in the
evenings. Next time we will see that the food will be Best instead of average.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Visited Eletaria resort in November 2013, weather was so cool but no hot water supply in the resort, no room service, no wardrobe, insufficient lighting, lame excuses given by the General Manager & his wife (care taker of resort) most awful experience of my life. I would be happy if I get refund from Eletaria.

Room Tip: Pls avoid Eletaria Resort in Tekkady
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nizarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kottayam
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

First of all the property is located in a Good location even though its looks like located in a remote place.. all the site seeing places are maximum one hour drive especially “Ramakalmedu” is just 45mts drive .. Talking about Eleteria, I felt like being at my own holiday home.. lush green loan, pets, few rides, indoor games like TT, Carrom where children can play around and won’t get bored soon ..The cottages are well distanced from the other cottage which gives privacy, the rooms are pretty big and neat which has TV and 24 hr hot water..The best thing I liked in the resort was the highly cooperative staffs and management. They are at your call always.. No time restrictions for the awesome open air restaurant as we had our dinner at 11.30 in night and breakfast at 11 In morning.. They even allowed us have our own BBQ party( we bought marinated chicken and BBQ by our self) which normally other resorts won’t allow.. Overall it was a great experience.. I suggest this place for” family” who would like to take break and want to relax… My suggestion to the management is to add up few more western spreads in the menu.. love to be @ eletaria again.

Room Tip: Cottages - Tharavadu is the name
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_mathew_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eletariaresort, General Manager at Hotel Eletaria Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Good to know you all enjoyed your stay at Eletaria it was pleasure having you all here.
Thanks for your suggestion we will surely work on it.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 43 in Thekkady
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#16 of 43 in Thekkady
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#25 of 43 in Thekkady
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carmelia Haven
Carmelia Haven
#6 of 93 in Thekkady
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Ark Resorts - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eletaria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eletaria Resort

Property: Hotel Eletaria Resort
Address: Vandenmedu P.O, Thekkady 685515, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eletaria Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Eletaria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eletaria Resort Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing