We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort and awesome hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort and awesome hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed with my wife for two nights. She did pretty good research and finally stuck with this one. As we reached there it was beyond our expectations. It is a beautiful resort in midst of plantation of different spices like cardamom, pepper , coffee etc. It was wonderful experience to hike up the top of it with the help of their staff though we got scared seeing a bison there :) . The staff consists of wonderful people who go all the way to make your trip wonderful. Manoj was our guide for the whole trip who made all the arrangements for us from kathakali performance to booking bamboo rafting in periyar wildlife sanctuary - special thanks to him for making our trip memorable. Will love to go back there :)

WARNING : Don't use Google map to reach there. It doesn't have accurate route as of Aug13.

Room Tip: All the room are at the same level so all of them will be having the same view. No difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _Anil_Lohchab_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was our pleasure hosting you. We take a great deal of pride in ensuring that a personalized hospitality experience does not elude any of our guests. It is extremely satisfying to know that you got the feel of the what we call the 'Niraamaya Experience'

It is evident that you are an ardent traveler, as all the activities you chose to experience are the best in the region. The trek to Mount Miracle is an unique experience and you are among the lucky ones to have caught the glimpse of the 'Gaur' the Indian bison. Our location makes us truly unique as you get to see the best of flora and fauna within the retreat itself and we are pleased that you made the most of it.

Thank you once more and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    43
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
110
113
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My mother and i stayed here for 3 nights from the 21st to the 24th of August. It was an amazing trip thanks to the amazing resort and its ever friendly and helpful staff. The resort is surrounded by the hills of the Periyar reserve on 3 sides and the private sit-outs offer beautiful views of the surroundings. Just sit, soak in the picturesque scene the resort offers, the chirping of the birds, the occasional downpour , the smell of the soil after the rain..happiness guaranteed :)

The rooms are top class and very cozy. The groovy shower has a glass roof and granite walls. The food at the resort is quite awesome too..All you got to do is talk to chef shindoo about what you would like to eat and something great turns up!

As far as activities go, the friendly staff go out of their way to organize everything and ensure you have a great time. Its very informal too. It is akin to planning an activity with friends, going out and having a blast ! Hiking through their cardamom plantation, boating on the lake, kalari, kathakali, driving to some of the most scenic spots in an open top jeep were all superb. A very special thanks to Manoj for organizing everything and being our companion through the 3 days.

Many thanks to Binoo, Ajin, Srijith, Chef Shindoo and Sajjod also for making our trip a memorable one. One is assured of an amazing holiday in thekkady by the Cardamom Club resort. Ek dum Mast Mast!

PS: Do hike all the way to the top of their cardamom plantation, where it meets the reserve. its worth it... And have the tomato chutney made by chef shindoo.wow!

Room Tip: Do hike all the way to the top of their cardamom plantation, where it meets the reserve. its worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumbai_masala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to patiently mention almost everything you enjoyed at our retreat it was truly a pleasure to host you.

Your passion for travel is so evident in the way you have ensured covering everything Thekkady has to offer. Yes the trek to Mount Miracle is an absolute delight, especially if you get there early enough to catch the sunrise which is truly breathtaking, some lucky guests have even caught the glimpse of the 'gaur' an Indian bison and other wildlife.

We are really humbled in the way you have remembered to mention the staff by name. This is truly the kind of appreciation that inspires us to strive harder and always keep getting better.

We are eager to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We had been to this place before it got taken over by Muthoot Group. Cardamom club is a gem of a place hidden amongst the beautiful valleys of munnar. It is quite a drive from the city, but worth it at the end, when you reach the property. The cottages are separated from one another giving you utmost privacy. The rooms are very nicely done in earthy hues and the beds are quite comfortable. The gardens around the rooms are nice looking and well maintained. The owner of the place then, George was quite a good host and made sure his guests are comfortable. The food they serve in the dining area is authentic Kerala cuisine served fresh and hot! 

We were even allowed to bring our beagle along and she absolutely loved running about the lovely property (of course on a leash). It was a stay that we'll always remember fondly. Overall, we had an absolutely lovely stay and would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thediscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to Thekkady, yes it is truly heaven on earth with so much to do as a destination. Among a few are the Tiger Reserve, spice plantation visits, Gavi jeep safari and boating on the Periyar lake. No visit to Thekkady is complete without the spa experience it is among the very best in India, especially the Ayurvedic treatments.

The property you have mentioned is not Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club hence we would be unable to comment on the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, it's a beautiful resort belonging to Niraamaya group (Surya Samudra, Kovalam)set in the idyllic surroundings in the spice plantation, its in the higher reaches of a valley surrounded by mountains on all sides, their plantation shares border with Periyar wildlife sanctuary, they've only six cottages, the only drawback is that the cottages are small, I won't recommend for families as apart from the size of cottages, they don't have anything for children, it's best for honeymoon couples.
They're coming up with six more cottages and hopefully they will be larger, everything about it is premium, including food rates.
Service is great, staff real friendly and accommodating, maybe far too friendly, they also send a guide free of cost along with you on your trips to many spots, he too is a real friendly guy.
Food is really good, only thing it's on the costlier side.
In all a great resort and with few inclusions like roomier cottages and children's play area, it can become the top resort in and around thekkady and it's surroundings..

Room Tip: We stayed in Tamarind, all cottages are same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lalithnibjiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. It was our pleasure to host you. Your review clearly shows that you have taken the time to enjoy our little paradise burrowed between majestic trees and the misty skies. It gives us a great sense of satisfaction to know that our hospitality lived up to your expectations as we take great pride in offering the best services without compromise.

Wanted to keep you updated that shortly we will be adding 6 more rooms which would be larger and more amenities for you to come enjoy with your family. Hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

You would never get from the hotel's website just how fantastic this place is. It may be the only hotel in India that undersells itself.
The hotel is set in real jungle, about 6km from Kumily. The only thing you can see from the hotel is jungle, and occasional wild animals like bison. The setting is idyllic.
The six luxury cottages have what is so often missed in India: real attention to detail. The design of the cottages is fantastic. I'd go again just to use that amazing shower. The cottages are equipped to a very high standard, and everything works!
However where Cardamom Club really stands out is the personal service you receive. They will discuss with you what programme of activities you want to follow - no hard sell here - and arrange everything for you. If necessary they will send someone with you to make sure everything is fine. On our first afternoon we went for a walk round their extensive grounds, accompanied by two of their guides. Similarly they'll discuss with you what you want to eat, and when. No set mealtimes, no set menu: with just six cottages everything is personalised to you. The food is good too, served in an amazing restaurant.
We were travelling in India for five weeks and this was the best hotel we stayed in by far. We'd love to go back there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

The headline of your review sums up our retreat quite appropriately - 'Luxury in Paradise'. Your description of the retreat is beautiful and we appreciate the time taken to explain the location so intricately. Thank you for this wonderful and detailed review.

Niraamaya Retreats takes great pride in tailor made experiences for our guests across all our service offerings and destinations. The bespoke service comes across through in our locations, food, spa, in-room services and even in the destination visits. We are pleased to know that this distinct feature reflected in our hospitality.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to indulging you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The best place to visit during the monsoons. The surroundings are spectacular ! The staff are well trained and make you feel at home. The children enjoyed the swimming pool and the
food was excellent. Would recommend it highly for a good relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geeban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Thekkady. This is the best destination to visit during the monsoon as the landscape becomes even more lush and beautiful.

The monsoons in Thekkady is also a great time to indulge in Ayurveda. Thekkady happens to be among the best destinations in India for ayurvedic treatments.

Please note that the resort you have described is not Niraamaya Retreats Cardamon Club but some other property hence we are refraining from commenting on the location.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I've been here for 3 days during monsoon season and have had a great stay. The hotel took care for the tours at very reasonable prices and provides us with transport even though there was a strike in the city of Kumily. The hotel has prepared us nice meals at fair prices in the restaurant that overlooks the wild nature. Tours in the garden and hiking we're provided by the hotel itself.
The cottage rooms are well furnished and comfortable.
Overall a wonderful place to stay with a great service provided by a dedicated hotel manager.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niraamaya R, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are pleased that you had a wonderful time and we met your expectations.

The trek within the retreat to Mountain Miracle is an absolute must. we are glad that you made the most of it. The beautiful sunrise and sunsets from the top are breathtaking. We hope you were also able to catch some wildlife during the trek.

We take pride in providing the best services at the retreat and that means ensuring that guests at Niraamaya are not inconvenienced due to any local interruptions.

We look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.1 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.2 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kofiland
Kofiland
#22 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#18 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady

Property: Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Address: 66th Mile | Spring Valley, Thekkady 685509, India (Formerly Cardamom Club Thekkady)
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#5 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#6 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club is a remote hideaway nestled in a cardamom plantation that offers both adrenaline-fuelled adventure and a peaceful retreat. Perched amidst 9 acres of cardamom plantations, verdant groves and lush foliage, our 6-cottage retreat exudes intensely private vibes. The windows of the rustic plantation-style cottages serve as a gateway to the exotic wildlife. The cool and crisp mountain air, the musical calls of exotic birds and the beautiful scenery of Thekkady will revive the senses and leave you enchanted. Niraamaya spa infused with timeless therapeutic traditions from across the world, centred around Ayurveda is the perfect destination for rejuvenation after long treks or exhausting safaris. Cardamom Club which is in complete harmony with nature immensely helps to amplify the therapeutic processes of spa therapies. In-between lounging on hammocks or tucking into gorgeous meals, we highly recommend spice walks and treks to explore the stunning landscape of Thekkady. For the more adventurous, take the Gavi Safari to spot the elusive tiger or get up close and personal with Asian elephantsFor the more adventurous, take the Gavi Safari to spot the elusive tiger or get up close and personal with Asian elephants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing