We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pepper County Home Stay
Nearby Hotels
$64
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$102
$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$46
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$62
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$105
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spice Village(Thekkady)
$117
$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
435
75
17
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
75
17
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr cyriacspice plantationhome stayhis wifecitrus holidayspersonal tourspices growinghouse is beautifulwonderful hostswonderful homelovely homestayhome cookingfruit treesother guestslocal townhome away from homestayed two nights
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 530 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Shortly after arriving, charming and very attentive owner Cyriac gave us a thorough tour of his lovely plantation. We spent two nights and had not a single complaint. The house and room were very clean, we had wi-fi, plenty of hot water, and Dolly prepared some of the best meals we had on our trip to India. We had some of our most restful sleep here. Top-notch hospitality!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely home stay with such a hospitable family to welcome you!ask for a look around the spice garden as it is informative and a really interesting experience!the breakfast was delicious especially the fresh pineapple juice!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mgnluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

When we arrived we were met at the gate by Cyriac the owner, a charming man. The accommodation was great just as you would expect from a home loving person. The food was first class cooked by his charming wife Dolly (quite a shy lady). There was nothing that was to much trouble for Cyriac who gave us a nice tour of his plantation. it was a shame we only had 2 days and 2 nights there but we would certainly return to this place.
Wish you all the best for the future.

Andrew and Sylvia BATH England.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 111AndrewA111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Spent 2 nights in this delightful home stay/lodge. From the moment we arrived we got Mr Cryriac's full attention. He made sure we were made to feel welcome and at home and part of the family. There is a nice lounge area with TV and a computer, as well as some seats outside to relax.
The accommodation is spacious, cool and very clean with extremely hot water, with good free wifi (when the electricity is actually running), the food is superb (cooked beautifully by his wife Dolly), both dinner and breakfast are taste sensations of the area with a multitude of dishes cooked up for you. The place isn't licensed but he is happy for you to chill your own beverages in the family fridge.
The village, called 1st mile, is walking distance down the bottom of the hill, but there are no restaurants, some shops to get your essentials, but there are auto rickshaws which can take you into Kumily for about 50rupees where there are quite a few options for dinner if you did want to dine out.
Mr Cyriac was very helpful and drove us down to the Periyar Tourist office to book our tour for the reserve the next day at 7pm when he realised we hadn't anything booked. If you fancy a great walk between the borders of Kerala, then do the border trek, you do need a decent level of fitness to do this as it is quite a hike! We didn't see any "Richard Parkers" but saw loads of other wildlife and the views were breathtaking.
My Cyriac also took us on a tour of his spice garden which was very interesting along with stories of how the plantation got started, it also meant that we didn't need to bother with the touristy Spice tours as advised by other guests that were there and had done both.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lovely, clean homestay just outside of Kumily. Mr Cyriac was really helpful and accommodated us coming and going at early and late hours (we had a night walk in the national park and came back about 2am, and left one morning at 5am). We were full board and they were very flexible with when they provided us with meals - something we really appreciated as we were trying to fit so much in to our 2 days and 3 nights.
We really enjoyed the plantation tour and relaxing in the shade on the veranda.
The homestay is slightly outside of the main town and you will need transportation to get about but I'm sure this is something that Mr Cyriac would assist with. All in all highly recommended - a really peaceful place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews