We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive and friendly place to stay”
Review of Claus Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Claus Garden
Ranked #27 of 119 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attractive and friendly place to stay”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I had a very relaxing stay here. The room was large and clean and decorated thoughtfully. The mosquito net over the bed was useful (kept out a few pesky mossies). Plenty of hot water. The location is perfect, just a short walk away from noisy Kumily. The lush and colourful gardens are also a drawcard. The price you pay for this kind of accommodation is more than reasonable.

For those who enjoy trekking, I recommend the border trek which runs from 8am to 5pm. You walk in a small group through beautiful tracts of forest (some uphill walking isn't easy for the unfit but you get plenty of rest breaks) and you see so many animals. Plus being away from the large groups of visitors means you get to have a more tranquil experience in the forest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JellyBean_45974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    17
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
35
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

LOCATION 9/10
This homestay is located just uphill from the center of Kumily. It's about a 10 minute walk or a 30 to 40 Rupee Rickshaw ride. The great advantage is that up here it's super quiet, perfect to relax - especially in the garden.

ROOMS 8/10
Our room was large, with a good bed and mozzie net, which wasn't really necessary. Both bedroom and bathroom are rather basic, but perfectly fine and super German style clean.

FOOD 10/10
Excellent breakfast - fresh fruit, coffee from their own garden, delicious pancakes or homemade bread. Sitting on the porch in fresh air was outstanding, too.

SERVICE 10/10
Super friendly owners and staff, extremely helpful. The fact that the owner's wife is a local but speaks perfect English and German is a great advantage, she's perfect in organizing your days.

AMENITIES 8/10
Beautiful garden

PRICE/QUALITY 10/10
Great P/Q ratio, actually I told Claus to raise his prices ;-)

ADVICE:
Go on a night trek through the reserve! There are no other tourists than your group and the armed ranger, and you have the chance to see loads of wildlife. Exctiting in the dark!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nik0lask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice and good stay quite clean and good service. Thekady isnt so big so easy to go to town with a rickshaw.
We were lucke enough to have a family of black monkeys visit the big tree outside oir room... Great to see them so close :) ok stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I strongly recommend this lovely house in Kumily, with a unique Indian / European atmosphere. Very clean and comfortable, very kind and helpful owners, lovely garden, quiet spot surrounded by enchanting pepper plantations. I have spend three nights with my children who had really a great time and loved their delicious homemade breakfast. Reservation was extremely easy. Claus and his lovely wife are wonderful persons and I would go back there anytime! My 8 years old daughter even said "I would love to live here!"

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marika s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It felt a little bit like home, being at Claus Garden, an Indian home. Claus and his wife are super nice and give you a warm welcome. They give you good advice for daytrips, etc.
Everything is very clean and comfortable. Not to mention the BEST breakfast, with pancakes, pineaple, tea, bread, e.d.

We really, really liked it!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Femke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My boyfriend and i travelled in Mumbai and around Kerala and this was one of the best places that we stayed - such great, lovely, warm, helpful hosts - fantastic location - amazing garden, brilliant breakfast and just a treat to stay at! Lovely, big, clean, colourful room - the place to stay at if you are in the area - definitely go here - a real haven!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyJM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The best place we stayed in India so far! The owners of the homestay were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious and the garden is beautiful. Breakfast is delicious with homemade bread, jams, peanut butter, and home grown fruits and coffee :) We highly recommend staying here!! Thank you Claus and Omana!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SterlingRiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
5.6 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#6 of 43 in Thekkady
1,099 reviews
6.1 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#21 of 43 in Thekkady
142 reviews
5.7 mi away
Spice Village
Spice Village
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
829 reviews
7.9 mi away
Amaana Plantation Resort
Amaana Plantation Resort
#1 of 43 in Thekkady
146 reviews
5.6 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claus Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claus Garden

Property: Claus Garden
Address: Rosapunkandam,Bypass Road, Near Post Office, Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claus Garden is a calm and quiet place inside a tropical garden with a Pond and all varieties of flowers, spices and coffeeplants.Many Birds and Butterflies you can see here. Black Monkeys are often in the garden.On the rooftop you have a nice view and it is perfect for relaxing and Yoga.Its 10 Min. from the Kumily Busstand by walk, and only 50 m from the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. The Air is clean and the Temperature the whole year between 20 and 28 Degrees C. The 6 rooms are very large with big windows and with large bathrooms. From the Tab comes pure drinking water. You have free WLan Internet connection in 4 rooms and a PC in the common living room. Then there is a free library if you like to read.We serve German Breakfast with real bread (all homemade), cheese, butter, fruits. Eco eggs, Jam and Peanut butter. Enjoy a relaxed stay 10 min. away from town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Claus Garden Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing