We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel”
Review of Michael's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Michael's Inn
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I stayed there in Dec 09 and nothing to shout about . It was OK only. Well, the room and bathroom were clean but the comforter had urine smell . Hotel staircase was dirty . Staff were not friendly .

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ananthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 198 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2009

One of the better hotels I stayed at during a one month budget tour of India. Hotel is only about 10 years old.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 505badgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

The Michael's inn was not the hotel where we booked our stay. The Tree Top Hotel Guys ditched us and therefore our travel agent sent us here. Nothing great about hotel, just simple rooms with simple beds, old time TV set. Our attaraction was wild animals at Thekkady but we were greeted by lizards in the room.

As we do not have any option, we had to stay there for a day. Except location near to central market, no other big deal.

This place should be called a lodge and not a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdeepakgoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

We, a family of 4, stayed at Michaels Inn for 5 days over New Year. The location is great and the hotel rooms are comfortable and clean all though they are not that big. there is no facilities at hotel, but if you come to experience the surroundings, it is very all right. The only complain we had was that New Year Eve was a must at the hotel. The food was fine, but you had to eat outside, and even though they had made a fire, it was freezing cold (13 degrees) - a bad experience with two kids.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bosendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

The friendly hotel is situated near to the sanctuary. There are a lot of stores around and a small nice church. The service is excellent and very friendly, the cuisine is also good. My room was clean, only the bathroom smells a little bit.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aischa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

My wife & I had arrived at Thekkady for a day's stay as part of a 5D-4N package (2 Nights at Munnar, 1 N at Thekkady and 1 N on a houseboat at Alleppey).
While we cherished our experience at Munnar and the houseboat stay at Alleppey, the one day and night spent at Thekkady was something we did not like.
The experience at the hotel contributed much to our feeling of discontent.
We arrived at around 2 pm at Thekkady & at the hotel after a 5 hour drive from Munnar and there was no feeling of welcome & warmth at the front-desk & among the staff. Maybe the fact that it was off-season (mid-september), meant that the hotel was mostly empty and that probably caused a lack of enthusiasm among the staff.
While we had asked for a AC room, the front-desk had allotted us a non-AC room on the first floor. I came to know this after going to the room and I didnt feel it was worth all the trouble to go back down and ask for a change of room (moreover the temperature & humidity levels were on the lower side and pleasant). I just called up my travel agent and he agreed to refund me the difference.
The room itself was oddly-shaped - tapering on one end (kind of trapezoidal) - and the strong smell of new paint was mildly nauseous. The window of the room looked out on the neighbouring back-yard scrap heap - thank goodness for the curtain.
The bath towels and the cloth mat (just outside the bathroom) were not clean. And the bathroom itself was having an unpleasant smell. I called up the front desk and told them about it. In about 5 mins, 2 guys from house-keeping show up and ask me rudely, "what is your problem?". I told them what the problem was. They tell me that the bath-mat is clean enough (it was a cloth-mat looking trampled & dirty) - only the towels are replaced - and as for the bathroom, they get a bottle of cleaning fluid and splash it around. The cleaning fluid itself had a nauseous smell.
We put up with it, since we reasoned that we would be sight-seeing and spending the least time at the hotel itself.
We had lunch outside and after spending the afternoon on the Periyar Lake, we returned to the hotel in evening.
The room next-door to ours was left open. Empty liquor bottles, over-flowing ashtrays and dirty used plates of food were strewn both inside & outside the room. This was the same state even 30 mins later, when I ventured down to the reception to see if the restaurant was open.
The restaurant wanted me to place dinner orders right away if we wanted, since they were planning to close up early. I gave our orders and we had to finish dinner by 8 pm (in our room). In any case, we were exhausted and slept early.
Break-fast was a joke. The cost of the stay included break-fast. We were the only couple in the restaurant at 8.30 am (and all morning it looked like). The choices were very limited, although the menu listed quite a few things. The waiter said that since it is off-season, none of the south-indian items are available. So, we could have only bread (2 toasted slices), 1 bowl of corn-flakes with watered-down milk and an omelette, each. Tea to drink (again watered down milk and could not drink all of it). Pineapple juice was included and so I asked the waiter to get us one glass each. I regretted it the moment I sipped it - the pineapple juice smelt of stale onions - apparently a knife used to cut onions was also used to cut the pineapple. Yuck. we didnt drink the juice either.
We checked out right after breakfast and went on our way to Alleppey. I was so riled with the whole experience that I did not tip the guys who fetched our bag from the room to the car (the same guys who had asked me what my problem was the previous day. I always tip generously, but this was one time that I didnt feel like it.
All-in-all, an unpleasant experience. Would not recommend this hotel for a stay with family....and especially not during off-season. I hope they do better during the tourist season. But, I dont plan on finding out.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chandu_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2008

My sister and I were travelling with a group of 9 people from the UK. My sister and I are Anglo Indians and obviously look Indian. We had booked four double rooms (one with an extra bed) through an Indian travel agent. When we got to the hotel, the man on reception said that three of the rooms were on the first floor but one was on the second floor (no lift). An Englishman in our party offered to take that room and took the key. The receptionist grabbed it from his hand and gave it to me (which I thought was odd at the time). It didn't worry me too much to be on a different floor to everyone else. When we got to the room, it was tiny - so much so that some of the door had been shaved off so that it would open without hitting the cupboard that the TV was on. It was also situated in a corner furthest away from the stairs and other rooms. I assumed all the rooms were the same as we had all paid the same. It was not until much later, when I went to one of the other rooms that I realised that their rooms were twice the size. I immediately went to find the receptionist, who was just showing a man into a double room right next door to the other three rooms that my friends were in (all rooms were in groups of 4). I asked him why my sister and I were not given this room as it was available and situated with the other 3 rooms. He said it had already been allocated to the man he was showing in. These rooms had been booked and paid for over two months ago so there was no reason why the hotel could not accommodate all of us together. They refused to move us and as we had already paid, they knew there was nothing we could do. I am writing this to warn other people that before they pay for their rooms or even book into this hotel, they should be aware of the sort of treatment that this hotel gives its guests who have travelled a very long way only to be treated as second class citizens.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Citygirl029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#18 of 44 in Thekkady
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jungle Palace Homestay
Jungle Palace Homestay
#22 of 44 in Thekkady
148 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#23 of 44 in Thekkady
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sithara International
Hotel Sithara International
#43 of 44 in Thekkady
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#27 of 44 in Thekkady
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#28 of 44 in Thekkady
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's Inn

Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Thekkady
Price Range: $33 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Michael's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paradise concealed within the enigmatic spice gardens. Michaels Inn is the place where you want to stay in at Thekkady. Tucked away in the midst of verdant tea and spice gardens of the Western Ghats, Michael's Inn stands close to the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. Nestled in the very heart of a host of inspiring surroundings, Michael's Inn offers you the very best, with an elegant combination of native beauty, rural serenity and modern amenities. Let Michael's Inn look after you. Caressed by the nature around, this fine tavern helps you to discover Thekkady. Witness the pageantry of natural forces at work from a stage set in at a magnificent place by the name, Michael's Inn. Cradled in an exquisite altitude of the Sahyadris, Michael's Inn is sure to provide a different facet of nature to the discerning nature lovers At Michael's Inn our motto is 'It is very personal'. True to the motto we maintain a very personal experience to the guests visiting us. We provide a neat, clean and friendly environment at Michael's Inn. The guests can be assured that in trying to keep up with our motto and policies we are willing to travel the extra mile to meet their expectations. A weary traveller should always leave us with a refreshed and relaxed mind and body. Comfort prevails in our comfy rooms, roomy enough to house the fresh air. Nature and culture, ethnic and luxury, all these in several forms enliven lives at Michael's Inn. Life is a splendid affair in the company of virgin nature. Live in and revive your smile. All sorts of modern amenities accompany the 25 well designed air-conditioned and non-air conditioned rooms. Eat Inn - the rich taste of an enriching Kerala cuisine. The aromatic spices bring out a special flavour to the food varieties that's especially lip smacking. The multi-cuisine restaurant serves delicious food extending the excitement. The choice of food includes Kerala delicacies, as we've emphasised, Indian, Continental and Chinese. Let Michael's Inn treat your taste buds with the exotic aroma and delicious food that's specially prepared with lots of love and skill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Michael's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael's Inn Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing