We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“.........spread wide your hands to gather paradise......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“.........spread wide your hands to gather paradise......”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Welcomed by the call of Hill Mynas, Tree Pies , Horn bills and Cicadas...fresh mountain air...and tasty food...a super sunrise trek and a comfortable room to stay...a wonderful place to reconnect with nature....thank you Niraamaya Cardamom Club

Room Tip: The six cottages are fairly well balanced for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viknappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent r, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest ( viknappa)

It is with great pleasure that we have received your descriptive review on how close to nature Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club is.

The retreat is a bird watchers paradise due to the natural forest as well as the fact that the attached estate runs up to the border fence of Periyar Tiger Reserve. We are glad that you appreciated the newly renovated facilities as well as cuisine.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again and introducing you to the Racket tailed Drongo and white cheeked barbet among other feathered friends that await you in front of the cottages.

Thanking you and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    46
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
127
127
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place is really heaven on earth. You can call it your own private heaven as there are just 6 cottages. Not to forget the real angels who looked after each and every detail of your stay. The resort is impeccably maintained with flawless attention to detail.

I must make a special mention of two things in here, one is fo the photography in every room and the reception and the brillant open showers.

Not to forget the staff, who followed up about our journey into the resort making calls every single hour so that we could drive in the optimum route from bangalore and on our way back making sure that we reached back home safely. Should I say they were a resort or a family !!

Keep up the fabulous work

Mohan

Room Tip: Take a corner room for a great forest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohan-cache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent r, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Mohan,

Thank you for your positive review. Your kind words have really motivated our team to ensure that we exceed guest expectations.

Now renovated and under new management, Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club , Thekkady has several new features including an Ayurvedic and International Spa, multi-cuisine restaurant and refurbished rooms.

We are glad that you had a memorable experience and look forward to your next visit.

Thanking you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel is a very bumpy 20 minute ride from the town, but at the end of it is an idyllic wooded hillside on which are perched the main bungalow and the three cottages containing the 6 rooms of the hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and hospitable, perhaps giving us a little too much attention whenever we were there - sometimes you just feel you'd like to chill out quietly - the only fault we found. The rooms and bathrooms are absolutely gorgeous, and the dining room excellent. You could stay there all day, enjoying the beautiful woods, the cardamom plantation itself and the birds viewable from the porch, but the staff were incredibly helpful in planning our boat safari, and an all day jeep safari to Gavi which is deeper into the sanctuary. All in all, a really lovely place to stay especially if you want to feel pampered!

Room Tip: There are only six rooms, and all are equally well positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent r, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Shirin,

Thank you for your descriptive positive review on the newly renovated Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club, Thekkady. We are glad you enjoyed the natural surroundings of the Retreat as well as the adventure activities of the destination.

We have noted your comment and will work towards more unobtrusive service delivery.

Look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Thanking you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I had a 5 days escape from Dubai in Kerala in January 2013. Niraamaya Resorts, the owner of the Cardamom Club and of another beautiful property in Kovalam, greeted us and pampered us for 5 days making our trip unforgettable.

After a rather long ride throughout Kerala from Colombo (4 hours) we eventually reached Cardamom Club, a lovely nest in the green hearth of Kerala. Great attention to guests (only 6 beautiful bungalows are available), great silence, Ayurvedic spa and lovely cuisine, Indian and international.

Bungalows are nice, well refined and comfortable, with a spacious bathroom area.

The offered trip at the Peryar reserve allowed us to see great landscapes and wild animals. Personnel gave us the highest attention we have ever had in many years of travel, taking us through the property, which actually is a cardamom plantation, explaining all about botanic and cultural aspects, preparing for us a lovely candle light dinner, and assisting in any kind of need (shopping, travel, elephant ride etc.).

After two days of that heaven we were very sad to leave, but the great Kovalam resort was waiting for us! I would recommend to anybody wishing to visit Kerala to have both Niraamaya experiences and to visit both Tekkady and Kovalam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent r, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Marco,

It has been a pleasure to host you and your wife at the newly renovated Cardamom Club under management of Niraamaya Retreats.

We are pleased that you had a memorable experience and enjoyed the cuisine and spa. Accompanied walks around the Cardamom plantation is a small gesture that we try and give our guests in order to connect with nature and enjoy the amazing flora and birds that habit the estate.

We do look forward to your return and look forward to exceeding your expectations.

Thanking you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My family (wife and 2 kids ages 12 and 13) enjoyed the cabins and the area - Thekkady. We stayed for 3 days - which was perfect. The ride here from Kochi was long (4-5 hrs) and windy up the mountain. Once here - it was really nice. The staff are very attentive and the cabins beautiful. Family enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bijal4428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent r, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear bijal,

Thank you for your review on Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club. The Resort has recently been taken over under a new management and it was a pleasure for our team to welcome you to this pristine hilly destination.

We are glad that you and your family liked the restored cottages and the attention of our team.
We do hope that you would visit us again when you return to India.

Thanking you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
618 reviews
1.1 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
1.1 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
805 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady

Property: Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Address: 66th Mile | Spring Valley, Thekkady 685509, India (Formerly Cardamom Club Thekkady)
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#5 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club is a remote hideaway nestled in a cardamom plantation that offers both adrenaline-fuelled adventure and a peaceful retreat. Perched amidst 9 acres of cardamom plantations, verdant groves and lush foliage, our 6-cottage retreat exudes intensely private vibes. The windows of the rustic plantation-style cottages serve as a gateway to the exotic wildlife. The cool and crisp mountain air, the musical calls of exotic birds and the beautiful scenery of Thekkady will revive the senses and leave you enchanted. Niraamaya spa infused with timeless therapeutic traditions from across the world, centred around Ayurveda is the perfect destination for rejuvenation after long treks or exhausting safaris. Cardamom Club which is in complete harmony with nature immensely helps to amplify the therapeutic processes of spa therapies. In-between lounging on hammocks or tucking into gorgeous meals, we highly recommend spice walks and treks to explore the stunning landscape of Thekkady. For the more adventurous, take the Gavi Safari to spot the elusive tiger or get up close and personal with Asian elephantsFor the more adventurous, take the Gavi Safari to spot the elusive tiger or get up close and personal with Asian elephants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing