We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent, comfortable stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent, comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Periyar Meadows in Feb'13 with family. We were referred here by a good friend. The hotel has good amenities, large, spacious rooms. Hotel was extremely clean. We were given a warm welcome by the hotel.

Service is average. Food at the restaurant buffet is average and a little below my expectations. Convenient location (very close to the local market and wildlife reserve) but insulated from the cacaphony of the marketplace and taxis.

The hotel did not organize any activities on their own but we were well-serviced by the local tour operators. The hotel price was relatively expensive for the quality of services offered.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harirajagopal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    115
    60
    11
    9
See reviews for
119
109
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Located very near to Periyar Tiger Reserve n local market yet secluded from the noise of market.

Room was very specious and with beautiful interior. V had a wow feeling wen v entered the room filled with green light entering frm the green curtains. View from the window n balcony was just awesome. I woke up very early in the morning the next day just to have the morning view. It was beautiful. Bathroom was good too but dint had bathtub.

Room service n Food at the restaurant was superb.
Overall - Great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manish14985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajeshsubr, Manager at Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Appreciate your positive feedback of your stay at Periyar Meadows. Good to know you enjoyed the ambience in rooms, location, service and food especially. Wish to be service to you again next time as well.

Thank you

Rajesh Subramani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent couple of nights at this place, by the look outside you may expect some posh interiors and classy furniture inside. But that is not the case. The place is quite tidy and clean but looks like a youth hostel in the verandah. The room are quite large, bathrooms are ok-ok. The restaurant is pleasant surprise, they always have freshly prepared menu for breakfast and lunch. Location wise this place is quite reachable from the sanctuary and other attractions. I had a weird incident of bathroom door getting locked for which the guy from helpdesk took 3 hours in early morning and finally decided to break the lock. Definitely this isn’t to be considered, but thought to add what I went through.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kishorhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajeshsubr, Manager at Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for your feedback. It shall be used to improve the service and facilities. We shall make sure that your feedback and opinions shall be given due importance and measures taken to rectify the required matters. Once again thanks fit your valuable feedback.steps have been taken up with the bathroom doors. Hope such problems don't arise on your next visit with us and we do appreciate bringing this matter to our notice.

Thank you
Rajesh Subramani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here (6 people: family and friends) in 3 rooms that are spacious, clean with nice little balconies. Great place as a base for exploring the Periyar jungle via safari and organized treks (we left at 5:00 am the first morning for our safari). The bathrooms are fine and clean, the room is modern. Wi-Fi is extra charge and difficult to access (only in lobby) - this is always annoying.
The breakfast buffet is excellent and the dining room is glass with a view of the meadow.
Location is very close to town (walk to both Thekkady and Kumily) that is bustling with lots of fun shopping (clothes, spices, trinkets). Lots of fun local inexpensive restaurants and ayurvedic massage places (get recommendations). The hotel doesn't have much charm but it is fairly new and modern. The staff is courteous and pleasant.
We were there for the "raising of the Indian flag" on India Independence Day and there was a nice ceremony with all the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the entry are have more scenic views and are quieter. Would recommend the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellinghawk777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajeshsubr, Manager at Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest, We are glad that you enjoyed stay at our hotel. We are thankful for your positive appreciation regarding our location, accessibility, rooms and especially staff service. Wish to see on your next visit to thekkady as well.

Rajesh subramani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hi All,

I am just excited for my trip this weekend and I have book two rooms in Periyar Meadows for 1 night. I am just eagerly waiting to be to this hotel... I will post my experience after the trip. Can anybody tell me if there are any rooms in this hotel which gives a good view of Sanctuary? If so I will try to get the same.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bachusravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajeshsubr, Manager at Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for choosing our Hotel for your Thekkady visit on 14/08/2013.
You are most welcome to our property, We will try our level best to make your travel more enjoyable. We would like to inform you that, two rooms of good views are arranged for your stay.
Thanking you..
Have a nice trip.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is located close to the sanctuary and the market. The hotel rooms are big and spacious. The balcony is small and just enough to seat a couple.
The food quality is good and is frshly prepared ... so we had to wait aroud half an hour for the order to be served. The decor of the dining hall is very good. The large glass walls provide great view of the forest.
The staff appeared aloof. They are there but will do only if asked to do something.
The walls in the interior are off white colored .. remind me of hospitals rather than hotel.
Other wise a comfortable and nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivek7477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajeshsubr, Manager at Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for your feedback. It shall be used to improve the service and facilities. We shall make sure that your feedback and opinions shall be given due importance and measures taken to rectify the required matters. Once again thanks fit your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Rooms are spacious and clean. Buffet breakfast is nice. Staff is just ok. I wish the staff could guide their guests about the area, the wildlife sanctuary and options to see.
The price is a bit high. Decor is basic. We spent most of the day outside and returned for the night. It is located close to the market. It has a games room with table tennis, carroms etc.
If it is managed better it could do well

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikramsubbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
4.1 mi away
Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts
0.2 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#31 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#25 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#21 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#12 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#17 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel

Property: Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel
Address: Thekkady, Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#10 Family Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Periyar Meadows Leisure Hotel Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing