We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misled by ratings not suitable for family outing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Misled by ratings not suitable for family outing”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

It has 6 cottages (stayed sep 28th-30th)
Fantastic location,good clean rooms,room service is good, staffs are very friendly (except the one in the restaurant) trekking was good, guide was friendly (Manoj)
There is no option for kids activities ,indoor/outdoor games,no swimming pool/fitness centre
not suitable for family outing.
Restaurant is the one which disappointed us badly. The dishes were like artificially made one.
No taste at all. Those who are willing to take traditional kerala food will be disappointed.
we were forced to eat outside after 1st day lunch & dinner. Not only taste the price at least 3 times costlier .
The one thing I have realised is that the ratings given by various travel agencies is not reliable one.Rating 9.0 is not worth it All we can give is about 6.5

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boopathiv v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending time to write about Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club.

We have noted your comments on children’s activities and are working on increasing kid friendly activities in the coming months.

Our cuisine seeks to use freshly made ingredients and preparations as against packaged supermarket fast food solutions, hence we are disappointed to know that you did not have a great food experience.

We always strive to deliver the best services and your feedback has made us reflect on what went awry. We assure you that we will leave no stone unturned in finding out and correcting this error.

We hope that you give is the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    46
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
127
127
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed in this resort / Boutique Hotel for one night on 25th September, we booked 2 Cottages - Tamarind and Ginger ( these are names of the cottages ). Trust me, the property is too beautiful covered by Periyar Wild Life from all the three sides. The property is very small and have only 6 Cottages, but all the 6 Cottages are so so luxurious and location of the Property is class.

Let me start from the beginning, the welcome was done in such a traditional way, that we were impressed straight away and then cool and fresh Pineapple Welcome Drink with towels and roses were too good. Then we moved to our cottages, we were amazed to see the Cottages, so so beautiful and well maintained. Loved the Property and Hospitality.

Food again is too good and too fresh.

Highly recommended property and must visit property.

For assistance in booking or for any query feel free to call me on 09582884804.

Room Tip: All cottages are same with same view with All modern Luxury Amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GauravRidhimaJagwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your reponse. You have summed up the location beautifully. Our property is wrapped in the cool embrace of of a rainforest and burrowed between majestic trees surrounded by valleys and mountains. All our locations offer private experiences set far from madding crowds where our guests can get away from the mechanics of daily life.

We take pride in serving food using fresh ingridients and organic produce. We are happy that the staff lived up to your expectations, as that is part of the 'Niraamaya Experience' delivery we strive to acheive.

We look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snape, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived it was clear to us that this hotel is something special. The location is idyllic, up a hill at the end of a 2.5km long track and in the middle of a spice plantation which is rather like a hill side jungle; it is surrounded by beautiful scenery and spectacular views. The rooms, little cottages really, are lovely, spacious modern and well appointed.The small team running the hotel from the manager down are all excellent by any standard, genuinely warm and friendly.

The food, served in a lovely restaurant with clear views across the valley, is freshly prepared by a very enthusiastic and talented chef. We didn't order off the menu, we just asked for a meal of typical regional dishes - it came beautifully presented and tasted as good as it looked, the chef came out to check that we liked it too. One other thing that we really enjoyed was the non alcoholic drinks we were given - delicious...

The staff multi-task moving between housekeeping the rooms to taking guests on guided hikes up into the hills. They are very good at both too. Don't miss doing the hike up through the plantation, it's full of interest as well as being a bit of an adventure and you may even get to see some of the bison and other larger animals that reputedly live there!

In summary - this is a real gem of a hotel, faultlessly run by an enthusiastic, capable and friendly team; superb in every respect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to give us your positive and encouraging review.

Our cuisine seeks to use freshly made ingredients and preparations as against packaged supermarket “fast food” solutions, we are pleased that you enjoyed the regional fare.

Your positive review has motivated us to focus on enhancing the 'Niraamaya Experience' that we try to provide to our guests in our retreats on exceeding guests expectations and providing an authentic cultural indulgence along with relaxation.

Look forward to indulging you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I read all the reviews before booking this place and I was expecting a very beautiful location and awesome rooms when I went there, but this place was way beyond my expectations. Not only the location is amazing but what makes this place a lot more beautiful is the hospitality provided to the guests. Each and every team member literally strives hard to make the stay wonderful and memorable. While casually talking to the manager Vinu, I mentioned that it would be great to have a lounge chair in the patio and within 10 mins there was a lounge chair in my patio. This is just one of the examples. They provide you with a personalized concierge service. Whatever you need, from booking tickets to going around, they arrange for it. The rooms are always picture perfect. Your bar is always full. The food is always served fresh and hot. You want to take a trek, just tell them the time and the guide would be waiting for you with all the arrangements. The service provided here is literally better than any 7 star hotel I have stayed in so far. No way I am going to stay anywhere else, whenever I come to Thekkady!!!

Room Tip: Choose any room, you will not go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikhil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging review. We strive to bring unobtrusive service to match the serenity of the retreat. Always trying our utmost to provide a bespoke hospitality experience for all our guests. It gives us great pleasure to be acknowledged for the same.

Concierge activities around this exciting destination are also part of our planned extended services, so as to provide all our guests a memorable authentic cultural experience.Your encouraging words for our team have motivated the team to strive harder to exceed guest’s expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya Reterats Cardamom Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed with my wife, kids and parents for two nights from 7th september to 9th september 2013.Its an amazing resort with great homely hospitality.The property has got 6 premium cottages well designed with eco friendly concept.The resort is well maintained with gardens and a fire place.we went hiking to the hill top near the resort through the plantation escorted by the friendly staff Manoj and Ajin. On reaching the hill top were lucky to sight few Bisons.
The food at the resort is awesome with special care taken to your taste.

A very special thanks to Manoj, Ajin, srijith and sajjod for making our trip a memorable one.
All arrangements were taken care for jeep trip to scenic spots, boating on the periyar, Elephant ride.Staying at cardamom club thekkady will assure you a fantastic and amazing holiday.I would definitely recommend this place at thekkady.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divakar C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. Yes Thekkady is a unique destination and we ensure that Niraamaya Retreats is a one of a kind experience which is tailor made for every visiting guest.

Clearly you have made the best of the destination with the activities that you chose to visit during your stay. What gives us immense pleasure is the fact that we were able to exceed your expectations with our hospitality, that is Niraamaya's ongoing endeavor.

Thank you for recommending Niraamaya Retreats, it means a lot to us and we look forward to hosting you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed with my wife for two nights. She did pretty good research and finally stuck with this one. As we reached there it was beyond our expectations. It is a beautiful resort in midst of plantation of different spices like cardamom, pepper , coffee etc. It was wonderful experience to hike up the top of it with the help of their staff though we got scared seeing a bison there :) . The staff consists of wonderful people who go all the way to make your trip wonderful. Manoj was our guide for the whole trip who made all the arrangements for us from kathakali performance to booking bamboo rafting in periyar wildlife sanctuary - special thanks to him for making our trip memorable. Will love to go back there :)

WARNING : Don't use Google map to reach there. It doesn't have accurate route as of Aug13.

Room Tip: All the room are at the same level so all of them will be having the same view. No difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Anil_Lohchab_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was our pleasure hosting you. We take a great deal of pride in ensuring that a personalized hospitality experience does not elude any of our guests. It is extremely satisfying to know that you got the feel of the what we call the 'Niraamaya Experience'

It is evident that you are an ardent traveler, as all the activities you chose to experience are the best in the region. The trek to Mount Miracle is an unique experience and you are among the lucky ones to have caught the glimpse of the 'Gaur' the Indian bison. Our location makes us truly unique as you get to see the best of flora and fauna within the retreat itself and we are pleased that you made the most of it.

Thank you once more and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My mother and i stayed here for 3 nights from the 21st to the 24th of August. It was an amazing trip thanks to the amazing resort and its ever friendly and helpful staff. The resort is surrounded by the hills of the Periyar reserve on 3 sides and the private sit-outs offer beautiful views of the surroundings. Just sit, soak in the picturesque scene the resort offers, the chirping of the birds, the occasional downpour , the smell of the soil after the rain..happiness guaranteed :)

The rooms are top class and very cozy. The groovy shower has a glass roof and granite walls. The food at the resort is quite awesome too..All you got to do is talk to chef shindoo about what you would like to eat and something great turns up!

As far as activities go, the friendly staff go out of their way to organize everything and ensure you have a great time. Its very informal too. It is akin to planning an activity with friends, going out and having a blast ! Hiking through their cardamom plantation, boating on the lake, kalari, kathakali, driving to some of the most scenic spots in an open top jeep were all superb. A very special thanks to Manoj for organizing everything and being our companion through the 3 days.

Many thanks to Binoo, Ajin, Srijith, Chef Shindoo and Sajjod also for making our trip a memorable one. One is assured of an amazing holiday in thekkady by the Cardamom Club resort. Ek dum Mast Mast!

PS: Do hike all the way to the top of their cardamom plantation, where it meets the reserve. its worth it... And have the tomato chutney made by chef shindoo.wow!

Room Tip: Do hike all the way to the top of their cardamom plantation, where it meets the reserve. its worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumbai_masala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to patiently mention almost everything you enjoyed at our retreat it was truly a pleasure to host you.

Your passion for travel is so evident in the way you have ensured covering everything Thekkady has to offer. Yes the trek to Mount Miracle is an absolute delight, especially if you get there early enough to catch the sunrise which is truly breathtaking, some lucky guests have even caught the glimpse of the 'gaur' an Indian bison and other wildlife.

We are really humbled in the way you have remembered to mention the staff by name. This is truly the kind of appreciation that inspires us to strive harder and always keep getting better.

We are eager to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
805 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady

Property: Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Address: 66th Mile | Spring Valley, Thekkady 685509, India (Formerly Cardamom Club Thekkady)
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#5 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club is a remote hideaway nestled in a cardamom plantation that offers both adrenaline-fuelled adventure and a peaceful retreat. Perched amidst 9 acres of cardamom plantations, verdant groves and lush foliage, our 6-cottage retreat exudes intensely private vibes. The windows of the rustic plantation-style cottages serve as a gateway to the exotic wildlife. The cool and crisp mountain air, the musical calls of exotic birds and the beautiful scenery of Thekkady will revive the senses and leave you enchanted. Niraamaya spa infused with timeless therapeutic traditions from across the world, centred around Ayurveda is the perfect destination for rejuvenation after long treks or exhausting safaris. Cardamom Club which is in complete harmony with nature immensely helps to amplify the therapeutic processes of spa therapies. In-between lounging on hammocks or tucking into gorgeous meals, we highly recommend spice walks and treks to explore the stunning landscape of Thekkady. For the more adventurous, take the Gavi Safari to spot the elusive tiger or get up close and personal with Asian elephantsFor the more adventurous, take the Gavi Safari to spot the elusive tiger or get up close and personal with Asian elephants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing