We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed feeling, not upto Club Mahindra standarda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Mahindra Thekkady
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Club Mahindra, Thekkady is located in Kuminy, which may be called as Thekkady. This property is within the city limits and not in the Periyar National Park or in the premises of the sanctuary.

The resort stay was a disappointment and definately needs a revamp. I would rate this as one of the bottom performers among the club mahindra properties.

Few Good things of this place are:
- Located close to city, so its very accessible to shops, medicines, hotels and shopping centres
- The resort planning and the way the rooms are buit is quite ok, but maintainance is terrible
- Rooms are spacious
- Swimming pool looks good and clean


Now coming to the long list of improvements (I just cant remember all the pain points, but will try my best to list):
- First is the maintainance, its very bad and need a lot of improvement, the rooms are not properly cleaned, bed and upholstery are very old, the towels given were torn
- Bathroom and its accessories are filthy and dirty, water was leaking from comode (room 803) and never stops leaking inspite of closing the taps, the shower unit is so horrible that it has salt deposits all through it and water does not come, the air vents are filled with dirt and also water flow was not proper
- Only luke warm water comes in the bathroom and not hot. The kitchens does not have geyser, so no hot water there
- House keeping service is snail paced and when they come they dont come with the list of items asked (I asked for spoons, serving bowls, news papers, plates etc), only plates were provided
- Lot of noise in the rooms due to repair work going on
- The quality of Spice Plantation that is arranged by the resort is not of good quality, there are many other good spice garden around Thekkady which the guests can be refered to.
- There are no proper sign-boards to the resort, causes a lot of issues to reach the place
The lighting in the room is very dim, its almost like using bed lamps all the time

Room Tip: Please do not take rooms near the repair work happening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuruPrasad80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 471 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed at Club Mahindra resort at Thekkady. First impression was that was great and looked like it was located in the forest but the rooms were very dingy and dark. Lighting seemed grossly inadequate with dust all over. On the railings, the fixtures and all over. The bathrooms were not too clean. The wash basin and the bathroom water trap in room 152 seemed to be chocked. After having a bath, that area was like a swimming pool. The shower panel in 151 was malfunctioning and would refuse to get adjusted and would spew boiling water for long. Not a very pleasant experience. The resort itself was good, located in close proximity to the town. The staff, as usual, was very polite and ever willing to help. The place needs sprucing and is well below the excellent reputation of Club Mahindra resorts.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank ashray70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

First impression wasn't good. Somewhat ill-maintained exteriors, North Indian food.( Was expecting ethnic kerala style dishes, not that I dont like North Indian food. After all the resort is in kerala.) But the rooms were clean and spacious. The staff were very cordial. The evening activities were wonderful.The breakfast was good. But the FOOD is way much OVERPRICED. The spa was great. My son really enjoyed the swimming pool. Not worth a second visit.

Room Tip: Choose cottages around centre, than periphery for a forest feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JojiJoshuaPhilipose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Only because I have been to other Club Mahindra properties as compare to them tusker trail is average otherwise as compare to some other resort in the surrounding area the rooms were big and clean with kitchenette. The resort makes you feel you're in jungle due to it's set-up. The staff is good and very helpful. The restaurant is good and serves up to the expectation, however its bit expensive (same with all Club Mahindra Resort). Swimming pool is small and in front of restaurant. Gym is small but adequate with treadmill, cycle and some weights. Overall the resort is good. would have given 3 1/2 rating, but do not have the option.:-)

Room Tip: Take room in the innerside of the resort and not market facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

As with all the club mahindra places, this also lives up to the mark. The place really makes you feel that you are in the wild forest area. The ambiance is very real like a forest. The restaurant is great. They are willing to provide whatever you wish. The rooms are in a pair of two rooms interconnecting. There are two floors in each building. The pool was small and remained filled with tree leaves (not the staff's fault, they kept cleaning but owing to forest look and trees all around it was natural). The adventure activity is good. they have kept all the safety arrangements and the staff was also very careful of protection.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankurgupta76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had no hotels left for booking since all were full during peak season of DEC'13. We went here as co-applicants.We thought since its a membership hotel the stay would be quite ambient.However , hotel isnit as per expectations.The food is also quite expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vatusal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have booked studio room with kitchenette (STU-K) in the hotel. When we reached we were offered 2 option, First only STU (only some utensils) and second STU-K but the last room. We have observed that only 60% of resort was occupied but still they played this trick. Same thing has happened with us twice in last 6 months with Club Mahindra.
If I talk about room, room was quite good, properly cleaned and maintained. But the room freshener they have used is strong enough to make us sit outside for 20-30 minutes.
Room service was quite slow, they are taking minimum half hour to provide us things we wanted.
Geyser in the room was not working properly, 2 out of 3 times it will stop working after few minutes.
There were no white light in the room, which was not giving us pleasant atmosphere, also it was giving pain in eyes while reading.

Other things in resort were quite well, we enjoyed resort overall.

Cleaning staff was decorating rooms with towels every time we asked them to clean our room. I have uploaded one such picture with review.

Room Tip: Try to get room near to main building to avoid unnecessary walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.2 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.3 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#13 of 43 in Thekkady
439 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Thekkady

Address: Amalambika Road | Idukki Dist, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range: $66 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Thekkady 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Mahindra Thekkady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Tusker Trails Hotel Thekkady
Club Mahindra Thekkady Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing